We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to get bargins, but also makes you look like a fool...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gekas

Gekas
Ullared, Sweden
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ullared
Type: Malls, Shopping
Attraction details
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A place to get bargins, but also makes you look like a fool...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I go to Ullared Gekas atleast twice a year to buy christmas gifts and spend some "girl time" with my cousins! Gekas is HUGE, and to see it all, you will need atleast two days. One in Gekas, and one to the shops outside... The thing with Gekas is that you never know what they have in store as they buy things from bankrupcies and other odd brands. If you are lucky, they even have great brand marks like Espirit and Adidas. That's what makes it fun going there! I bought an Espirit t-shirt at half the store price! For Scandinavians, it is great prices, but the cheap clothes not always are of the best quality. That's why I usually has a list with me what I need to buy. Gekas has everything from pet supplies to makeup and clothes. Many ppl gp there to buy hourse equipment, as it is very cheap at Gekas.
The Gekas resturant has a small varity of good fastfood. It is really worth the price, and that you do not have go outside to eat. The huge line you will meet, will go faster then expected.
For ppl out of Scandinavia, I guess Gekas will be just an exotic shopping experience, but people from Norway can do a really good deal if you know the prices of what you intend to buy:)
For me, Gekas is not only shopping, it is also a fun day with girlfriends! :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiruna
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Attraction?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Gekås early July. We arrived around 13:00 and found a parking within easy reach from the entrance. Yes, people had warned us to not go there due to all visitors. It wasn’t that bad. It was easy to get in but very crowded inside. We had lunch around 14:30, which went well too. Long queues but service was quick and we even managed to get a table. Speaking about the lunch: the setup was almost identical with the IKEA standard but instead of the chicken filet and béarnaise, Gekås had schnitzel. Food was ok and priced low. Regarding the shopping – we were not that impressed. Yes prices are low and there are plenty of things to pick but where is the attraction? The answer is, in my opinion, the atmosphere, all people, tradition (Gekås celebrates 50-years this year) and a place to go to spend a day or two. In the afternoon, at the cashier, we realised where all customers had gone. It took us around half-hour in queue before paying and packing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The best shopping destination in all of Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It might be a tossup if this destination or the very expensive NK department store is the best known retailer in the entire country. They even have a television show talking about real people with real experiences. It appears that an extremely large percentage of the citizens make a shopping safari to this destination each year. In fact, hotel rooms are available for their guests. According to the television, a day with only 20,000 visitors is considered slow..... Tremendous sized shopping carts. Never saw a store that had 40 cash registers, and lines in front of each of them. Quality merchandise, no seconds, friendliest prices in Sweden, better than every outlet store in Sweden. Extremely helpful staff. Tip: across the street, and another shopping "center", there is an all-you-can-eat Chinese restaurant, which I found exceptional @ SKr 70!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Bargain place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Avoid the ques, get there early or late. You will get a bargain but also spend that money at something you don´t need.
It is fun just watching the shop-aholics.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Shopping gone wild :-))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I`ve been here several times, with both family and friends. This is the place to get just about anything and everything, and its cheap! Great for big buyes and impulse shopping in everything from toiletries to electronic devices and everything in between. Offcourse you will also fint 10 000 things you dont need and the lines on a cloudy or sunny day are long... But still: both me, my friends and some family members enjoyed it amensely. And even though its mostly fast food you get there, its really good and are served with the all around nice swedish smiles :-) Try it.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gekas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gekas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.