We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have always been pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montegos

Montegos
5 Grand Parade | Kawana Island, Parrearra, Queensland 4575, Australia
5493 2611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Parrearra
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I have always been pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We moved into Apartments opposite and have been frequent diners.

Yes I agree with previous reviewers re: steak sandwich however most items on the menu I have been very pleased with.

9 times out of 10 and we have probably been 10 times, service has been good to very good.

The scrambled eggs with Chorizo and Ciabatta is 2-3 dollars cheaper than coffee club chain, and the coffee is Merlo and also cheaper and the setting is much better.

Some if the tapas is very good ie: white bait fritters but each to their own.

I enjoyed going to Montegos 6 years ago but it was fine dining, now it is more suited to the area!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    7
    5
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but left hungry !!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We do love Montegos, the outlook, the staff, but last time we spent over $100 on tapas for dinner (& drinks of course, lol) and went home & topped up with a sandwich!!! The food/tapas are beautifully presented, fresh and tasty but portions are a little on the small size. Quite pricey but well worth it for the quality, location and outlook.

Will return but will have a main next time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Montegos good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

love the menu great food great out look
great for lunch time and breakfast
very reasonable prices easy to get to plenty of parking

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lousy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We also returned thinking new owners would mean better service and meals?..we were WRONG!!
A tough, cold, thin slice of Steak comprised Montegos steak sandwich and was served with yellowing wilted rocket,
Unacceptable for $17.90, complaints were made and compensation was complementary coffees and a share plate of chocolate brownie, we won't be returning, and will spread the word! There are too many other good restaurants out there that deserve my hard earned $'s than to be wasted here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely setting, excellent service but definitely not value for money. Steak sandwich is ridiculously small and it gutters you when you expect by the price that it would be much bigger. Lucky you get enough chips to compensate for its small stature, or you would not return. Tapas are expensive and you would expect to get 2 spring rolls for $5 but unfortunately you get one. Size is definitely an issue for the chef and it should also be noted he does not take well to constructive criticism!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montegos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montegos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.