We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Save Saved
You added Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Magical tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Having holidayed frequently at the other hotels in the YTL chain - the famed Pangkor Laut and the Cameron Highland Resort, my husband and I decided to visit the Spa Village Resort, Tembok Bali tucked away on the tip of the northeastern coast of Bali, regardless of the long journey by road. We bought a 4D3N full board Malaysian package. With a re-timing of our flight schedule , to our disappointment, we would reach our destination only at 9p.m. But that did not dismay us because our destination was a Spa Village!


To our surprise, we were greeted with "I'm Sharron" . The resort manager did indeed surprise us with her presence at this late hour. Even during our 3-hour road journey, the resort was in constant contact with us to know our whereabouts . That was real concern. If you are concerned about the long road ride, please don't because the moment you reach the long line of tall bamboos on either side of the road and drive in, all your anxieties are suddenly over. Within minutes, we had the experience of a good massage and foot washing ritual as we comfortably sat in the lobby. Thus began our journey of discovery and an abundance of pamperings by the Spa Village Tembok Bali Resort. The management and the team had already made an immediate impact on us. This was certainly different from other resorts and we knew we were in the right place. We were here just to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet to be one with Mother Nature!

Those visitors who want to be kept busy if they want to, have plenty to beguile their time. The extraordinary star light gazing as you lie on a man-made float and the star gazing massage on the beach were two out of the world experiences which were on our itinerary, to our surprise. The morning started with the yoga swing for those who were into yoga; then was the “boreh” making (the Balinese Traditional Body Scrub) class," lontar" drawing, wood carving, "segara giri" experience, weaving class, the sunset cruise , to name a few. While others did the yoga, I practised my Nordic Walking on the black volcanic sand with the waves giving me the rhythm to walk faster and faster. As for me, all I wanted to do was gaze at the stars and listen to the sound of the waves breaking incessantly against the shore while enjoying the spectacular scene before my eyes that God had blessed this resort with. I had come here to relax - the tranquillity enveloped me instantly and I sat there looking at the motion of the waves for a long time.

Nowhere had I seen and felt deep within me such a serene ambience. Even as I had all the meals in its only restaurant, the Wantilan Restaurant , the different fish preparations concocted by Made Siharta and his ever-smiling team amazed me. We had fresh fish from the ocean for almost every meal – because that was what I liked. I particularly enjoyed the morning fresh home-made juices especially the concoction of mango, orange and strawberry. Also try out the avocado blended with coco and honey! You could ask for coconut juice if you take a fancy to coconuts like we did.

The personal notes in the Kamar Room , my spacious bedroom, were special. I liked this one,"Dear Bapak and Ibu Singh - With each sunrise, comes hope for a new beginning. " Thanks to room attendants Suryana, Sujanta and Budaya.

To put it in a nutshell, the different spas were rejuvenating and relaxing. I tried the Balinese and the traditional Malay massages. You have a whole variety to choose from. I suggest you try the Balinese massage!

I recommend the Massage under the Stars which is 50 mins at the ocean's edge under the heavenly stars and the growing darkness of the night. Candles lit a sandy path leading all the way to the two beds on the black sand to give us a celestial experience of stargazing, relaxation enveloping us with every breaking wave. It was heavenly! Specially prepared herbal oils were used to release tension from the head, neck, shoulders, feet and hands while balancing male and female energy. The gentle feel of the cool breeze, the soft sweet fragrant smell of the colourful flowers, the dazzling view of the stars in the heavens, and the loud sound of the sea crystallized to create a powerful deeply relaxing natural journey .

We both enjoyed our stay very much doing almost nothing because that's what we were here for. As the theme of the resort spelt it, tranquillity was the philosophy here and we had plenty of it. I have many to thank for – the team that worked with a smile to make our stay a perfect holiday - beginning with the Head : Sharron, Adrian, Gede, Made Siharta, Rimbawan, Wayan, Kori, Yuyun, Fauzi, Yani, and our spa experts Sari, Surat Mini and Andre.

