We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tofo Scuba

Tofo Scuba
Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
+258 82 826 0140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Tofo
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: TOFO SCUBA is the longest running dive center in Mozambique. (18 Years) We pioneered diving in the Tofo, Barra area. We are a PADI Resort center. We also offer RAID courses (Open Water to instructor) which can be a more affordable option as it does not require that you purchase a book. (E learning) We are situated right on the beach and 30 meters from the sea. (Next to Dino's bar and Fatima's Backpackers). We have an awesome restaurant on site. Tofo Scuba has the ONLY HEATED DIVER TRAINING POOL IN TOFO (26 degrees instead of 18 degrees) We run 3 x 8,3 meter superducks powered by 100hp Yamaha 4 stroke motors. FREE NIKROX for those divers who are qualified Nitrox divers. This will give you 10 to 15 min..Longer bottom time on our deep dives. Safety and customer service are our priority. Free WI FI For Tofo Scuba Customers. Your own LOCKER to safely store your personal belongings MISSION STATEMENT. It is the stated objective of the staff and management of Tofo Scuba to provide to our customers the highest standard of quality and service as it relates to scuba diving and scuba diver training. This commitment to service excellence will be seen in our desire and ability to continually improve the standard of both our student training programs and our daily casual diver charters. Of prime importance to us, is the safety and well being of all our customers and students. We will be measured by our ability to always supply well-maintained, safe diving equipment, good quality air and fully equipped, seaworthy dive boats at all times. We undertake to always foster an environment conducive to the safer learning and enjoyment of scuba diving in a friendly and relaxed manner. Our attitude toward scuba diving and diver training will always be conservative.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diving Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from 2 weeks in Tofo, it truly is a little piece of heaven! It was the second time we've been there and it certainly lived up to our expectations this time around.

We decide to dive with Tofo Scuba again this year as we'd had a brilliant time with them before. Also, neither of us had dived since our last trip there a year ago, so it was nice to have some familiar faces when getting back into the water for the first time. We did a couple of shallow dives first and before long we felt as though we'd never been out of the water (thanks Matt and Denis - 2 very patient instructors!!).
We managed to do 8 out of the 10 dives that we had planned to do. Unfortunately we had 2 days of bad weather so our dives were cancelled, I'd far rather have had the dives cancelled than risk a dive in unsafe conditions, don't forget that this is a remote area - so emergency services are not just around the corner should you need them). We truly felt that safety was the priority at Tofo Scuba and for this reason we'd highly recommend them. That said, I'd also definitely recommend taking with a few good books to occupy yourselves with on said miserable days!

A highlight of our trip was seeing a couple of Giant Manta's and two huge Loggerhead Turtles that stayed with us for what felt like ages! The following day we had a small pod of dolphins swimming right up next to the boat on the way back from the dive - they are such magical creatures!

We can't wait to get back there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Tofo Scuba, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hey guys.
So glad you enjoyed diving and eating with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is most appreciated. Your feedback is really important to us.
Kind regards. John, Nikki and a great Tofo Scuba Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    24
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz das Flores, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excelent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tofo beach is a beautiful place to be, if I could I would move there for ever.

People are humble and friendly, nature is almost virgin

The weather was fantastic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Tofo Scuba, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hey guys.
So glad you enjoyed diving and eating with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is most appreciated. Your feedback is really important to us.
Kind regards. John, Nikki and a great Tofo Scuba Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“unenthusiastic and unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrived prompt to the dive shop to find it empty. When the staff showed up, they were clearly still tired and rather unfriendly. Didn't bother to ask our names or instigate a conversation. They made an executive decision to go home due to weather, without much apologies or efforts to ask us to return the next day.

Anxious to dive, we arrived the following morning with all of our own equipment to the same attitudes. It is frustrating as divemasters and as customers to be greeted in this manner. It seems that when the owner is away that the divemasters in training do as they please. As they are interns, there isn't much motivation for them to attract customers.

After visiting the other shops in Tofo, we decided to dive with Liquid Adventures instead. They were excited to get boats out, picked us up at our hotel, and were friendly and professional. The three days we went diving we did not see a single Tofo Scuba boat launch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Owner at Tofo Scuba, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
My name is John Pears and I would like to correct a number of points to what i consider to be an extremely inaccurate and mallicious review.

Firstly, our dive centre opens at 7am to the public. Our kitchen at 6.30am and our dive staff start setting up customer's equipment at 6.45am. On the day in question this is exactly what happened.

Regarding not asking for your names, this is simply not true. I believe the key to all this is that given that there were 4 meter waves and 29 mile an hour winds, and an almost un breachable backline, the decission was made not to launch. The fact that you despratly wanted to dive is completely undestandable as it is a costly trip. To not see the massive dangers of launching in those conditions is simply unbelievable. especially given that these are quallified Dive masters. I am VERY happy with the decission to not launch, Tofo Scuba has a policy which has stood here in Tofo for 17 years "If there is any doubt, there is no doubt" (There was NO doubt, it was dangerous)

In fact we did not launch for 3 days and happily lost a lot of money. None of our other divers were upset. In fact they were all happy that they were not subjected to those hair raising launches. Another consideration of course is that should a diver get lost in those conditions, the chances of finding them is extremely low as there is NO air sea rescue here, and no recompression chambers etc. We have to LOOK AFTER OUR DIVERS and that means not making bad decissions relating to saftey!!!!

What was not mentioned in the Tofo Scubs review was how on Two occations the boat that launched almost flipped just before backline and that customers had blisters and bleading hands from trying to stay in the boat.

SAFTEY FIRST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tofo Scuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great, professional service, excellent diver masters. Equipment is in very good condition. Very organized. Would highly recommend them! We dove with Tofo Scuba March 7-14,2013, two dives per day. Restaurant at Tofo Scuba is delightful, great food! The beach is a paradise!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Tofo Scuba, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hey guys.
So glad you enjoyed diving and eating with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is most appreciated. Your feedback is really important to us.
Kind regards. John, Nikki and a great Tofo Scuba Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wow! Went to visit a buddy from high school and had the dive experience of a life. Did the PADI deep dive review and Nitrox class day one and didn't regret it. The reefs are deep so take their advice and you'll have a much better time... IMHO. Walked the beach to the dive shop after sun rise, checked gear, launched boat, and had an epic experience. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Tofo Scuba, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hey guys.
So glad you enjoyed diving and eating with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is most appreciated. Your feedback is really important to us.
Kind regards. John, Nikki and a great Tofo Scuba Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofo Scuba also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Inhambane Province, Mozambique
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
Bazaruto Island, Bazaruto Archipelago
 

Been to Tofo Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tofo Scuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tofo Scuba to your Saves list