We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Star restaurant where you feel at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Botte d'Asperges

La Botte d'Asperges
52, Rue Pierre Henri Mauger, 41700 Contres, France
02.54.79.50.49
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Contres
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Michelin Star restaurant where you feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The wife and husband team works marvellously: M Knapp prepares delicious fare, worthy of a Michelin star - I can never have enough of the smoked foie gras! Everything is home made : the presentation of the dishes is perfect and the taste never disappoints. The gracious and friendly Mme Knapp is equally important and makes everyone feel welcome. While enouraging a relaxed atmosphere, she makes sure all is well at every table, refilling bread and water when necessary. She will also guide you through the wine menu and her suggestions are always spot on. The Knapps have managed to create an excellent restaurant when superb food does not mean inflated prices (I think you do get excellent value for money) and a starchy atmosphere. One of my favourite restaurants ever.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sheer gastronomic brilliance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The proprietors of a nearby b&b suggested that we eat at La Botte d'Asperges, and we were not disappointed! Not cheap, but worth every single centime, and we would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !! Deserves a Mechelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't Miss Out !!
Best food & service we had on our trip.
My husband and myself have been away for 35 days. We flew to Paris from Australia hired a car & drove all around France & Spain. We are on our way back to Paris & fly back to Sydney.
We were talking about the service & food we have had on our trip. We have 5 days left & our trip will come to an end.
What a service !! We were greeted very warmly. We had excellent & prompt service. Our expectation started building up when we were served with warm bread to start with. Never have we been offered with warm bread on our whole trip. Then came the scallops and the salmon. OMG !! what a meal. It looked so colorful and so inviting. It was divine. And the dessert was delicious.
Meal not to be missed !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a small, family owned business in Contres. The owner, Alexandra, made us feel very welcome and made excellent suggestions when we were ordering. The ambiance is very relaxed and as it is a small restaurant, we ended up chatting with all the other guests. The food is delicious, especially the duck appetizer. The cheese platter is made up of locally sourced cheeses, some of which came from as close as 3 kilometres away.

Alexandra took the time to chat with us, gave us tips for touring and made sure that we had clear directions to get back to our B&B in the dark after dinner. We felt that we had been treated as true guests.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in Contres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were staying at the nearby Domaine de la Blonnerie, the b&b owner recommended this restaurant. If you try to book and you get a voicemail leave a message with your phone number and hopefully they will call you back. Looks like there is no one manning the phones between the end of lunch and the beginning of dinner. The lady hostess was lovely, we were the first ones there with as booking at 7:15pm. They do some lovely wines by the glass priced between 3€-5€, if you are driving and don't want to get a bottle. The portions here a large especially for France. I had the smoked salmon to start, followed by the filet de boeuf roti and the poached pear for dessert, delicious and well cooked. I tried the red wine from Luberon 2012, very smooth and good for €3.10 for 120ml.

The restaurant was full, so best to book if you can, many people walked in and had to walk back out again as there were no tables left. Would recommend this place for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Botte d'Asperges also viewed

Contres, Loir-et-Cher
Saint-Aignan, Loir-et-Cher
 
Vallieres-les-Grandes, Loir-et-Cher
Cande-sur-Beuvron, Blois
 

Been to La Botte d'Asperges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Botte d'Asperges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.