We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Save Saved
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sister and I spent 12 nights at this amazing hotel. If you are looking for miles of golden beaches thronging with people, this is not the place for you. However, if you want peace and calm and great personalised customer service you will love it here.

We had a slight problem with our room one evening and within half an hour Sharon, the manager, had moved us to another room for the night whilst it was sorted and we were back in our lovely villa the following morning.

The staff are wonderful, always remembering and addressing us by name.

It is quiet and isolated but the hotel will arrange trips if you want them. The massages were great and yoga and local craft lessons are available free every day.

Room Tip: Take a villa if possible. Private pool ands overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings from Spa Village Tembok, Bali!

Such a pleasure to have met you both - it made me appreciate my sister even more after seeing the bond between you two.

I hope all is wonderful with you and we send our warm wishes to you from Bali.

Thanking you for your support,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
200
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If it’s total relaxation and rejuvenation of the mind, body and spirit that you seek, then Spa Village Tembok really is the place to go. We have been fortunate enough to have traveled extensively and this fabulously remote resort lived up to all our expectations as we spent a very happy and relaxing two weeks there. The Spa Village Tembok Team were genuinely caring, friendly and eager to make sure that you had absolutely everything you wanted to make your whole experience completely luxurious, relaxing and tailored to your own needs. The spa treatments were some of the best we have ever had anywhere in the world, and were delivered caringly by expertly trained therapists. A variety of activities ranging from Pencak Silat (Balinese Martial Art) to cooking and woodcarving are provided by the Tembok Team which you can participate in, only if you wish to. We had never before attempted Yoga and as complete novices we were introduced to this daily activity under expert tuition, and found it so enjoyable and beneficial that we have continued to practice Yoga when we got back home. We stayed in one of the Kaymar rooms which was beautifully furnished and decorated, with great views over the gardens, swimming pool and the sea. The air conditioned room was large, serviced twice a day with crisp bedding and a multitude of towels. You really don’t need to take very much to the Spa Village apart from an appetite to relax and enjoy in an idyllic setting. A big thank you to Wati Sharron and the Tembok Team for making our time with you very special, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. We preferred an upstairs room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always a very special experience to meet new guests here at Spa Village and we appreciate your support.

We hope to see you again!

Our best and wishing you a beautiful day,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Well in the first place you must be prepared for the journey. It's almost 4 hours long and winding road so I was telling myself the resort better worth all the effort and I must say - it did! The thing that we like the most is absolutely peace and quiet here because its not situated at the common tourist hotspots, also no kids as they have a no below 16 house rules. Unlike the beach at most part of Bali, the sand here is black. Overall the staff here are very friendly and helpful but never over service, they will only appears when you need them, kind of leaving you alone in your own world. As this is a very isolated resort, all meals are included - ala carte for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nothing very fancy about the food but you can be sure the ingredients used are very fresh. Understand the locals here are mainly fisherman and fruits and Vege farmers. One thing must try is their spa treatments of which they are very good with it - comes from the famous regional chain of YTL spa village. Sharron their resident manager was very friendly, she was there to greet us upon our arrival. One of the activities is star glazing, they put you on a inflated air bed and let you float on the pool with ear phone churning zen like music. Unfortunately the night we tried was very cloudy so no much stars to be seen. All in all, an amazing place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings from Spa Village, Tembok Bali!
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Wishing you a beautiful day,
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We returned to this resort after having had an amazing experience there four years ago. This time we brought family.
Whilst the staff is still delightful and it is good to see some friendly faces from last time (staff retention often a good sign!) it is sad to note that the quality of the overall Spa Village experience has slipped.
Last time there was an interesting chef and a great fusion of local and modern western dishes. This time it was a food lovers night mare. Think I'm being a pedantic food snob? Picture this: dried out butterflied baby chicken on a bed of potatoes accompanied by a blob of tinned baked beans. The entire restaurant needs an overhaul, from the menu to table ware to fit out. Rip out a wall and make it a partially open kitchen with chefs on display cooking up a storm using the abundance of great local food and turn this place back into a food and spa destination in remote northern Bali.
Couple this with your wonderful staff and this place will be a sensation again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It saddens me to hear when a guest is not happy with their stay. We at Spa Village Tembok, Bali offer a unique experience with the intention to help all our guests feel relaxed, healthy and mores importantly happy.

It's unfortunate I didn't get to meet you personally and discuss your challenges in person. We do appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the points you raised to ensure we continue to strive towards excellence.

Wishing you a beautiful day ahead on this lovely day,

Our best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous relaxed resort with amazing staff, beautiful spa treatments but the food (from breakfast to dinner) is terrible. Really terrible. Food was uncooked (gooey pancakes), not properly prepared (prawns weren't de-veined), over-cooked (fish and chicken), lacking in authentic balinese flavours and in weird combinations (canned baked beans served with chicken on Christmas night). If they can get the food right this place could be fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great place if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The place was so remote but it was compensated by its beautiful scenery, stunning accommodation, well kept place and the finest place we have ever been and the people were warm, friendly, interactive, attentive and made our stay of just 3 days so wonderful.

The surroundings, the ambience, the spa treatments, and the personal attention - was so moving. The only setback is the menu is rather limited as they cook for small number of people. However food quality is good.

We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcanoes and the scenery was breathtaking. The Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to airport which was delicious and very kind! Thank you.

Go there. We will go back and our only regret is.....we should have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great area if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained, the staff very attentive. The pool staff continually offerwd chilled water and in the afternoons fresh fruit.

For those looking for night life, this is not the place to go. Also for those who drink a lot it could get expensive - a supermarket wine (Jacob's Creek) costs 100 euros a bottle. Fortunately this was not what we were looking for!
The menu is also rather limited as they cook for a small number of people but they do change it daily and are willing to accomodate requests. Towards the end, we said we would have really liked more "Indonesian food" but should have said it earlier as the chef then tried to help us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.