We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coach House Ripon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stainley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Coach House Ripon
Save
You added The Old Coach House Ripon to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

One of the nicest establishments I have ever stayed in.
The staff prided themselves on making your weekend special.
We visited with 4 other couples and had a great time over the two nights.
We have all said we want to visit again at some point!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
249
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Never have we experienced such a friendly and well run House. From the superb Room on the first floor to the absolutely splendid breakfast. Set in the countryside just north of Ripon this delightful house provided the atmosphere for rest from the worlds hectic. Absolutely nothing was too much for the staff to ask, whether it be the second round of toast or the days weather forecast, all our needs were dealt with -not only professionally, but in the nicest and warmest way possible. We can only say thank you, thank you, thank you.

Room Tip: If available take the 'Superior' room upstairs, its well worth that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a fantastic place! We had ten people in our party and the 5* accommodation , an outstanding breakfast( we are still full!!!) and superb customer service, made it a weekend we all thoroughly enjoyed. Must be one of the best B&B's in the UK.
Outstanding!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Came across this b&b whilst looking for accommodation close to Fountains Abbey. The 5* b&b is located in the beautiful village of North Stainley, 4 miles north of Ripon. The village itself is extremely picturesque. We booked a superior double room, which was on the ground floor, of a block of four rooms. The room was extremely spacious, with oak floor (with underfloor heating), and temperature controlled radiators. The room was well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities, a small table with chairs, flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe space, a mini fridge and safe. Our bathroom had a walk in shower and plenty of soft towels and complimentary toiletries. The room was immaculately clean, extremely comfortable and well decorated. The exterior of the building is very appealing. Breakfast was served in The Stables, a separate building to the accommodation. There was the usual choice of cereals/yoghurts/fresh fruit/fruit juices/home-made banana bread and a cooked breakfast to order. You could also order salmon/smoked fish/continental the evening before. All the produce was locally sourced and absolutely delicious. A stay here is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a long weekend at the Old Coach House last weekend and what a fabulous stay we had. We were greeted by the very friendly Amy in the courtyard in front of the fountain and she promptly showed us to our room and explained where everything was. The double room was very spacious and clean and even had a fridge, safe, radio with ipod dock and there was even limited wifi availibilty.

The breakfast's were superb and there was plenty of variety on the menu (providing you told them your choice the day before if you diverted from the Wensleydale Full English or eggs on toast. My Girlfriend had an amazing Yorkshire Continental one morning). The Full English was amazing and set us up for the day (we had no lunch that day). I can't recommend this jewel of a B & B in Yorkshire enough. Definately one to keep returning to when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was the third time we've stayed here. We had the two single rooms, which, unlike some singles in other places, are nicely spacious. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Everything has been thought out - a mini fridge in the room with water and milk. The team give a warm welcome and are attentive and friendly. The breakfast, cooked to order, is delicious. North Stainley itself is a pleasant place to stay, and there's a pub directly across the road for evening meals and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A warm welcome. Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble: they provided toothpaste which we'd forgotten, sourced gluten-free bread and vegi sausages for me; phone calls were free and they had guide books which were available to borrow.The room was spacious and decorated to the highest specification. Huge, comfortable bed; shower I didn't want to get out of; fridge in room and DAB radio with Ipod dock - all the little details had been thought of.
Breakfast was wonderful: no need to eat again til the evening as the quantity available was massive. There were locally sourced jams, smoked salmon was available to order the night before and, my personal favourite: they had nutella!
I will definitely be going back and recommending to friends. A perfect weekend away.

Room Tip: The Dales 4 was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Coach House Ripon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House Ripon

Address: 2 Stable Cottages | Ripon, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House Ripon 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Yorkshire Silver star luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon North Stainley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coach House Ripon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.