We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three wonderful visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cili Emas Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula, Bali 81173, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Three wonderful visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We knew when we booked our return to Bali that Cili Emas must be central to our itinerary. The past two visits had been superb, and for this one we were hoping to have the help of the owners and their wonderful staff to observe the ceremonies centered around Galungan, the sacred Balinese-Hindu celebration that occurs every 210 days. Of course we looked forward to good food and stimulating company, as well as many hours to read and doze by the pool -- and great massage -- but seeing more deeply into Balinese life has been a life enhancing experience.

By coincidence, the morning following our arrival a priest came to conduct a simple ceremony in the small resort temple, where we were able to join Nichole and Jochen, the owners, and a few of their staff in an intimate blessing ritual. The next day, Nyoman, the manager, translator and all around fixer, went to some trouble to find out when and where we could see the full moon ceremony -- this year an especially important one, the day before Galungan. Appropriately clad in sarongs we traveled a few miles to a dramatic temple on the sea and spent 4 fascinating hours watching -- and filming -- a lively festival with balloons, food stalls and games of chance, side by side with a moving religious ceremony and gamelan orchestra. And on our final morning we walked into town to climb the hillside temple which had been empty when we last visited, and now on Galungan teemed with ceremonial life.

After each of these adventures we returned to the serenity and beauty of Cili Emas, to delicious meals served at the long communal table, and to the little room with ocean breezes that we loved. Many thanks to Nicole, Jochen, Nyoman and everyone there who once again made these days so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    20
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
114
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have visited Tejakula, north of Bali for a couple of days and had the great pleasure of staying in Cili Emas. I have not much to say - amazing place, great service and fantastic food. The owners are the nicest people who created this beautiful hideaway. They have paid a lot of attention to details, so Cili Emas is full of balinese art. The pool area is fabulous and has this unique secret-garden atmospere. Every corner of Cili Emas feels special. I hope to go back. I felt as Bali was my home. Everything was easy at this place and time passed by soooo slowlyyyy:)

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed three nights in a double room located by itself. The accomodations of the room were very nice and AC is provided for good night sleeping. Pool, yoga room and spa are well dectorated and very nice.This resort is oceanside on a volcanic rocky beach with a smooth sea. The water is not for swimming, because of the trash floating near the shore and the water is not clear like South Bali. The owners are trying to educate the community to get better with this. There is no TV for movie watching, but can do via internet or on your computer. The main dinner meal is the same for everyone and all the hotel guest/owners eat the same meal offering together at a long table. This is good for conversation with a diverse group of people. The staff is very nice and accomodating. This resort is very quite and off the beaten path. You will need to bring a book or magazines of your liking as most offered are not in English. Also bring shower gel, shampoo, hair dryer and other bath needs as these are not provided like other hotels. You will also need an electrial adapter from U.S. 3-prong to Asian plugs. I forgot mine, but the resort had one for me to borrow during our stay. There are day trip offerings available or you can design outings of your own. Overall if you are looking for a very nice, quite, beach front resort that has a great deal of local Bali atmosphere then Cili Emas is worth looking at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Superb, clean, friendly owners. Absolutely fantastic home cooked food, brilliant service and free water! Lovely quiet pool area, we were also able to get out on a fishing boat to see the dolphins. Lovely locals who just want to practice their language skills rather than sell you things! Lots of smiley faces. Only slight downside and in no way a reflection of the hotel management is the amount of rubbish in the sea, lack of local education and funds for rubbish disposal. I know the owners are working hard with the local government to try to educate and clean up! Cili emas, carry on the great work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

All of the positive reviews are still not enough to describe this little slice of serenity. Ignore any negative comments regarding the owners. They work behind the scenes to make your stay amazing. They pay attention to details- which really make all the difference. You never have to search for water, you always have a fresh jug at your fingertips. You can make this a raw food, yoga retreat or just an R&R pool holiday. It is all up to you. The facilities are there- at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to make here our longest stop in Bali and stayed for 5 nights and we felt sorry we did not have more time. As far a we are concerned, if you come to the north coast of Bali where tourisim is very rare, staying a Cili Emas is a perfect joice.
The question to ask is, if you want to experience a different Bali with no bars and fancy restaurants, no pushy taxi drivers and shop owners, tourists that have no respect for the culture of Indonesia and and and. Here in Tejacula we met the friendliest people on our trip, went out with the fisherman (and also saw the dolphines), drove around with scooter to see some local sights, took daytrips with a taxi and relaxed in the park of the hotel. But be aware, local also means that the beach has the usual trash you find unfortunately almost everywhere. But in return, the little town is kept very clean and we enjoyed walking the norrow backstreets.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After 10 days in UBUD we went at Cili Emas, on the North cost of Bali, in the small town of Tejakula. We had a single bungalow, perfect for a couple, with a very confortable bed. Cili Emas is a small and wonderful resort, with a very attentive staff. The owners Nicole and Jurgen and their team are always there to help and make your journey memorable, and Terry will for sure put a smile on your face. The food was excellent and fresh, the chef is very creative, with a unique touch for blending international and Balinese flavors. Dinner time, wich is communal, is a good way to meet the other guests and make new friends. We rent a scooter directly at the resort and visit Tejakula and the surroundings. The waterfall is a must see. You can also spend your days relaxing at the resort, looking at the fishermen on the beach, having a good massage and laying around the wonderful pool. We enjoy very much our stay, almost didn't want to leave this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
42.5 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
41.3 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
25.4 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Damai Villas
The Damai Villas
#1 of 19 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
41.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites
Bali Ginger Suites
#37 of 121 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
27.5 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#18 of 149 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula, Bali 81173, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cili Emas Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Bali/Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cili Emas Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.