We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it loved it loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tejakula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Save Saved
You added Cili Emas Oceanside Resort to your Saves list
Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula, Bali 81173, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it loved it loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I discovered this property on tripadvisor as did all the other guests at Cili Emas. We stayed 3 nights and just loved our time at this amazing property. Right on black soil beach - stunning scenery, great food, competant staff, beautiful pool, massage, cooking classes, yoga. Not a tourist area at all. I really enjoyed just getting there - so scenic and interesting. I liked eating with the other guests who became our friends. Worth an early morning walk to the local markets - the villagers are not used to seeing tourists wandering around so I felt like a bit of a novelty but I enjoyed the experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: in the afternoon all the locals, children have a swim at the beach - join in! the children loved int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
96
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you come here knowing what to expect you will absolutely love it. Otherwise you risk disappointment. We stumbled into Cili Emas on the Internet and came knowing not what to expect other than having found the positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. After having spent over two weeks on a luxurious live aboard dive boat we were a little concerned by what we saw when we arrived at the end of a 3 hour long drive from Denpasar. There was rubbish everywhere (except within the boundaries of the resort). There was rubbish on the beach. Rubbish on the streets and alleys. However, there is no rubbish at all in the character of the people who live here and that made a huge impact on the pleasurable nature of our visit here. Tejakula itself is definitely NOT a tourist destination and as such it is not manicured in any way. Rather it is a fishing village full of people that are understandably more concerned with living their daily lives than catering to tourists (which was good with us). It seemed that most Balinese had never heard of the place whenever we mentioned the name of the town where we were spending the last few nights of our honeymoon. I don't know that I have ever seen smiles as big anywhere else in my travels as those in Tejakula. Whatever this place lacks in luxury is made up for in attitude. Of course, the people of Bali in general have an amazing aura of happiness about them. There is a sense that they do not suffer from having too many expectations or a sense of entitlement that is so prevalent elsewhere in the world.

The resort itself is very nice though I would definitely characterize it as an "eco-resort" rather than a luxurious destination. When we booked the room we did so knowing there was no AC. We feared we may be hot trying to sleep and we were. Nightly, there were a number of ants in our toilet for whatever reason but that kind of thing does not bother us so we never even mentioned it to the staff. Had we done so I feel sure they would have bent over backwards to take care it. There was a gecko that joined us for dinner every night when dessert was served. He would sit there licking the small piece of watermelon we set for him while we were amused. We walked to a waterfall that is 50 meters in height a 15 minute motorbike ride from the resort. Fantastic! Take a 10 minute walk west on the beach westward and you will find sea salt makers toiling away. We bought a kilo for 20k rupiah and enjoyed the antics of the friendly gentleman trying to explain the process though we do not understand it now any better than by our own speculation. Nyoman (the manager of Cili Emas) was very attentive to everything. The food was amazing. Very artfully presented. I loved the way each meal was described in detail before we ate it. The spa was excellent and oh so affordable. 2 hours of Thai massage for less than 30 dollars. 1 hour of traditional Balinese massage for about $15. My wife had an hour long facial for about $15. The food was absolutely out of this world!! Each meal was a masterpiece from beginning to end. Dinners are served at one big long table so there is great opportunity to make new friends though there was never more than 6-8 of us staying at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

At the end of a 3-weeks trip through Sumatra, Java and Bali we spent 5 most relaxing days in this beautiful small resort. It is nicely located, direcly by the sea, very quiet, in a village which is not yet spoiled by tourism. The bungalows, the pool area and the open dining hall are very well designed and spacious. Everything is kept very clean. The food is excellent; everyday creatively prepared with fresh local materials (in particular the fish from the fishermen "next door"). The owners Nicole and Jochen are most kind and helpful, and all staff is very friendly. Also, one can feel the spirit to make a difference, in particular with the emphasis on a "green", sustainable way to develop the resort. Overall, a place which can be highly recommended to relax and to enjoy the closer and also the more distant attractions of northern Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel just two weeks upfront. As there was no double room available anymore we got an offer to have a big family bungalow for the same price as the smaller one. We really appreciated. Email communication was very quick, never more than one day to get a reply.

Our stay in Cili Emas then was wonderful. After spending three days in Ubud in the south of Bali where we were confronted with aggressive merchants everywhere, Tejakula was a real relief. It’s a small village on the north coast with few tourism services. This also means that you can get a lot closer to normal Balinese life than in the south. When we were there, e.g. there was a burial ceremony happening which you could observe closely just by walking to the village.

We really liked the peace and quiet of Cili Emas. There are several kinds of little houses instead of just hotel rooms. Some of the houses also have outdoor bathrooms (of course you cannot see inside from the outside!). In front of most houses is a private open-air bed to lie down and relax. All the facilities were well-maintained. Everywhere around the place are bottles with fresh, free drinking water. As drinking tap water is a health hazard in Bali, having free water is a really nice way to quench the thirst during the day. Of course you can also get all sorts of drinks and coffee specialities during the day from the bar (but this will cost extra). To see Bali you should use the services of a private driver who can take you to wherever you want to go. You can either arrange for this yourself or let the hotel make the arrangements.

