We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as I remember” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brass Bell

Brass Bell
Main Road | Kalk Bay Station, Kalk Bay 7990, South Africa
+27 21 788 5455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 19 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kuwait City
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“As good as I remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I first visited Brass Bell in 95 during RWC 1995... and it has been a staple of every return visit since.

The menu is varied without being too complicated, great selection of seafood and steaks - and deserts to die for.

Food is always fresh, ridiculously good value and the service excellent.

Not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    110
    31
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Most Enjoyed Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were at the brass Bell last night for my mother’s 50th wedding anniversary dinner
I would like to thank the management and the staff for a wonderful evening and excellent food and service
Thank you again for a well enjoyed evening

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate in 'The Cabin' and stuck to basic burger and chips / fish and chips. Both were great. Good service and atmosphere. Fantastic location. Can't ask for much more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ice cream on waves!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

On the evening we dined there, weather was just perfect! Small restaurant has a lovely, cozy atmosphere. We were led to the table, which was booked for our romantic "evening out" and to our huge surprise, our table directly overlooked the ocean and splashing waves! It truly felt that we are on...an exotic cruise! Food was delicious and ice cream desert served with fantasy and frill. Thinking of popping there again, next time we travel in that area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“The Beach Bistro section”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

During this last summer, we spent many a weekend at the Beach Bistro section of the Brass Bell. We were in heaven, by the sea and in the open air, the kids have just the best time swimming or collecting stones and shells when its low tide or playing in the sand making sand castles in the "beach" area. What an amazing venue. Would love more of a selection on the menu if I had to give criticism. Would love the ribs to be back on the menu next summer. They were the best ribs we have ever had. I know they available inside the restaurant, but we want to be outside in that amazing new set up you guys have created. NOTHING like it. Nothing can top the set up. Well done it looks amazing and every time we have been there it is spotless and perfectly maintained.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Bell also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Brass Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brass Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.