We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort - don't go for the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book & save 30% per stay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort - don't go for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a gorgeous relaxed resort with amazing staff, beautiful spa treatments but the food (from breakfast to dinner) is terrible. Really terrible. Food was uncooked (gooey pancakes), not properly prepared (prawns weren't de-veined), over-cooked (fish and chicken), lacking in authentic balinese flavours and in weird combinations (canned baked beans served with chicken on Christmas night). If they can get the food right this place could be fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    51
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
262
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there to celebrate our anniversary. Great place if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The place was so remote but it was compensated by its beautiful scenery, stunning accommodation, well kept place and the finest place we have ever been and the people were warm, friendly, interactive, attentive and made our stay of just 3 days so wonderful.

The surroundings, the ambience, the spa treatments, and the personal attention - was so moving. The only setback is the menu is rather limited as they cook for small number of people. However food quality is good.

We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcanoes and the scenery was breathtaking. The Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to airport which was delicious and very kind! Thank you.

Go there. We will go back and our only regret is.....we should have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great area if you wish to get away from it all and be completely relaxed. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained, the staff very attentive. The pool staff continually offerwd chilled water and in the afternoons fresh fruit.

For those looking for night life, this is not the place to go. Also for those who drink a lot it could get expensive - a supermarket wine (Jacob's Creek) costs 100 euros a bottle. Fortunately this was not what we were looking for!
The menu is also rather limited as they cook for a small number of people but they do change it daily and are willing to accomodate requests. Towards the end, we said we would have really liked more "Indonesian food" but should have said it earlier as the chef then tried to help us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What do you mean Gede, that we have to leave. No, no, we live here now, please. Tembok Spa Village is heavenly and my love and I certainly did not want to leave. Our first taste of a spa resort but Tembok is not just that. First, it is the people - warm, friendly, interactive, attentive. They made our stay of just 8 days so wonderful. Learn the culture, the language, and interact. My love loves the Balinese culture and had a wonderful time interacting with the people and learning more of the language and their way of life. Then, the food, the ambience, the spa treatments - idyllic and blissful, and the personal attention - they made me a birthday cake and sang happy birthday, it was so moving. You can do as much or as little as you desire. The massages are incredible and invigorating and relaxing, such wonderful hands. Yoga with the joyful Ketut and martial arts with the other masterful Ketut are a must. The food was sensational, plenty of choice including many vegetarian dishes, and accommodating, with my love being gluten free. And the frangipani trees everywhere, and the setting looking over the Bali sea, just truly beautiful. Go there. We will go back - to say hello again to our friends.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 35, we are hiding under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went to three different hotels while on our honeymoon in Bali and this was the second place (first being Maya Ubud and then Oberoi in Seminyak). The hotel itself was beautiful and we were welcomed with a lovely foot massage. The swimming pool was lovely with the choice of beds to lounge around on as well as the sunbeds and there were a variety of activities throughout the day as well including yoga, temple offering makings, wood carvings etc. Every evening there would be a lovely personal message by the attendants. As a place meant to relax there was no tv which was fine.

All of this was lovely but unfortunately food was where the hotel let itself down and this actually was quite a big concern. We had only breakfast included - we were told by our travel agent that this was the only way they could do it (this may be the travel agents fault here as some other couples did seem to have all inclusive) and as the place was so remote there were no other places to eat at all. The menus for dinner were set already and quite pricey for Bali. As it is a highly rated hotel we didn't mind this, but the vegetarian choices were not very nice and if you did not eat egg then you would be in trouble. We asked a couple of times if we could order a variation or different food for dinner if we asked in advance (something simple like pasta) but were told each time that as the food was pre-prepared this was not possible - we could not make any alterations or adjustments to the menus. We were pretty disappointed with this as we thought it being such a small hotel which took care of its guests that this would at least be possible - we have heard of loads of other hotels doing this for guests (the Oberoi was very accommodating about this - our last hotel in Bali).

Everything else about the hotel was perfect - the staff prepared aloe vera for my husband when he got sunburnt which was great and I do feel if it was not for the food we would have given the place 4 or 5 stars. However food is an important factor of the holiday and unfortunately that is the main thing that we remember from this hotel. Therefore I do recommend that if you are vegetarian and especially if you do not eat eggs, think before coming here as there is not much flexibility and no other restaurants around to eat at in close proximity.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a disappointment to hear that your stay was not flawless with regards to the food. However, it is valuable comments such as yours which help us to strive forward in giving our guests, the best possible service in all areas wherever possible. I am, however, delighted to hear the team met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we wish you a beautiful day!

Our Best,
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the spa village as part of our honeymoon and from the moment we arrived it was amazing. We arrived late and they prepared some food or us just in case we were hungry. We stayed in the villa with a private pool and it was beautiful, a great size and so lovely to have our own pool. We had spa treatments every day, they had made a suggested schedule but we could change the treatments to suit us which we did. The food was simple, healthy and three courses were offered at each meal. It was a great introduction to Indonesian food. We didn't leave the resort as we only stayed for a short time but I don't think there is a lot to do in Temok. There are a number of free activities like daily yoga at sunset, a quick cooking lesson and other activities which they charge for. We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcano which was beautiful and well worth seeing. Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to our next hotel which was delicious and very kind!

Overall I'd recommend the spa village, it is a long drive from the airport but worth it once you arrive. The spa treatments were very good and always on time and never rushed. Service was perfect, very friendly but not overbaring.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to share your comments with the team here and a pleasure to have you here.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Wishing you a fabulous day!
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very attentive staff especially pool boys with plenty of ice cold glasses of water and fruit in the afternoon. Fab massages. Menu changed everyday but sometimes ordinary. Our suite was perfect. Plenty of local custom classes to learn about Bali's culture

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites, upstairs with huge bathroom, living area bedroom and double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Wishing you a beautiful day!
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
25.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 144 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
27.6 mi away
Damai
Damai
#1 of 19 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
28.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 144 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
1.6 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
46.5 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.