We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, reasonable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mozambeat Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mozambeat Motel
Save
You added Mozambeat Motel to your Saves list
Barrio Josina Machel | Praia de Tofo / Tofinho, Tofo, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tofo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great atmosphere, reasonable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at Mozambeat for 3 nights while in Tofo. It's a bit away from the beach/main area (5-10 mins walk, so not too far really). It's really nicely designed with a backpacker feel, good lighting and excellent chocolate amarula brownie shakes. Room was reasonable although shower was intermittently luke warm and a bit weak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
26
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I did not stay in Mozambeat, we stayed in a lodge directly on the beach. But went to Mozambeat twice in 7 days, for lunch, chill and swim in the wonderful pool, have a drink on the bar, then chill on the upper floor and watch the beautiful sunset scene.
If you do not mind a 15 min walk to the beach everyday, then this is the perfect place to stay in, with all the different designs of the lodges, great paintings, good food, nice music and overall the wonderful setting of the place flavored with the indirect lighting and bushy plants giving you the jungle feel.
Would take a design-award.
If you decided not to stay there, you have to pass by, eat, chill and swim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel- Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A vacation which was planned for two weeks, ended up as a full month staying in beautiful Tofo, in brilliant Mozambeat. A fair price for a beautiful cabin, amazing staff who took care of everything, always with a smile, warm approach. The motel is intimate and cosy.
The kitchen staff make sure you'll be surprised with the day's special! Worth a try!
Mozambeat motel is located in Tofinho- a 20 minutes walk from the beach. A beautiful sunrise spot is quit close as well, and if you're on season- whales and dolphins will be seen from this beautiful place. Mozambeat is the perfect place for those who search for peace and quiet. The staff will help you with anything you want to know about the place. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for three days at Mozambeat and had a fantastic time. The place is beautiful with really nice individual rooms situated around a lovely swimming pool. The atmosphere is relaxed but the staff were very quick and helpful with anything we needed. Great food and drink in the bar too, and beautiful sunsets from the terrace.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

So I looked at the excessively glowing reviews here and thought "maybe its BS", but no, they're right. This place is friendly, lots of thought into the design, good food, great music, home cinema upstairs etc etc. If you don't mind a 10 minute walk to the beach and want to avoid the lower end backpackers, but still want somewhere fun without breaking the bank, then you'll make a great choice staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This new Accomodation in Tofo is the best Place to Stay. Even it was lower season when we spent there a week it was a quiet good feeling to be there. Ray and his team do an awful great job. We loved this place very well. Thanx a lot for all. Bärbel and Stefan from Cologne

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you are a backpacker looking for the best value in Tofo, look no further. My girlfriend and I stayed at 3 places in Tofo over the course of two weeks, and we enjoyed Mozambeat the most. Special thanks to Raymond for helping us get to South Africa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mozambeat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozambeat Motel

Address: Barrio Josina Machel | Praia de Tofo / Tofinho, Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tofo
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brought to you by dedicated world travellers, MBM has all the facilities to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing stay with us at our tropical oasis. We have a magical blend of stylish Dutch-design cabins, a fantastic bar and kitchen, a stunning swimming pool and a huge 1st floor deck overlooking superb sunset views. Just take a few minutes to look at the pictures of our land, and you will see exactly what we mean - Come On, Dive In! Our stunning swimming pool is a centre of attraction - cool off in the water, drink at the pool bar, sunbathe on one of our many comfy loungers, relax in the shade or socialise on the deck. Spacious cabins, all with en-suite, outdoor bathrooms, South African and European plugs, mosquito nets and new luxurious 2m length mattresses, can each accommodate up to 4 people, with flexibility on double or single beds available. Alternatively, there are 2 larger dorm rooms with single beds only, which can house up to 16 in total. The Beat Bar, Sunset Lounge and kitchen are all well stocked, artistically designed and sociable. A selection of international brand names are on sale at the bar, but local spirits are an incredibly cheap and popular alternative.Weekly movie nights and parties are hosted in the Sunset Lounge, where the excellent sound system and fantastic canopy views create an incredible venue to watch cult and modern classics or simply dance the night away. The braai area is well equipped with large double grills hosting regular feasts, with a number of picnic tables and seating areas creating a wonderful outdoor dining scene. In addition, the fire-pit and numerous scattered hammocks provide excellent alternatives for either meeting new people or hiding away if you prefer. Plus, we pride ourselves on great service, keen organisation, fantastic people and a soundtrack to make life feel just that little bit sweeter. It's just like Hotel California– you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozambeat Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.