We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family gathering!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Craven Heifer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Craven Heifer Inn to your Saves list
The Craven Heifer Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Colne Road, Kelbrook, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kelbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family gathering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just had a night at the Craven Heifer to help celebrate my in-laws diamond wedding. We had 5 rooms all of which were beautifully thought out. The shower was hot and powerful, lovely fluffy robes hanging from a hot towel rail - bliss! Our meal for 9 was excellent with attentive staff and great food. Breakfast was equally good with a seemingly endless supply of toast. Overall highly recommended, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
62
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First impression not too good as Inn is on main road and surrounds not very exciting. However our room in the lodge changed our minds as, unusually, we could not fault it. Good size, nice and bright with double aspect, excellent lighting including bedside lights you can actually read by.
Service at breakfast and dinner was prompt and efficient and we enjoyed our meals.
Excellent value for money and will definitely come again if we are in this part of the country.

Room Tip: There are rooms in main building but these are close to main road , Strongly recommend rooms in Lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Lincs.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

a twenty minute drive from Skipton the Craven Heifer Inn offers a warm and inviting welcome. We had two rooms above the pub, both rooms were clean and nicely decorated to a good standard. The pub has a large car park with a great outside seating area which looks on to the Lodge, further accommodation in the grounds, the bar and restaurant are modern but very welcoming.

The staff at check in, restaurant and bar were really friendly and very attentive. We ate at the restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it, the black pudding and goat cheese starter was superb, the four of us had three courses a bottle of wine and two rounds of drinks and the bill was less than £120 for the four of us, great value for the quality of the food and service. The breakfast was equally as good with a good choice, haddock and poached eggs, eggs benedict, salmon and a great English breakfast.

We have already recommended the Heifer to family and friends and will certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Craven Heifer has clearly invested in its future - the accommodation in The Lodge was built in 2013 and it appears the entire building was refurbished at the same time to a very high but homely and comfortable standard.
The rooms are large, simply furnished with all the amenities you could expect and are very comfortable.

Large umbrella's are provided in every room in case of bad weather as you have to walk through the rear patio area to access the public areas and restaurant - this too has been furbished to a very high standard, and can imagine sitting out here on a sunny day .
The restaurant had good service, and very good food at a reasonable price - the steak and ale pie takes some beating, and some finishing! Breakfast has apparently won awards - not surprised having sampled it.

The staff were all very friendly and professional, and the service was great.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay - and would like to come back again to see more of the area - this is Bronte country and some of the scenery around the area is astounding.

Room Tip: The Lodge was purpose built two years ago and the rooms are larger and I'm told quieter - but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Craven Heifer is definitely one of our top restaurants in Lancashire and we try to go at least once a month for a superb 2 course lunch and a pint and a half of Wainwrights.
We visited the Craven Heifer last Wednesday, only two weeks since the previous visit.
Three weeks ago (tomorrow) I chose field mushrooms for starters and a seafood parcel for mains. In all honesty it was the most wonderful meal I had eaten in a long time and I passed on my compliments to the Chef. Without a shread of exaggeration it blew me away, so much so I chose exactly the same meal last Wednesday and again I enjoyed it emmensely.
Here's to the next visit which hopefully won't be too long away. If you haven't been to the Craven Heifer in Kelbrook I can very confidently recommend it and it may be worth booking a table because sometimes its extremely busy which is not surprising. I think I have left this review in the Hotel category but I think I am right by saying that if you stay in the hotel you eat in the restaurant so you will enjoy the same excellent high quality food as we do.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The weather was appalling - strong winds and incessant rain but the Craven Heifer more than made up for it.
The room that we had in the main building was not the biggest but perfectly adequate for a two night stay. They do have larger rooms. No bath in our room but a lovely bathroom with a huge shower area.
The whole place has been thoroughly renovated to a high standard and looks new - high quality tartan carpet and light coloured wood and clever lighting gives it a modern feel.
Nice bar but not many available seats if you wanted a drink beforehand (see Luluboo77 review). Mind you everyone was most accommodating and budged up to make seating available.
Food was top class - we ate in the restaurant - great choices for breakfast - so nice to have a specially cooked breakfast unlike the cold offerings that you get in the chain hotels.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Large car park and lovely patio area for when the weather is nice and sunny.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

There are many Craven Heifer pubs in the area, all trying to attract customers. The Craven Heifer in Kelbrook is pleasantly refurbished with good service and reasonably priced food. People quite rightly expect all these things. On entering the Craven Heifer in Skipton we get the impression that more than a lick of paint is required. Recent refurbisment in e.g. the conservatory area is poor and has not improved the overall appearance.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craven Heifer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Heifer Inn

Address: Colne Road, Kelbrook, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Kelbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kelbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craven Heifer Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the rural village of Kelbrook, The Craven Heifer Inn has been a popular hostelry for locals and visitors alike for over 150 years. Now, having undergone many alterations and uses, the pub has undergone a complete refurbishment. A mix of traditional features and contemporary style, our busy pub and restaurant focuses on lovingly created dishes using quality, locally sourced produce freshly prepared by our team of experienced chefs. The Inns 18 rooms take a sympathetic approach to the buildings traditional roots, incorporating a contemporary flair and all the trappings of modern luxury. Each room has full en-suite facilities furnished with luxurious cotton towels, bath robes and bed linens, freeview digital television, and free Wi-Fi for all our customers. Breakfast is included in all room bookings and a night porter is on duty at all times.Style, service and attention to detail. Staying at The Craven Heifer is an ideal choice for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Craven Heifer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craven Heifer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.