We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would have been fantastic but for the food experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Save Saved
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Meals + Spa + Transfers
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It would have been fantastic but for the food experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We returned to this resort after having had an amazing experience there four years ago. This time we brought family.
Whilst the staff is still delightful and it is good to see some friendly faces from last time (staff retention often a good sign!) it is sad to note that the quality of the overall Spa Village experience has slipped.
Last time there was an interesting chef and a great fusion of local and modern western dishes. This time it was a food lovers night mare. Think I'm being a pedantic food snob? Picture this: dried out butterflied baby chicken on a bed of potatoes accompanied by a blob of tinned baked beans. The entire restaurant needs an overhaul, from the menu to table ware to fit out. Rip out a wall and make it a partially open kitchen with chefs on display cooking up a storm using the abundance of great local food and turn this place back into a food and spa destination in remote northern Bali.
Couple this with your wonderful staff and this place will be a sensation again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It saddens me to hear when a guest is not happy with their stay. We at Spa Village Tembok, Bali offer a unique experience with the intention to help all our guests feel relaxed, healthy and mores importantly happy.

It's unfortunate I didn't get to meet you personally and discuss your challenges in person. We do appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the points you raised to ensure we continue to strive towards excellence.

Wishing you a beautiful day ahead on this lovely day,

Our best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    42
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
210
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous relaxed resort with amazing staff, beautiful spa treatments but the food (from breakfast to dinner) is terrible. Really terrible. Food was uncooked (gooey pancakes), not properly prepared (prawns weren't de-veined), over-cooked (fish and chicken), lacking in authentic balinese flavours and in weird combinations (canned baked beans served with chicken on Christmas night). If they can get the food right this place could be fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great place if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The place was so remote but it was compensated by its beautiful scenery, stunning accommodation, well kept place and the finest place we have ever been and the people were warm, friendly, interactive, attentive and made our stay of just 3 days so wonderful.

The surroundings, the ambience, the spa treatments, and the personal attention - was so moving. The only setback is the menu is rather limited as they cook for small number of people. However food quality is good.

We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcanoes and the scenery was breathtaking. The Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to airport which was delicious and very kind! Thank you.

Go there. We will go back and our only regret is.....we should have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great area if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained, the staff very attentive. The pool staff continually offerwd chilled water and in the afternoons fresh fruit.

For those looking for night life, this is not the place to go. Also for those who drink a lot it could get expensive - a supermarket wine (Jacob's Creek) costs 100 euros a bottle. Fortunately this was not what we were looking for!
The menu is also rather limited as they cook for a small number of people but they do change it daily and are willing to accomodate requests. Towards the end, we said we would have really liked more "Indonesian food" but should have said it earlier as the chef then tried to help us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What do you mean Gede, that we have to leave. No, no, we live here now, please. Tembok Spa Village is heavenly and my love and I certainly did not want to leave. Our first taste of a spa resort but Tembok is not just that. First, it is the people - warm, friendly, interactive, attentive. They made our stay of just 8 days so wonderful. Learn the culture, the language, and interact. My love loves the Balinese culture and had a wonderful time interacting with the people and learning more of the language and their way of life. Then, the food, the ambience, the spa treatments - idyllic and blissful, and the personal attention - they made me a birthday cake and sang happy birthday, it was so moving. You can do as much or as little as you desire. The massages are incredible and invigorating and relaxing, such wonderful hands. Yoga with the joyful Ketut and martial arts with the other masterful Ketut are a must. The food was sensational, plenty of choice including many vegetarian dishes, and accommodating, with my love being gluten free. And the frangipani trees everywhere, and the setting looking over the Bali sea, just truly beautiful. Go there. We will go back - to say hello again to our friends.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 35, we are hiding under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went to three different hotels while on our honeymoon in Bali and this was the second place (first being Maya Ubud and then Oberoi in Seminyak). The hotel itself was beautiful and we were welcomed with a lovely foot massage. The swimming pool was lovely with the choice of beds to lounge around on as well as the sunbeds and there were a variety of activities throughout the day as well including yoga, temple offering makings, wood carvings etc. Every evening there would be a lovely personal message by the attendants. As a place meant to relax there was no tv which was fine.

All of this was lovely but unfortunately food was where the hotel let itself down and this actually was quite a big concern. We had only breakfast included - we were told by our travel agent that this was the only way they could do it (this may be the travel agents fault here as some other couples did seem to have all inclusive) and as the place was so remote there were no other places to eat at all. The menus for dinner were set already and quite pricey for Bali. As it is a highly rated hotel we didn't mind this, but the vegetarian choices were not very nice and if you did not eat egg then you would be in trouble. We asked a couple of times if we could order a variation or different food for dinner if we asked in advance (something simple like pasta) but were told each time that as the food was pre-prepared this was not possible - we could not make any alterations or adjustments to the menus. We were pretty disappointed with this as we thought it being such a small hotel which took care of its guests that this would at least be possible - we have heard of loads of other hotels doing this for guests (the Oberoi was very accommodating about this - our last hotel in Bali).

Everything else about the hotel was perfect - the staff prepared aloe vera for my husband when he got sunburnt which was great and I do feel if it was not for the food we would have given the place 4 or 5 stars. However food is an important factor of the holiday and unfortunately that is the main thing that we remember from this hotel. Therefore I do recommend that if you are vegetarian and especially if you do not eat eggs, think before coming here as there is not much flexibility and no other restaurants around to eat at in close proximity.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a disappointment to hear that your stay was not flawless with regards to the food. However, it is valuable comments such as yours which help us to strive forward in giving our guests, the best possible service in all areas wherever possible. I am, however, delighted to hear the team met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we wish you a beautiful day!

Our Best,
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the spa village as part of our honeymoon and from the moment we arrived it was amazing. We arrived late and they prepared some food or us just in case we were hungry. We stayed in the villa with a private pool and it was beautiful, a great size and so lovely to have our own pool. We had spa treatments every day, they had made a suggested schedule but we could change the treatments to suit us which we did. The food was simple, healthy and three courses were offered at each meal. It was a great introduction to Indonesian food. We didn't leave the resort as we only stayed for a short time but I don't think there is a lot to do in Temok. There are a number of free activities like daily yoga at sunset, a quick cooking lesson and other activities which they charge for. We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcano which was beautiful and well worth seeing. Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to our next hotel which was delicious and very kind!

Overall I'd recommend the spa village, it is a long drive from the airport but worth it once you arrive. The spa treatments were very good and always on time and never rushed. Service was perfect, very friendly but not overbaring.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to share your comments with the team here and a pleasure to have you here.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Wishing you a fabulous day!
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.