Yes, we both felt inner peace and were most relaxed as we heard the sound of the huge gong resonating with our one final look at a magical resort. Yes, like the clichéd statement by many in the reviews , I too say ,”I will certainly come back – this time it will be a longer holiday!”

Room Tip: of course the 2 suites and the 2 villas are the best but if you are on a budget even the Kamar Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a response.

We are delighted to hear you experienced the magic and essence of Spa Village Tembok Bali! Beautifully written and as always with all our feedback we receive - a joy it was to share with the team here. A pleasure to have you here and heartfelt thanks to you both.

We look forward to welcoming you back - see you soon!
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    36
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
192
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

1 of the best resort i've stayed so far....though is abit far...but is worth the time travelling...workers are professional..they know you by name and serve you well... will definately be back....thkyou so much.

Room Tip: Choose Kamar Room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and THANK YOU for choosing to stay with us. We are a hidden gem, even the Balinese have trouble finding us! It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you home to Spa Village, Tembok Bali!

Warm Wishes,
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for the first five days of our honeymoon and it was just perfect in every single way. Every aspect of our stay was magnificent from the staff to the villa we stayed in to the food and the swimming pool. We can't wait to go back! Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Congratulations to you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you choosing to stay with us. It is always lovely to hear comments and feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Spa Village Resort, Tembok Bali for your ani-moon!

Best Wishes,
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed for four nights at Spa Village to finish off our honeymoon. The resort is very well maintained, and is really pretty, with a lovely pool area overlooking the sea. Our room was big, and very nicely decorated. There's no TV but we were expecting that. The bathroom wasn't anything special - it was a little old-fashioned and only had a shower over the bath. There was very good coffee in the room and some herbal tea - the hotel wouldn't provide english breakfast in the room when we asked but it is available in the restaurant.

The spa treatments, which we had included, were the best we had in Bali. We had two different massages, a wrap and a facial, all of which were very professionally done. I also had a manicure which was good too. The other activities at the resort were quite entertaining - I made a Balinese offering and we did leaf carving and star gazing. We also used the gym. However, I was very disappointed to find that the two cookery classes that took place while we were there were both fully booked before we even arrived. If you're staying for a short time it might be worth emailing them to get booked on a cookery class in advance if it's something you're particularly interested in. We did two paid activities - a ride on a local boat at sunset and a cycle ride up to a waterfall, both of which I would recommend (although the bike ride was surprisingly hard work!). On our last night they also had a really great Balinese performance and a BBQ.

Food was very good generally. The delicious raw tuna salads were the highlight. Beer and cocktails were reasonably priced for a nice hotel, but wine was very very expensive. Wine was expensive everywhere in Bali, but at Spa Village it was considerably more than at the two other Balinese hotels we'd stayed in (roughly £50 for European wine in Seminyak for example, whereas it was about £85 for a bottle of Lindemans/Jacobs Creek at Spa Village once you added the tax and service charge). There is only Balinese wine available by the glass.

In the evening there's no bar or lit seating area other than the reception area and the restaurant. Most evenings we had finished dinner by 9pm and then there was nothing to do but go to your room. We certainly weren't after a party, but being able to have a drink in a bar after dinner would have been nice. For that reason, while we had a lovely relaxing four days, I wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer than we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your comments and feedback will help us to further improve our services for our future guests and continue to work on Crafting Experiences for guests such as yourselves. We appreciate your support and I'm delighted you had a relaxing time with us at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali.

Warm Wishes to you,
Wati Sharron Hopley (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was in the Purnama Suite which was about twice the size of the standard room with twice the balcony space. The balcony has a two-person sofa, dining table and two chairs and a side table. The rooms were well designed with excellent lighting and air conditioning. The bathroom is huge and extremely well appointed. The complimentary water is hidden in the mini-bar and easy to miss. I did not discover the water until day 2.

The arrival ritual consists of a welcome drink, foot-bath and back massage! Spa prices are on par with those in the U.S.: for example, a 50 min. Balinese massage is 550,000rupiah - about $65. There is an good spa menu of wraps, massages and manicures.

