We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Save Saved
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the spa village as part of our honeymoon and from the moment we arrived it was amazing. We arrived late and they prepared some food or us just in case we were hungry. We stayed in the villa with a private pool and it was beautiful, a great size and so lovely to have our own pool. We had spa treatments every day, they had made a suggested schedule but we could change the treatments to suit us which we did. The food was simple, healthy and three courses were offered at each meal. It was a great introduction to Indonesian food. We didn't leave the resort as we only stayed for a short time but I don't think there is a lot to do in Temok. There are a number of free activities like daily yoga at sunset, a quick cooking lesson and other activities which they charge for. We drove back to Ubud across the mountains and past the volcano which was beautiful and well worth seeing. Hotel gave us a packed lunch for the journey to our next hotel which was delicious and very kind!

Overall I'd recommend the spa village, it is a long drive from the airport but worth it once you arrive. The spa treatments were very good and always on time and never rushed. Service was perfect, very friendly but not overbaring.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to share your comments with the team here and a pleasure to have you here.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Wishing you a fabulous day!
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
200
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very attentive staff especially pool boys with plenty of ice cold glasses of water and fruit in the afternoon. Fab massages. Menu changed everyday but sometimes ordinary. Our suite was perfect. Plenty of local custom classes to learn about Bali's culture

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites, upstairs with huge bathroom, living area bedroom and double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Wishing you a beautiful day!
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly, attentive staff - from the guest liaison, to the restaurant, to the spa. Lovely room with dark woods, sumptuous cushions, ceiling fan, aircon, good sized bathroom with bath and shower, balcony. Lots of lovely little touches - e.g. they provided sandwiches and fruit salad in our room on our very late arrival because the restaurant had finished serving by then and welcomed us with cocktails, massages, and a petal-strewn bath. The beach was really nice - clean and virtually deserted. The spa treatments were wonderful - a huge range (massages, wraps, facials, pedicures etc) all preceded by frozen fruit kebabs and ylang-ylang water and followed by shots of the herbal tonic Jamu. The food was good - there was plenty of it (cooked breakfasts with bread and pastries too, and lunch and dinner both offering three courses) - some dishes were tastier and more interesting than others and it was all quite Westernised. One evening they did a BBQ on the lawn and had a traditional Balinese Kecak dance. There were also loads of free activities on offer - about 6 a day - and we did the cooking class, yoga, and making body scrub... all lots of fun. The swimming pool was big, cool and clean, and there were plenty of loungers/huts to sunbathe or relax in the shade. The fact that they have an adults only policy was also fantastic. We loved it here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you both here and may your lives be full of happiness and love!

Our Best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

From the moment we entered the hotel until the moment we left we were in heaven! True, it is a 5-star resort and you expect a lot, but the perfection we experienced here was incredible. We enjoyed the foot- and neck massage we got as we waited in the lobby, we looked forward to every meal and we loved the relaxed atmosphere and excellent - and I do mean: excellent - service. The bathroom in our room could do with a little touching up, but other then that, it was very comfortable, most of all the balcony on which we had a after dinner drink each night. The staff was not only very friendly but professional. Example: at our first meal I requested that my knif was changed for a spoon. In the three days I stayed here, I never had to ask again; it was done automatically. When we requested that we wanted our food 'asli Indonesia' (real Indonesian), we were served the food much more spicy then the average tourist (which we craved for by the time we got here). The food itself was excellent: western food for those who wished it and delicious Indonesian for the more daring. In fact, when we commented on one specific dish, the recipe was promised to us. We didn't get it upon checkout, but a few weeks later we received the recipe by mail! The hotel 'welcomes guests 16 years and older'. For families with young children this may sound a bit rude, but to be honest, we were very happy about it: the guests were mostly couples who spend their days relaxing by the pool, reading, walking along the beautiful beach, enjoying spa treatments, etc. It was quiet. The perfect way to completely relax. GO HERE!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All your feedback is important to us and helps to become better and better. An absolute pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back.

Much love and smiles,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the first minute of your transfer to the resort until you leave the staff could not do more to make you feel welcome, special with nothing being too much trouble.
The atmosphere which the manager Sharron has created in the Spa Village Resort is exceptional. This Spa Resort is a haven of “peace and tranquillity”.
We arrived at the Spa Village Resort, July 2012, after a long and stressful journey from Cambodia to be greeted with a refreshing drink and a fabulous foot, head and neck massage before being shown to our stunning accommodation set in beautiful grounds.
Everything is so relaxed and casual allowing you “chill” and unwind in a real pleasant and friendly atmosphere.
This friendly atmosphere is also created in the restaurant, pool and spa. The food is of a high standard with a good choice on every menu. Similarly the Spa offers a wide range of treatments and pampering both for men and woman alike.
The level of service in every area was superb.
We booked for four nights, stayed for six but wished we could have stayed longer. This was the most relaxing place that we have ever stayed. Can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: The private villas with there own pool and sea view are really stunning and worth the upgrade if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a fabulous review! It was a pleasure to have you both here and we hope we can meet you again in the future!

Wishing you a beautiful day,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Spa Village Tembok as part of our honeymoon in Bali. We have stayed in some excellent five star hotels but this really is the finest place we have ever been and totally over delivered at every turn.

I won't go into all the small details that make this experience so overwhelmingly memorable and special - it's more fun if they are a surprise - suffice it to say that these guys run a highly slick but caring, luxurious and thoughtful operation.

The trip from the airport is long but worth every sweaty mile when you arrive and the first spa treatment of the trip is that much sweeter for it. Whatever state you arrive in, you will be well looked after, fed and truly spoiled. After travelling 20 hours (16 flight from UK, 4 in the taxi after they took the wrong route) we thought we would be recovering for days but after just a short while a spa village we were reenergised and relaxed.

We only booked for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip but we could have stayed all 17. Don't be put off by the fairly basic website - this is true luxury and you can involve yourself as much or as little in the spiritual and self improvement side of things as you wish, there is no compulsory anything.

Also, the food is a delightful surprise and is superb. If you think you'd be bored eating at the same place every night you won't be. The chef keeps a vibrant menu coming three times a day and mixes it up with different dining experiences. The local wines aren't bad either - we loved the two islands Chardonnay and Shiraz.

We went full board so didn't worry about a thing other than the (very well priced for such a hotel) extras like fresh blended juices and cocktails.

We will remember our stay at spa village tembok for the rest of our lives. Thank you to the crew there who made our trip unforgettable. We are still on honeymoon, but still missing it terribly.

Room Tip: Samudra Villa. Go the extra mile for total privacy and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we appreciate your support for us too. We wish you a beautiful life together and hope to see you soon!

With Love,
Wati-Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spend a wonderful time in the Tembok Spa Village during August/September. The staff is ever so friendly and helpful, the premaces are kept very clean and beautifully decorated. The garden is a pleasure, the massages very well done. All in all - fantastic quality in all respects.
Thank you to all of you and do keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - your comments are so appreciated! Hope to see you both again in the future.

Our very best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;