We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My cousins review of their recent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Stone Trough Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Stone Trough Hotel to your Saves list
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Earby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My cousins review of their recent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

They asked me to share their stay with fellow travellers. They were very impressed with the breakfasts, well cooked and plenty of choice. They liked their room and the overall look of the Old Stone Trough, but they did think it was looking 'a bit tired' and could do with a revamp. The staff were very friendly and helpful and their room was very clean. They would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again and we will put you in one of our refurbished rooms , so you can see where we are heading.

0n booking please ask for the refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
20
41
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and my sister-in-law. We had taken her away for a break for a birthday treat. Her room was absolutely gorgeous. Recently refurbished and top quality throughout. So much nicer than the usual Travelodge or Premier Inn rooms that we usually stay in. Our room wasn't so good though. Very dated with the fixtures and fittings worse for wear. It had recently been recarpeted and the king size bed was fresh as a daisy and very comfortable. Nice to have a modern flat screen TV of a decent size too. Just a shame that the rest of the room wasn't to the same standard. No problems with the rest of the place though. We were greeted on arrival by Jennifer Garside, the General Manager who is an absolute star. Her friendly and helpful attitude rubbed off on the rest of the staff of which she is obviously very proud. Great atmosphere in the bar. Sports showing on the TV in one area if you want it but not too loud so if that's not your thing it's not in your face. Nice choice of real ales which kept me happy and a very nice house rose wine that went down well with the girls. We ate there too and service and food was top notch.
If we hadn't seen the refurbished room then we wouldn't go back. As we have we would definately stay there again but only in one of the refurbished rooms. Whether you are looking to stay or not, you have to try the haddock and chips and the sticky toffee pudding. Both favourites of all of us and we haven't had better anywhere. Breakfast was just as good, top quality produce cooked to perfection and served super quick.
Well worth staying but make sure you get a good room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you so much for your honest comments i so look forward too seeing you all again , and you will go in the right room ... the puddings are even better ...... !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Old Stone Trough. After a very long, fraught journey it was a relief to arrive and have a welcome beer and glass of wine before we booked in. Our room was first class and evening meal of fish and chips delicious - very generous portions.

Breakfast next morning was equally good.

Jennifer and her staff are welcoming and very friendly.

We would happily stay there again if passing that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

At the local Blues Festival and stayed here. Room at the rear with great views of the hills, clean comfy and welcoming. Large car park. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and the bar stayed open late! A truly great stay, thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you so much , the comment is much appreciated , hope to see you next year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 1 night prior to joining the Yorkshire Dales Sponsored Walk. We received a warm and friendly welcome, the accommodation although described as 'compact' was more than adequate and food was delicious.OK, it's not the Hilton but all the staff really cared about our comfort and our stay and were interested to know about our walking challenge. If you are looking for somewhere in this area to eat well, enjoy good company and rest your head in a clean and well furnished room and all at a good price then this is it! I am looking forward to returning later this year and wouldn't even bother to see if there was another hotel option. Thank you for making our stay so relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
thank you and look forward too seeing you again , we so appreciate your comments

take care .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everyone seems to be comparing The Old Stone Trough to the likes of the Premier Inn and Holiday Inn chains and so on. This is an independent individually run hotel which is its charm. I have stayed here several times on business and highly recommend it. Its very friendly, comfortable, has some character and Jen the Manager and her staff are lovely. I understand that some rooms are due to be renovated but the one I have stayed in twice now (Room 14) is like a little mini suite with a separate bath and shower, leather sofa and so on, and clearly recently refurbished. The breakfast is very good with freshly cooked full English and the bar is friendly, homely and reasonable for beers and food. On my last trip with my wife she left a make up bag in the room which was immediately posted back to us when it was found. Those little touchs go a long way. Prices are VERY reasonable for a B & B Stay - Highly recommended, and looking forward to my next stay when I am down that way, which is often.

Room Tip: Room 14 is especially nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
please stay again , its a pleasure and thank you so much for the lovely comments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the old stone trough in August for one night just to get away from it all.We were met at reception and had to go through the bar area to check in at the bar,not a good start.Our room was a junior executive room number 24.The room was spotlessly clean but the decor was dull and the curtains were like tissue paper,we had to put a sheet up at the window to keep the light out.We were left with one hand towel and one bath towel between the two of us,one teaspoon and one saucer so the cleaner did not do a very good job.Again the bathroom was clean but dated with brass fittings.The restaraunt or so called restaraunt was a room in the bar area which resembled a canteen rather than a restaraunt.We had a bite to eat at lunchtime which was very good for a bar snack we did not eat at night so no comment on the evening meal.The breakfast was served in a separate room and was a good full english but with powdered orange instead of fresh,but as a whole the breakfast was quite good.Overall we had a good,quiet nights sleep and we would visit again but in our opinion the place needs a refurb and bringing up to date.The staff were good and friendly.

Room Tip: go for the annex as it is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
would love to have you to stay again , and sort these issues out . including the orange juice and the restaurant ?? make yourself know on arrival .. please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Stone Trough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stone Trough Hotel

Address: Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Kelbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Stone Trough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Stone Trough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.