We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in middle of nowhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Menglun Town, Mengla County 666303, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Package
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mengla County
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Firstly, what are you doing in Xishuangbanna?

Once that question is answered, then I would happily add that, IF you find yourself in Xishuangbanna then Anantara is without a doubt the best hotel in the area.

Amazing service, and good food. Rooms are beautifully decorated, in a no-expenses spared style.
Rooms are luxurious and food in the restaurant has exceeded my expectations.

Great place to unwind and kick back and watch the surrounding banana plantations.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First things first, If you can afford to stay here you probably aren't the sort of person who uses trip advisor and simply googled "best hotels in china". If however you have just discovered your great Aunt who you never knew has sadly passed away and left you a small fortune then read on. Happily my great Aunt is still fit and well and I ended up here courtesy of my generous brother who must have won the lottery or robbed a bank or something. On arrival you will be greeted in the most fabulous reception I have ever seen (normally I stop in Premier inns!) by staff who stand up every time you walk past them. We were staying in the Royal Villa which consisted of two adjoining Villas each with their own pool. One of which was a small infinity (a contradiction in terms if ever there was one) pool which was heated to 30 degrees 24/7, We were transported to our Villa in a stretched Limousine/golf buggy through beautiful grounds of various tropical trees and plants. The villa itself was beautifully furnished with separate air con in each room. In the bedrooms wine coolers replaced the traditional mini bars with wine priced between £90 and £190, no idea what it tastes like as I couldn't afford it. There are a couple of restaurants on sight serving a variety of food which was well prepared and very nice, thank you.
On a slightly down note though we wanted a Thai meal on our first night and discovered the Thai chef was on his day off, the second night we wanted to try the local Dai food, guess what? he was on his day off. We were there just as the national Chinese holiday finished and were just about the only customers there which may have explained the scaling down of staff. Because of this on our third night rather than open up the restaurant just for us Thomas the catering manager asked if they could do us a special meal at our Villa, outside by the pool, which was agreed. A whole bunch of excited staff turned up and served us a fantastic smorgasbord of various foods including a special treat for me, Bee larvae and bamboo worms! Delicious. Breakfast consisted of pretty much everything edible on the planet, again this was scaled back when all the other guests left but still with the choice of anything we wanted. being relatively new the whole place is still immaculate and has all the usual amenities of pools, gym room, spa etc. Just outside the resort a short buggy ride/walk away are some beautiful botanical gardens which are worth a visit and a typically poor town with a very interesting market. This hotel is way more upmarket than anywhere I have stayed before but I have to say I did walk around a lot with a huge grin on my face. The only real complaints I could pass are the floors were polished with the wrong polish and were lethally slippery (remedied before we left) and to get to the outside shower having been in the pool you had to go first through the bathroom and then through the inside shower room to get to it! All in all a fabulous four day and I would like to thank the staff for making it such a memorable stay, especially Thomas, Ryan our butler, Fiona and Loius. Would I go back? Just as soon as my brother robs another bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the most luxurious hotel in this area as of today, but please bear in mind that this is a 3rd tier city, so a lot of things (mostly services) is not on par with 5 star hotels in the cities.

However I took a star off because the restaurants were so-so and priced high for a 3rd tier town. I took another star off because the majority of the staff besides the Western manager, and 2 local Chinese staff, the rest did not comprehend English at all, including the reception and house keeping.

We got an upgrade to the river view on the 2nd floor, however, we thought it might have been better to be on the first floor because the first floor has a large patio/outdoor area...whereas the river is muddy brown - not a view you really want to look at.

The rooms are nice and new, as shown on the website. Has resemblance of Anantara designs, such as the ceiling fans, toiletries refilled in home accessories containers rather than disposable plastic bottles, etc.

Pool is not consider big..but it is still nice and most local Chinese do not use the pool.

We were disappointed with the Thai restaurant. We were expecting Thai food like Thailand because Xishuangbanna is so close to Thailand...but it was Chinese version of Thai food with small portions.

To rent a car through the hotel to go to different destinations were extremely expensive 1500-1800 RMB...I suggest getting an independent driver through recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

At first we where feedup and tired as we had to drive 45 min until we got to the hotel but we where imprese by the welcoming team waiting for us at the entrance of the hotel. The lobby was just incredible as it is just massive. Once they took us to our rooms the trip started perfectly as the rooms where massive probably the biggest bathroom I have ever seen my wife live them.