For breakfast, dinner and lunch the freshly prepared meals are eaten together on a long table in the central part of the hotel. You have a view of the sea there. It’s also a very nice way to get to know the other guests. We used our chance to join a tour with a friendly couple the next day which also split the costs for the tour. Would we have done that in a regular hotel? I doubt it. Another nice thing was that upon arrival we were asked whether we had any food allergies or things we would not like to eat. Indeed I had some, and whenever a part of the meal was not ok for me, there was automatically a replacement served. I have never experienced such careful attention to this in any other hotel. Our compliments also to the friendly assistant manager Nyoman who not only speaks good English but also helped us resolve any issues quickly.

One of the highlights for us was the nice secluded swimming pool. We used it every day and enjoyed it a lot. It was clean and well-maintained. Every deck chair around the pool offered a big towel if you forgot to bring one. You could also go there at night which gave us a memorable swim under the stars. If the sea is not too rough it’s also possible to swim in the sea, but due to the stony beach it can be a bit challenging to get in.

On our second day we also met the owners, Nicole and Jochen. We enjoyed a lot of nice conversations with them and they would also join in during dinner when they had the time. They cared a lot about our honest feedback regarding the place and offered to help swiftly with every problem we might encounter. You can also get helpful recommendations what to do and what better not to do during your stay.

Reading the not-so-good reviews on TripAdvisor surprised me a bit. How can you go to an explicitly non-touristy place like Tejakula and then complain that the place is too isolated? I would say just book a hotel in Lovina, which is also on the north coast but much more „developed“ for tourists. The food at Cili Emas is definitively not cheap by Balinese standards (more comparable to a good restaurant there) but the quality is very good, you get a set meal for dinner - soup, main course and desert - and everything is prepared fresh. If you want something else you can just go to the village and buy some food from there. No one forces anything on you in Cili Emas! Just say no if you don’t want something.

I guess what some people miss is that this resort is not your average tourist spot, but it’s there to help people relax from a busy life. It has a concept. If you consider spending time in Cili Emas have a look at their website ciliemas.com first and find out whether it fits for you. For us it was a very unique, satisfying experience even though we only stayed for about three days and did not use the wellness offers.

We hope we can return to Bali some time the next years and come again. If we had had more days, we would have extended our vacation just to have more time at Cili Emas. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the excellent Cili Emas with my whole family and spent a lovely 4 days enjoying the calm and quiet atmosphere. The owners were very welcoming and the rooms were cool and clean. We could hear the gentle wash of the waves as the property is absolubtly beachfront.
Mornings were magical but our favourite aspect was the delicious food, prepared fresh every day by the excellent Nyoman using local organic ingredients and locally caught fresh seafood. Yum!
We enjoyed various outings to beautiful waterfalls, great snorkelling and mountain bike riding so for those who are looking to explore 'the other side of Bali' this place is fantastic and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clearly not where you want to be for a very active vacation, though we managed to get around, even with long hour drives.
But to rest... ideal.
The staff and the guests were very friendly, and we were able to have dinner all together, which is nice.
The fact that the sound of the ocean was so loud from the rooms was a huge plus, and we missed it the second we left.
Really great food, but again, not a place for everyone's type of vacation.
Their drivers were really good, and we even saw dolphins!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

In general we had a excellent stay at Cilik Emas (one full week). We stayed in a comfortable family bungalow with three seperate rooms, an open air living room and a walled garden. Breakfast is great in a airy resto-bale. Staff is very friendly and the massage parlour is an asset (altough it's run by a company outside the hotel).

On the other side the hotel caters mainly to german guests - and you can realy feel that (the german owners greet their german clients with more panache then other nationalities. They ignored us for two days - we tought they were other guests :-)

The hotel is a small paradise - but once outside you'll enjoy genuine village life. A very good experience but the beach and nearby rivers are very dirty (lots of plastic, garbage,...).
Their website promotes snorkeling and that was one of the main reason to stay there - but the sea is full of debris and visibility was nihil. Small talk with local fishermen learned me that is was like this for months - and we were in the middle of the good/dry season.

Boottrips are indeed overpriced (the same thing for the other excursions) - it's better to arrange trips by a private driver. We enjoyed the services of a driver from Amed (altough he had to drive one hour to our hotel, he was still cheaper then the hotel's offer).

And the end we had to check our bill carefully. Some things are overcharged (30.000 for a coconut!) or charged without prior notice (milk,...).

Tejakula, the village is still very Balinese and realy enjoyable to visit. Especially the tempel above the village. Take the steps behind the 'horse baths'.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cili Emas Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cili Emas Oceanside Resort

Address: Jalan Segara, Pantai Tejakula, Desa Tejakula, Singaraja | Bali, Tejakula, Bali 81173, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tejakula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bali, the Island of the gods. Spend your holiday in our Resort which is in the middle of a tropical paradise on the untouched North Bali coast. Enjoy your individual dream vacation for your body, mind and well-being in Cili Emas Oceanside Resort. In our Resort you can spend your holiday, enjoy massage and wellness treatments, experience relaxation and regeneration, book a seminar or offer a seminar yourself. The Cili Emas Oceanside Resort is located in a small fishermen´s village on the authentic North coast of Bali, directly on the beach of the Indian Ocean, in the middle of endless coconut groves, surrounded by green chains of mountains and lush vegetation.Almost all of our bungalows, with ocean view and a small private patio, offer you privacy in the middle of an exotic garden. Our nice swimming pool, Spa-Area, sea, as well as our restaurant and pavillion offer you varied surroundings and wellness opportunities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort Bali/Tejakula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cili Emas Oceanside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.