We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach House Ripon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Coach House Ripon to your Saves list
The Old Coach House Ripon
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely little B&B last night as I was working away from home and it was really lovely, rooms were nicely decorated and clean, all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious, an absolute pleasure, would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
293
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Can't fault the accommodation, friendly service or the lovely breakfast. Very clean and comfortable room, comfortable bed, modern bathroom, fresh milk for tea, absolutely perfect! they seem to have a very slick and efficient operation here and I really can't think of anything that could make it better. There is a pub across the road for meals although we didn't try it but there are lots of other places nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a friends wedding, this B&B is absolutely beautiful, beds are so comfortable....we all had a great nights sleep, tea/coffee making facilities, ipod docking station, with chocolates, fruit, fresh flowers adding a lovely touch to the room. The shower was hot and powerful. The breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious, nothing was too much trouble. Staff was warm and welcoming.....i am hoping my hubby will book us in again as we was too busy with the wedding to fully appreiciate the b&b and surrounding area....It is a little gem!!

Room Tip: All these rooms are stunning, would recoomend the larger rooms for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in febuary for two nights on a groupon voucher. It is the second time we have stayed here in 6 months and it was just as good. We had a smaller room this time but it was just as good quality. really comfortable bed, brilliant shower, good toiletries and tea and coffee.
The pub across the road had new owners and had undergone a makeover. We went for a meal the first night and the food was superb, really good quality, service excellent.
The breakfast was really nice, cooked to order and made with local produce. We got chatting to lovely lady who cooked breakfast for us, made us feel very relaxed and was friendly.
We cannot recommend this lovely little retreat enough just go and see for yourself, even without a voucher it is good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Guisborough, one of the premiere rooms and it was wonderful. The room was absolutely beautiful, and spotlessly clean. Fresh fruit, robes, chocolates, tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities, Temple Spa toiletries, water and milk in the fridge. Enormous comfortable bed. Excellent service. Breakfasts are wonderful, with plenty of choice and well cooked. Friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure that everything is perfect.
Ate at the Staveley Arms opposite which was ok and had a lovely meal at the Bruce Arms in the next village, West Tanfield. Good base for exploring the Ripon area. Would definitely come again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The plus point: warm welcome, good location, excellent breakfast - pity it didn't start earlier - clean room, fresh milk in the fridge for a cuppa and free Harrogate water, plenty of maps/guides to navigate around the beautiful countryside.
Not so good/areas for improvement: no Internet and patchy signal to send/receive texts, no Sky television, no newspapers at breakfast (although I was kindly provided one belatedly!) and most disappointingly, no bath, just a shower. My room was described as a delux double but I could hardly swing a cat. Stunning building on the outside, sadly modern Novotel decor on the inside. Needs a good designer's touch to furnish with beautiful vintage antiques to do justice to the building.
Few shortcomings did nothing to spoil a wonderful weekend in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our children bought us this break as a 49th wedding anniversary present and they made a wonderful choice! The irony of our experience compared to the garbled complaint by the previous review could not be more marked. From start to end, the customer service was excellent. Food, accomodation and ambience matched that. The room was scrupulously clean and there was everything that we could have wished for was provided. Would heartily recommend this to anyone looking for a luxurious break close to York, Harrogate, Knaresbrough and Ripon.

Room Tip: The Hambleton room, the one we stayed in, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Coach House Ripon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House Ripon

Address: 2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House Ripon 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Yorkshire Silver star luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Coach House Ripon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon North Stainley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach House Ripon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.