We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach House Ripon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Coach House Ripon to your Saves list
The Old Coach House Ripon
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful, peaceful and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a friends wedding, this B&B is absolutely beautiful, beds are so comfortable....we all had a great nights sleep, tea/coffee making facilities, ipod docking station, with chocolates, fruit, fresh flowers adding a lovely touch to the room. The shower was hot and powerful. The breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious, nothing was too much trouble. Staff was warm and welcoming.....i am hoping my hubby will book us in again as we was too busy with the wedding to fully appreiciate the b&b and surrounding area....It is a little gem!!

Room Tip: All these rooms are stunning, would recoomend the larger rooms for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
292
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in febuary for two nights on a groupon voucher. It is the second time we have stayed here in 6 months and it was just as good. We had a smaller room this time but it was just as good quality. really comfortable bed, brilliant shower, good toiletries and tea and coffee.
The pub across the road had new owners and had undergone a makeover. We went for a meal the first night and the food was superb, really good quality, service excellent.
The breakfast was really nice, cooked to order and made with local produce. We got chatting to lovely lady who cooked breakfast for us, made us feel very relaxed and was friendly.
We cannot recommend this lovely little retreat enough just go and see for yourself, even without a voucher it is good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Guisborough, one of the premiere rooms and it was wonderful. The room was absolutely beautiful, and spotlessly clean. Fresh fruit, robes, chocolates, tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities, Temple Spa toiletries, water and milk in the fridge. Enormous comfortable bed. Excellent service. Breakfasts are wonderful, with plenty of choice and well cooked. Friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure that everything is perfect.
Ate at the Staveley Arms opposite which was ok and had a lovely meal at the Bruce Arms in the next village, West Tanfield. Good base for exploring the Ripon area. Would definitely come again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The plus point: warm welcome, good location, excellent breakfast - pity it didn't start earlier - clean room, fresh milk in the fridge for a cuppa and free Harrogate water, plenty of maps/guides to navigate around the beautiful countryside.
Not so good/areas for improvement: no Internet and patchy signal to send/receive texts, no Sky television, no newspapers at breakfast (although I was kindly provided one belatedly!) and most disappointingly, no bath, just a shower. My room was described as a delux double but I could hardly swing a cat. Stunning building on the outside, sadly modern Novotel decor on the inside. Needs a good designer's touch to furnish with beautiful vintage antiques to do justice to the building.
Few shortcomings did nothing to spoil a wonderful weekend in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our children bought us this break as a 49th wedding anniversary present and they made a wonderful choice! The irony of our experience compared to the garbled complaint by the previous review could not be more marked. From start to end, the customer service was excellent. Food, accomodation and ambience matched that. The room was scrupulously clean and there was everything that we could have wished for was provided. Would heartily recommend this to anyone looking for a luxurious break close to York, Harrogate, Knaresbrough and Ripon.

Room Tip: The Hambleton room, the one we stayed in, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-on-Avon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It may have been snowy and cold outside but we very much enjoyed our countryside location and the warmth of our room - especially the power shower! There was a great breakfast choice - special mention for the local Yorkshire cheeses and meat selection that filled us up for the day.
The Bull Inn in West Tanfield gave us a lovely evening meal.

Very attentive staff and relaxed atmosphere in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this excellent Bed and Breakfast.
I would have liked to rank this as excellent but there were a couple of things that spoilt it.
We were on a Groupon deal and it was very good value for money. We had a Deluxe room.
Moors 3 which was very nicely decorated and furnished and very clean. The bed was very comfy but the room was a bit on the small side and there was too much furniture for a room of that size and it did feel a bit cramped. there was tea and coffee making facilities with decent coffee and a small fridge in the cupboard/wardrobe.
The bathroom was very nice too but no bath which we would have prefered. We were there in very cold snowy weather and unfortunately the heating was not working properly in our room. Despite putting the thermostat at a high setting the room never got above 15-17 degrees. We also couldn't get internet in our room either which was a pain.
The hosts Amy and Dave did an excellent job of looking after us, they were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast cooked fresh and to order was superb. I had the full English and it really set you up for the day. My partner had omelettes and they were the best she has had anywhere.
I would definately stay here again and despite the lack of heat and internet in our room, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Coach House Ripon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House Ripon

Address: 2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House Ripon 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Yorkshire Silver star luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Coach House Ripon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon North Stainley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach House Ripon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.