We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going out of your way to stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jervaulx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park House
Save
You added Park House to your Saves list
Jervaulx, Jervaulx HG4 4PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Jervaulx B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way to stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This has to be one of the best places to stay in the Wensleydale area. The hosts Ian and Carol do all they can to make a stay perfect. The house, Park House has an excellent range of facilities for the visitor. The room we had was excellent in all respects and we had access to a well equipped lounge area.

We have stayed before and were looking forward to Breakfast -we were not disappointed. All aspects, as before, were outstanding. There is a really wide range available and it really is a place to go to just for the food!

For the evening meal we went to the Coverbridge Inn - recommended by Ian - and again a magical place. Park House also have a taxi business which we tempted to use so that we could enjoy the excellent beer and food without driving - next time we will!

The family also own an excellent cafe for walkers and visitors as well as the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey just across the road. The Abbey has been in the ownership of the family since the 1970s and is well worth a visit. Once a powerful Cistercian Abbey it is now a romantic, picturesque ruin. The buildings are quite well preserved in parts and be easily interpreted with a guide from the house.

If you are visiting Wensleydale then we think this is THE place you should stay. It is ideally placed to visit the whole area and we would go out of way to stay here if driving through Yorkshire and wanted to break our journey.

We used this as a base to visit the Wensleydale Railway where we had a day learning how to drive a DMU locomotive!

Room Tip: Ask Ian about walks from the house, places to go or things to see -he is a real resource. They norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Park House Guest Accomodation is a delightful place to stay. The owners also own the beautiful Jervaulx Abbey set in a tranquil park on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. Ian and Carol provide a very warm welcome. The bedrooms are elegant and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit salad and imaginative cooked menu-all beautifully presented. A very restful and restoring place to stay for a night or of course for much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Ian and Carol are great hosts, did not arrive till late afternoon. Ian showed us around his lovely home. Our room was spotless and large enough for the 2 of us. We arranged to eat at the Coverbridge Inn 2 mile away, we drove there, and after a lovely meal and a few drinks, Ian and carol picked us up later that night for a lift home, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was superb. We then had a lovely walk around Jervaulx abbey just across the road from Park house. Will be telling my family and friends about this great B&B. Hope to return one day for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ian and Carol were wonderful hosts, a delicious free cake and drink at their coffee shop next to the B & B. Spotless clean rooms, and a delightful residents lounge area with lots of reading matter. To be able to just walk across the road to Jervaulx Abbey, which they also own, to us was magic. We have been coming to this area for approx twenty years and visit the Abbey ruins every time, in all weathers. Will certainly be making a return visit to Park House in the future, and would love for Ian to give us a tour himself of the Abbey, which he does do, because his knowledge of the place I'm sure is endless.To say they have only been doing bed and breakfast since 2010 they are real pro's. The breakfast great, we don't usually have fried breakfasts, but sorry diet just for once could not resist the temptation!! The Wyville Arms a ten minute drive away was recommended by Ian for an evening meal,food was cooked fresh, staff pleasant, so we visited there the two evenings of our stay.I can wholeheartedly say, Park House for a break away, comfy beds, lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Our next visit we will ask for a room overlooking the Abbey, but as this was a very last minute book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had friends camping nearby and we decided to book in at Park House. Online it looked really nice. There is no online reservation system but if you call, they are very helpful.
We arrived to be offered free cake and tea which was a lovely touch. We were then shown to our room which was tastefully decorated, modern, clean and had great view over the gardens.
There is a communal area between all the rooms where you can help yourself to fresh milk and cold water, along with home made biscuits.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower was very good.
We had a great nights sleep, probably too good before heading downstairs for breakfast where we were welcomed and enjoyed listening to local history about the abbey and the family estate.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic, freshly cooked for us, we had left the order on the table the night before so all on time and ready for when we arrived.
The owners couldnt make us feel any more welcome.
I usually holiday in hotels and rarely in a B&B but this place has changed my opinion and its the way forward for me.
Well done to the family for making this a great trip.
We will be back again next year, or even this year if we are in the area!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a walking break and were delighted by the welcome and the super accommodation. The coffee and home made cake that we were given at the cafe on arrival were delicious and gave us an opportunity to appreciate the surroundings before going to our room. We were made very welcome and shown where fresh milk for drinks was kept along with home made biscuits to which we could help ourselves. Our room was comfortable and very tastefully furnished. The breakfast was superb with choices worthy of a much bigger hotel. A lovely B and B which deserves all of its 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We like collecting the best B&Bs we can find and we've just added Park House to our growing list. Really welcoming, comfortable, very clean and most of all extremely entertaining! Ian, I suspect, has an unending vault of stories to pick from. Never intrusive but always excellent hospitality. We booked as a very last minute 'get away' and it didn't disappoint. We had a look / tour of all four of their rooms and any one of them would have been perfect - but each with their own identities. The highlights were the breakfasts prepared by Carol, the family run tearoom next door and of course the free run of the wonderful Jervaulx Abbey across the road. We ate at the Blue Lion in East Witton just 2m away - superb but you will need to book at weekends. We also ate at the Coverbridge Inn one night (a little further along the road from East Witton) - a pub for real ale-heads but with excellent pub grub - tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House

Address: Jervaulx, Jervaulx HG4 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Jervaulx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jervaulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Guest accommodation is all you would want from a luxury bed and breakfast. Set at the entrance to the Yorkshire Dales and steeped in history, Jervaulx along with its Abbey was home to the Cistercian Monks for centuries and is now owned by your hosts, you can enjoy what is now the tranquil ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.