The restaurant is excellent, but portions are small (probably what we should be eating anyway) so you might want to bring snacks or get to know your mini-bar. They offer complimentary afternoon fruit snacks and mineral water by the pool.

This is a destination spa. It is about 3 1/2 hours from Denpasar Airport and 2 hours from Ubud. It is fairly isolated and there is nothing else within walking distance. Exercise and enrichment classes are offered throughout the day and the hotel can arrange day trips to temples and sites.

When it is time to leave, you are dispatched with a gong and available reception staff gives you a little gift and a wai (bow). I loved it!

Yes the food was expensive (for Bali); the spa treatments cost more; but all services are polished and professional.

Several people I spoke with were on “packages” that included meals and spa treatments. This might be more cost effective.

I would stay here again..... and again!

Room Tip: Investigate a package that includes meals and spa treatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Resident Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, very much appreciated!

We are so pleased you experienced Spa Village Tembok, Bali and it was a joy to have you here with us. We hope to see you again some day soon.

Wishing you a beautiful day!

Our Best,
Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We recently stayed at the Spa Village Tembok for 7 nights which provided the perfect place to rest and be utterly spoilt after a busy week of sight seeing in Ubud.

The Spa Village is so peaceful, from the moment you are greeted with a welcome drink and foot massage you feel utterly relaxed. The rooms are in small blocks with a large bedroom and living area and a fairly compact but beautifully fitted bathroom. The room, and whole resort, was spotless and the little notes left morning and night were a lovely touch. We stayed full board, which we would recommend as the food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious. The daily spa treatments (included in full board package) were a real treat. The pool area was beautiful and staff constantly bring cold towels, water and snacks throughout the day. The beach is black sand but the sea is warm and a little wavy which we loved; we spent most of our time in the sea. The snorkeling from the hotel was nothing special but we didn't care, if you wanted to snorkel you could get a trip to the popular sites...we however just couldn't quite work up the motivation to move from our sunbed! The hotel offers activities all day everyday, most of which are based around typical Balinese things i.e. wood carving, weaving, candle making etc. It was good to have this as an option and everyday we planned to go to one of the hour long sessions but again moving from the comfort of the sun bed after our week in Ubud just proved too difficult!
By far the best thing about the Spa Village is the wonderful staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone seems genuinely happy to be working at the hotel.
Going to the Spa Village after Ubud was perfect for us as we were exhausted and really wanted to do nothing but relax. They do offer trips from the spa vllage but it is quite far from most of the main Bali attractions so we wouldn't recommend it as a base to do trips or see Bali, it really is just the ideal destination to be completely spoilt and lazy. It was the perfect end to our honeymoon, absolutely beautiful and it was really nice to head up to the North that is completely unspoilt by any tourism and on the drive you really see the real Bali. We would not hesitate to recommend The Spa Village but would definitely suggest it is used as the relaxation part of a holiday after spending some time in the South of the Island.
Thank you to everyone at the beautiful Spa Village.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharron_hopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Even though we are in a quiet area of Bali, you can experience nature at its best, all the elements, the warm ocean, the back drop of mountains, the cool air in the evenings and the glorious sun during the day.

We are so happy you chose Spa Village Tembok for your honeymoon and we all wish you more beautiful adventures in your life together!

Our Best,
Wati Sharron and Team Tembok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

overall service was brilliant,
nice rooms, nice swimming pool, but hotel is to isolated, you need a car and even then ....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula
Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali to experience some of the delightful discoveries of Balinese life. To guide you towards the positive effects of an ancient lifestyle and to help you restore or re-discover your sense of "self" we provide four paths; Balance, Creativity, Vigor and the Spa Village Academy. Immersed in Balinese culture, each path is designed to offer you an authentic Balinese experience. We invite you to join us on a journey into these rich and colorful traditions. Here you will learn how to apply some of the aspects of the local culture into your own life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.