We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Tribakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribakery

Tribakery
100 Main Road | > South Africa> Western Cape> Cape Town> Kalk Bay> Tribakery, Kalk Bay, South Africa
021 788 3424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Tribakery offers visitors to Kalk Bay a slice of the big apple with the incredible unique blend of coffee and great menu selection. With a central bakery, all goods are prepared daily from croissants and muffins to the bun for your gourmet burger. The theme is based on the area in Manhattan that is bounded by Canal Street, Church Street, Park Place and the Hudson River. It is part of the oldest section of New York and is rich in Historical Associations, but its name which stands for TRIangle BElow CAnal Street is new. Tribakery caters for all with delicious baked goods in the morning and our ever popular create your own breakfast to the incredible selection for lunch and dinner.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Tribakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is without a doubt the best restaurant in the chain! Very friendly staff and good quality consistent food. The coffee is good and the pastries are delicious! Lovely view of the sea in Kalk bay. We go there often and love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noordhoek, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Suprised By How Good It is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Called in for coffee, and ended up having a full breakfast. Superb staff with a way of making you feel special, thank you so much! Relaxing atmosphere with good quality food. Price reasonable for the area close to the harbour where the local fisherman come in. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good service, nice vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stopped here for breakfast with friends. Had a soy latte - happy they had soy but wasn't wild about the latte. The scrambled eggs with mushrooms and crisp (!) bacon were delicious. My husband loved his eggs benedict with smoked salmon - hollandaise was made from scratch. Service was pleasant and good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant if Olympia is Closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Would only go here if you can't get into Olympia. It's not the best, but an OK 2nd.

Staff are friendly, food is OK, seating is very pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickMEllis, Owner at Tribakery, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear PenformSA,

Thank you for taking the time to review my restaurant. There is a reason Olympia is the nr 1 restaurant in Kalk Bay. We all know their food is amazing and we don't even attempt to compete with them. We are a little franchise, that has to conform to franchise menus and recipes. We try very hard to work on a number of other important restaurant qualities, some of which you mentioned in your review, and we are really happy that we are achieving good scores on that front. It's an honour to be named the second choice to go to in Kalk Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very pleasant in every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Tribakery is a cafe/bakery on the main street of Kalk Bay. We had dinner there: two burgers (on a two-for-one evening deal) and one delicious flatbread. You can get lamb or veggie burgers as well as beef. They have a great selection of hot and cold drinks as well as freshly-prepared shakes and frappes. Don't miss the coffee walnut cake for dessert!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribakery also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Tribakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.