The food was great and we had a French chef that was always there to help and check on us.
In terms if English we where worried that no one would speak English in the hotel or at rhe airport but to our surprise they all spoke English what totally change our mind about traveling in china.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family visited the resort to relax at the end of an adventurous trip though Sichuan province. The resort is in a picturesque location overlooking a river and opposite the famous botanical gardens. There are few places that when you're shown your villa it is better than the photos but the villas are truly gorgeous. We had a mix up with our booking and had reserved the wrong villa. The resort management were wonderful in trying to rectify the problem even though it was not their fault. The restaurants serve good quality food - local, Thai and western. The manager is delightful and was very welcoming and helpful during our visit. Service was a little uneven as many staff didn't speak English but there were some gems amongst the staff, especially in the restaurants. I wish I had done this review earlier and could name the particular staff. The spa was also excellent with lovely staff and great products. Our villa had some issues with things like plumbing (ie mixers didn't work so showers too hot, tub overflow was directly below spout so water didn't make it into tub) which I'm sure will be ironed out. The only reason I haven't given a higher rating is the teething problems that were occurring as the resort had only been open a couple of months. We would definitely return and I'm sure the resort will be living up to it's potential. One of the few luxury places to stay in beautiful Yunnan province and quite a gem.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We six women flew to Xishuangbanna specifically to spend three days at the resort to relax. The hotel is new and lacks many of the finesse of an established five-star. The hotel had offered blend tasting coffee pods in the villas and instant coffee powder in the rooms. When we complained, the lounge staff came over with all his drip coffee varieties and offered us a free tasting. The staff set up a schedule to deliver the Yunnan fresh brew carafes twice a day free of charge. We could even go to the lounge at anytime to get more coffee. All the staff were authorized to take immediate and appropriate action to make sure that guests had a pleasant stay.

PRO
- Responsive service staff
- Resort is beautifully landscape and offers a good sense of place (resort was designed to fit in with local landscape and architecture)
- Good spa treatments with Thai masseuse but menu was limited (no facial)
- Public pool is 50 meters long with well-equiped modern gym
- Prices for airport Mercedes transfer charges are reasonable for five star hotel (CNY400, definitely recommend it given I was quoted same price for an old taxi)
- Villas are spacious and extremely private
- Thai restaurant food was good bur portions were tiny, Italian restaurant restaurant is good with generous entree portions.

CONS
- Wooden exterior doors contract and expand with the humidity and heat, sometimes hard to shut while stuck at times; door has a 1 cm crack on the bottom, allowing bugs and spiders in
- Missing nice amenities: bitter coffee pods, low-thread count bed sheets, no iphone 5 plugs for music player
- Restaurant choices was limited with repeat menu
- In three days, there was a two-hour period where a strong fertilizer odor from the banana plantation forced us to dine indoors
- Website offered bikes to ride to nearby waterfall but staff had no idea
- No other landmarks (only botanical garden) within an 1 - 1.5 drive of the resort

Room Tip: The river was extremely muddy while the garden villas offered a more tropical feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent 5 days in the newly opened Anantara Xishuangbanna resort and Spa. We have been very impressed by the beauty of the hotel (both common areas / rooms) and the overall services. We particularly appreciated the spa which is a stunning place within the hotel. The therapists are all very experienced and the complete experience was stunning. A special good point for the food as well: well presented, good and diverse.

This place is really a hidden jewel and absolutely perfect when you need to really decompress. It’s so calm and peaceful that you will come back home truly relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa

Address: Menglun Town, Mengla County 666303, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Mengla County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Mengla County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rugged beauty. Enchanting encounters. Unsurpassed luxury in a verdant retreat.Tucked away in the primeval forests of Yunnan Province, Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa sits at the threshold of a region rich in cultural experiences and astonishing natural beauty. This elegant hotel in Yunnan China blends contemporary style with awe-inspiring scenery in an evocative locale and is nestled along the banks of a sweeping curve of the Luosuo River. Lush tropical gardens filled with the sweet scents of passion flower and wild orchid. Elegant deluxe rooms and sprawling pool villas are inspired by indigenous art, with private plunge pools, state-of-the-art entertainment facilities and exclusive butler service.At this exclusive Xishuangbanna resort take in sweeping river views from our al fresco restaurant, enjoying Dai and Northern Thai cuisine. Meet Yunnan’s diverse people and take part in their colourful folk traditions on a village tour, and then learn to prepare Dai dishes yourself in an Anantara cooking class. Unwind with an indulgent world-renowned Anantara spa treatment after touring Wild Elephant Valley or Manfeilong, a Buddhist temple also known as the White Pagoda. Experiences of wonder and delight await you at Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Xishuangbanna Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.