We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating at Larous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larous

Larous
Thassos Town, Skala Prinou, Greece
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Eating at Larous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were given a tip from fellow hotel guests who told us not to go into Larous if its busy as you will wait a long time for your food. Unfortunately, they told us this after we complained to them we'd waited so long to eat in there. I have to say thought that the fresh gnocci was worth the wait.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    14
    8
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A really wonderful experience. The John Dory we had was to die for and we cannot recommend this place highly enough. The staff were friendly, even coming out of the kitchen to talk about what we were going to eat and to make certain it was done to our taste!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

food and staff wonderful could not do enough for us the wine was excellent no complains................well just the greek chair but we love them all

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slow service and very average food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to this restaurant once during our stay. I will never return! The service was dire and soooo slow. After we finished our first drinks we ordered another round, which never appeared. The food took ages to come and they seemed to forget my boyfriends starter. When it arrived about 5 mins later it had obviously been made quickly and rushed. The mains then came about another 30-45 mins later, only once we asked how much longer they would be! Then one again was 5 mins later than the first!! Overall it was a dreadful experience of poor service and oily food (don't go near the muscle saganaki, it was extra bland and runny). There is a beautiful little restaurant around the corner called 'The Nest' which is fantastic. A proper family run Greek restaurant with an authentic feel and great value for money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food Ok! But Service Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We ate here on our 2nd night and what a mistake that was. we were in there for nearly 2 hours and only had 1 beer, 1 bottle of water and 2 mains! no starters! it took over 20 mins to even take our drink order and then another 10 mins to bring the drink and even longer for the meal! appalled!! the food was ok, but much the same elsewhere! as there arn't many places to eat, we decided to give them another try - BIG MISTAKE! same again! this time, my meal came and then 10 mins later my husbands came! I would not recommend this Taverna!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larous also viewed

Skala Prinou, Thasos
Skala Prinou, Thasos
 
Skala Prinou, Thasos
Megalos Prinos, Thasos
 

Been to Larous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.