We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total rejuvenation in an out-of-the-world spa resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“A total rejuvenation in an out-of-the-world spa resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Thank you Sharron, the Resort Manager, and the entire team at Tembok Bali! You made our 49th wedding anniversary a celebration to remember with your daily little personalised notes sent to our room twice a day , and all the lovely art work display in our rooms that made our stay so romantic and special. We are back from an exceptional extraordinary 4D3N stay at this fabulous far-out place where you enjoy a total rejuvenation and relaxation of mind, body, spirit and an emotional experience as you sit in the cabana and listen to the breaking of the waves against the rocky cliffs any time of the day especially in the early morning before the break of day.

There is peace within you as you read or laze or swim or Nordic Walk that we enjoy on the beach. Every morning and evening we took our Nordic poles set and just walked on the black volcanic soil beach in a resort far away from the din of the villages and towns of Bali. Yes, you are all by yourself here in this boutique resort and if that's the kind of holiday that you seek, this is the place for you. We were repeatedly told that this black volcanic soil had special nutrients for your beauty and total wellness! So don't miss the spa experience!

It was our second visit. We were here last year and felt we didn't have enough and pledged to return so the moment we had an opportunity we were making plans again. WE spent days wondering where we should go for our 49th wedding anniversary for we are regulars at YTL resorts for you can't go wrong if you are like us looking for resorts that promise you cleanliness, good personalised service, pampering, luxury, comfort, make you feel important, and secured while on holiday away from home.

We particularly like the 3-hour road drive especially if you fly into Bali in the morning for when the road route takes you through the villages and the village scenes , you learn a lot about Bali. On the way, the driver will stop at a few places of interests for you to stretch yourself and get acquainted with what Bali has to offer.

We stopped at the Tirtangga Royal watergarden and had the opportunity of looking at Bali life .

You should avoid a late flight because then the 3-hour journey by road gets a bit too much especially if you fly long distance. What we did this time was to ensure we reached this resort by two ... perfect timing .

And, if you are spending many days here, rest by all means for the first two to three days, then get the resort to organise trips or outdoor activities for you to beguile your time well so you have plenty to do. The end of year is not particularly a good time because of the rains though it doesn't rain the whole day long.

I must thank Miasi the driver who picked us on time though it was very early in the morning and gave us an enjoyable luxurious road drive explaining and stopping along the way . It was so personalised! Mayan we have to thank you and your entire team for taking good care of us and serving us and the special dinner the night before we left and of course the special wedding anniversary cake!

In a nutshell, if you are looking for a holiday that pampers you and looks into your needs, you can't go wrong with Tembok Bali Spa Resort. Once again, YTL ensures you are well-taken care of!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ms Jagjeet,

I don't know how I missed your review - THANK YOU! for taking the time to write such a detailed feast of experiences. It is always a pleasure to have you here!

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. On behalf of Spa Village Tembok, Bali, we wish you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    50
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
245
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sister and I spent 12 nights at this amazing hotel. If you are looking for miles of golden beaches thronging with people, this is not the place for you. However, if you want peace and calm and great personalised customer service you will love it here.

We had a slight problem with our room one evening and within half an hour Sharon, the manager, had moved us to another room for the night whilst it was sorted and we were back in our lovely villa the following morning.

The staff are wonderful, always remembering and addressing us by name.

It is quiet and isolated but the hotel will arrange trips if you want them. The massages were great and yoga and local craft lessons are available free every day.

Room Tip: Take a villa if possible. Private pool ands overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings from Spa Village Tembok, Bali!

Such a pleasure to have met you both - it made me appreciate my sister even more after seeing the bond between you two.

I hope all is wonderful with you and we send our warm wishes to you from Bali.

