We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Pond Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisborough Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Pond Cottage
Save
You added Old Pond Cottage to your Saves list
Billingshurst Road | Billingshurst, West Sussex, Wisborough Green, Billingshurst RH14 0DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything was perfect from start to finish. Even before we arrived Sandie emailed alternate driving instructions in case of bad weather. On arrival we were greeted at the door by her charming and adorable 8 year old grandson, Daniel. Who also showed us to our room, such a wonderful young man. The room was well presented, my wife loved the bedding, bathroom modern and clean and lots of little personal touches that make this a perfect hideaway. Sandie went above and beyond to make us feel welcone, tea and home made cake on arrival and fresh milk delivered to our room in the morning. Breakfast was awesone, a calore busting full English with all the trimmings. There goes the 2014 diet.... I would thoroughly recommend this jewel to anyone visiting the area. Thank you Sandie (and Daniel) for a great start to the New Year. See you soon Sandie!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
68
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here as a small group in order to celebrate Mum's 90th Birthday. It really was an inspired choice of a place to stay. The location in the village is great. We occupied all three rooms and each was considered excellent by its occupants. Each was quiet and well equipped. The welcome and service provided was fantastic - friendly and helpful without being overwhelming. A special touch was the note under the door in the morning advising that fresh milk was waiting outside for the morning coffee. Breakfast was terrific and despite our many variations on the offered themes - fussy teenagers - everything came as ordered. A special place and when Mum makes 100 we will all return! Sooner if we can think of an excuse!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Impossible to find fault. Very friendly & welcoming. Sandie & Brian go out their way to make sure that their guests are well looked after. An excellent meal can be had in the pub next door. The breakfast was divine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Can't fault this B&B. They seem to have thought of everything! Not only are they a really nice couple but they do the best scrambled eggs in the world.
When in West Sussex this is the place to head for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful place to stay, from the welcome you receive on arrival by the owners, to the cleanliness and decor of the room, to the best full English breakfast with home made bread.
We can not recommend this place enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Although have been before, had to reiterate what a perfect B&B this is. All the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and the en-suite bathrooms are wonderful. No expense has been spared to make sure guests have everything they need for stays. Breakfasts are wonderful, with produce from local producers where possible, not to mention home made cake from the owner. Having a pub next door is perfect for those wishing to stay longer and not wanting to venture far for an evening meal.
Thank you Sandie - Jenny, Christine, Jenny & Beryl

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is by far one of the nicest B&Bs I have ever stayed , and I have seen a lot . Friendly owners ,impeccable rooms , nice breakfast and a very affordable price . Icing on the cake is an excellent pub / restaurant right next door . This is the beautiful south at its best

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Pond Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pond Cottage

Address: Billingshurst Road | Billingshurst, West Sussex, Wisborough Green, Billingshurst RH14 0DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Wisborough Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wisborough Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Sussex, on the edge of the South Downs National Park, and within easy reach of the coast, Petworth, Chichester and Gatwick Airport. The ideal stop-over with all the local amenities of this timeless village just a short stroll away. Set between the church, the village pond and the village green, there are two lovely pubs in the village, for your evening meal - or perhaps to watch cricket on the beautiful village green. If you want to explore Sussex whilst staying a quintessentially English Village, then this is the place for you! Whether for one or two nights, or longer, we will do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We have plenty of local knowledge, and use local, organic ingredients in our breakfasts, which are included in the price. We have three rooms, a double (also used as a single at reduced rate, a twin with bath and shower, and a larger twin, which also has two large sofa chairs, which are not only lovely and comfortable to watch the large flat screen television, but are so useful as beds for extra guests, whether a family, or a larger group of people wishing to stay. All rooms have bright clean en-suite bathrooms, fluffy towels and complementary toiletries, radio, alarm clock and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Pond Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.