We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters

Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters
686 Marsh Rd, Bobs Farm, New South Wales 2316, Australia (Formerly Australian Shark & Ray Centre)
(02) 4982 2476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bobs Farm
Attraction details
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

A very expensive outing, as other reviews have said. Is ok out of the water but paying the extra and getting into the pools is much better. There are regular interactive in water shows where the sharks swim up next to everyone so they can be patted, something the kids and adults enjoyed. Feeding the 350kg stingray was a highlight, the kids had a great time and really enjoyed the visit. Wet suits and shoes are provided for the kids getting in the water with adults supplied with fishing like over pants and boots.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    15
    16
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mudgee, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No-one was there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We drove out to the shark & ray centre during the advertised opening hours, parked, went in, walked around, waited, walked around a bit more, waited, looked for anyone, shouted out - Couldn't find a soul! Unfortunately the rays swimming around in their pool were of no help. After hanging around for about 15 mins we left! There was evidence of people - we just couldn't find where they were. Hopefully they have someone that stays at reception by now.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great for the kids. This was our 2nd visit. Our 7yr old wanted to go back as he got too scared to enjoy it when he was there a year ago. This time we could not get him to leave - he really enjoyed the interaction. Our 12 yr old who had expereinced it 12 months prior was initially enjoying it again but became quickly bored. Worth a visit Once if the kids are old enough .
Staff seemed bored by it all, Toilets were a disgrace. Change rooms were very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"ACE"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was a fantacstic experience. My 10 year old boy could not get enough. He hopped in the tanks and feed the sharks and rays from small to very large. Great day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You gotta try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you are interested in getting close with rays and port jackson sharks, it is the best experience. The rays actually come in contact with you and are like puppy dogs. The sharks are small and free swimming. If you want to get closer, then you can scuba in the water but it is an added extra $15. Make sure you bring weights, so you can be held down in the 2 metre pool. They provide an oxygen mask with a long hose and goggles, plus a wetsuit. Get in there early because alot of people go during the day and if it is peak time on holidays, there will be plenty of people around. Totally awesome!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.