Thanking you for your support,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If it’s total relaxation and rejuvenation of the mind, body and spirit that you seek, then Spa Village Tembok really is the place to go. We have been fortunate enough to have traveled extensively and this fabulously remote resort lived up to all our expectations as we spent a very happy and relaxing two weeks there. The Spa Village Tembok Team were genuinely caring, friendly and eager to make sure that you had absolutely everything you wanted to make your whole experience completely luxurious, relaxing and tailored to your own needs. The spa treatments were some of the best we have ever had anywhere in the world, and were delivered caringly by expertly trained therapists. A variety of activities ranging from Pencak Silat (Balinese Martial Art) to cooking and woodcarving are provided by the Tembok Team which you can participate in, only if you wish to. We had never before attempted Yoga and as complete novices we were introduced to this daily activity under expert tuition, and found it so enjoyable and beneficial that we have continued to practice Yoga when we got back home. We stayed in one of the Kaymar rooms which was beautifully furnished and decorated, with great views over the gardens, swimming pool and the sea. The air conditioned room was large, serviced twice a day with crisp bedding and a multitude of towels. You really don’t need to take very much to the Spa Village apart from an appetite to relax and enjoy in an idyllic setting. A big thank you to Wati Sharron and the Tembok Team for making our time with you very special, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. We preferred an upstairs room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always a very special experience to meet new guests here at Spa Village and we appreciate your support.

We hope to see you again!

Our best and wishing you a beautiful day,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Well in the first place you must be prepared for the journey. It's almost 4 hours long and winding road so I was telling myself the resort better worth all the effort and I must say - it did! The thing that we like the most is absolutely peace and quiet here because its not situated at the common tourist hotspots, also no kids as they have a no below 16 house rules. Unlike the beach at most part of Bali, the sand here is black. Overall the staff here are very friendly and helpful but never over service, they will only appears when you need them, kind of leaving you alone in your own world. As this is a very isolated resort, all meals are included - ala carte for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nothing very fancy about the food but you can be sure the ingredients used are very fresh. Understand the locals here are mainly fisherman and fruits and Vege farmers. One thing must try is their spa treatments of which they are very good with it - comes from the famous regional chain of YTL spa village. Sharron their resident manager was very friendly, she was there to greet us upon our arrival. One of the activities is star glazing, they put you on a inflated air bed and let you float on the pool with ear phone churning zen like music. Unfortunately the night we tried was very cloudy so no much stars to be seen. All in all, an amazing place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings from Spa Village, Tembok Bali!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Wishing you a beautiful day,
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We returned to this resort after having had an amazing experience there four years ago. This time we brought family.
Whilst the staff is still delightful and it is good to see some friendly faces from last time (staff retention often a good sign!) it is sad to note that the quality of the overall Spa Village experience has slipped.
Last time there was an interesting chef and a great fusion of local and modern western dishes. This time it was a food lovers night mare. Think I'm being a pedantic food snob? Picture this: dried out butterflied baby chicken on a bed of potatoes accompanied by a blob of tinned baked beans. The entire restaurant needs an overhaul, from the menu to table ware to fit out. Rip out a wall and make it a partially open kitchen with chefs on display cooking up a storm using the abundance of great local food and turn this place back into a food and spa destination in remote northern Bali.
Couple this with your wonderful staff and this place will be a sensation again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It saddens me to hear when a guest is not happy with their stay. We at Spa Village Tembok, Bali offer a unique experience with the intention to help all our guests feel relaxed, healthy and mores importantly happy.

It's unfortunate I didn't get to meet you personally and discuss your challenges in person. We do appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the points you raised to ensure we continue to strive towards excellence.

Wishing you a beautiful day ahead on this lovely day,

Our best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous relaxed resort with amazing staff, beautiful spa treatments but the food (from breakfast to dinner) is terrible. Really terrible. Food was uncooked (gooey pancakes), not properly prepared (prawns weren't de-veined), over-cooked (fish and chicken), lacking in authentic balinese flavours and in weird combinations (canned baked beans served with chicken on Christmas night). If they can get the food right this place could be fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great place if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The place was so remote but it was compensated by its beautiful scenery, stunning accommodation, well kept place and the finest place we have ever been and the people were warm, friendly, interactive, attentive and made our stay of just 3 days so wonderful.

The surroundings, the ambience, the spa treatments, and the personal attention - was so moving. The only setback is the menu is rather limited as they cook for small number of people. However food quality is good.

We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcanoes and the scenery was breathtaking. The Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to airport which was delicious and very kind! Thank you.

Go there. We will go back and our only regret is.....we should have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.