We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Family Fun Day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters

Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters
686 Marsh Rd, Bobs Farm, New South Wales 2316, Australia (Formerly Australian Shark & Ray Centre)
(02) 4982 2476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bobs Farm
Attraction details
Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Family Fun Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family recently went to the Australian Shark and Ray Centre at Bobs Farm and we had an amazing experience. The kids had a ball touching and feeding all the sharks and rays and it is an experience they will carry with them for the rest of their lives. Am very happy to recommend them as a family fun activity and will definately be visiting again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    15
    16
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Entry into the centre is expensive and if you want to get into the tanks they charge you extra, not sure why as you have already paid to get in. We had to wait for a kids wetsuit even though there were only about 10 kids in the centre.
The centre was ok but nothing great, I would have to think twice about going again because of the cost.
Better attractions around Port Stephens to spend your money on.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod L, Manager at Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi carkel22

Thanks for your comments. Sorry for the late reply.

We understand that it may seem expensive but I would like to explain why we charge what we do. Running an aquarium is an enormously expensive proposition.

Firstly, it takes nearly 15 people a day just to pay for the fish food (most of which os human quality, though it doesnt appear like it when you get it). Another 20 for the electricity. And because we are not a sydney aquarium we have to share that load over our clients to survive. Add to this wages, interest, maintenance.....We have one fish that cost us $20,000 alone.

However you still get a GUARANTEED shark and ray feeding experience, with some of our fish 300kg and 3m long. You would have stood in a veritable shark feeding frenzy, patted beautiful eagle rays etc etc. I still find it hard to believe that this sort of experience is not worth the price of a couple of movie tickets?

So I hope you can see the value, and now we have it so that if you come once, its half price forever. Thanks again for the opportunity to respond.

Rod L
Group Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

A very expensive outing, as other reviews have said. Is ok out of the water but paying the extra and getting into the pools is much better. There are regular interactive in water shows where the sharks swim up next to everyone so they can be patted, something the kids and adults enjoyed. Feeding the 350kg stingray was a highlight, the kids had a great time and really enjoyed the visit. Wet suits and shoes are provided for the kids getting in the water with adults supplied with fishing like over pants and boots.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No-one was there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We drove out to the shark & ray centre during the advertised opening hours, parked, went in, walked around, waited, walked around a bit more, waited, looked for anyone, shouted out - Couldn't find a soul! Unfortunately the rays swimming around in their pool were of no help. After hanging around for about 15 mins we left! There was evidence of people - we just couldn't find where they were. Hopefully they have someone that stays at reception by now.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great for the kids. This was our 2nd visit. Our 7yr old wanted to go back as he got too scared to enjoy it when he was there a year ago. This time we could not get him to leave - he really enjoyed the interaction. Our 12 yr old who had expereinced it 12 months prior was initially enjoying it again but became quickly bored. Worth a visit Once if the kids are old enough .
Staff seemed bored by it all, Toilets were a disgrace. Change rooms were very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.