We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family farm stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrington Tops Organic Retreat

Save Saved
You added Barrington Tops Organic Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barrington Tops Organic Retreat
4.5 of 5 Ranch   |   384 Jems Creek Rd | Barrington Tops via Gloucester, Cobark, New South Wales 2422, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great family farm stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our first farm stay experience and we are glad to have chosen the Barrington Tops Organic Retreat. We stayed 5 nights with our two daughters (aged 4 and 6) in one of the loft cabins on the hill. It was an excellent experience for us and the children really enjoyed being amongst the animals.

Our cabin was clean and very comfortable and, on the few chilly nights we had, the fireplace made it very cosy. The loft cabins face the forrest and are private and quiet (apart from the lovely sounds of nature of course).

We chose the restaurant breakfast and diner option and found the meals to be of excellent quality. The cabin's kitchenette was basic but adequate for our self-catered lunches. The organic wines were a surprise treat and we recommend them.

The retreat is very relaxed with adequate facilities for either relaxation, exploration, or entertainment. Owners John and Sharini, and all staff were very friendly and always happy to help.

Overall, an great family experience. A big thank you to John, Sharini, and Ella.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had 5 nights at the Tops. We loved it and now that we are home, we miss it. Very relaxing place. Hosts John and Sharini were very friendly and happy to help in any way. We self catered for the kids and we adults enjoyed the delicious dinners in the restaurant. Acommodation was clean and comfortable. All the animals were great - the kids loved collecting the eggs for their breakfasts. The canoes on the lake were a big hit also. We adults enjoyed the downtime - plenty of time to read, eat, relax and chill out and enjoy a glass or two of organic wine. Bliss!

Room Tip: Ask for the family cabins with 2 balconies and better to ask for foldaway beds for extra bodies rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The kids were so happy to explore, pat the animals, make friends, play, read the books not to mention enjoying the owner's daughters' hospitality. It was a place that I felt sad to leave as we realised we hadn't been guests in their 'resort' but more like a part of their home. The food was so fabulous we wanted to stay one more night to sample the Prawn Curry! Thank you Sharini, John and girls for a wonderful experience. See you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at The Tops Organic Retreat for 3 nights. We bush-walked a lot in the companionship of Jessy the faithful tour guide and protector. She's the resident Dingo Dog. Remember to take plenty of water and food for yourself and of course wonderful Jessy. The cabin we stayed at was great. The only thing with the cabins was there was no oven in the 'new' kitchen and their spa bath needs more jets! Other than that, it is an amazing place, and the staff are warm and friendly. We ate once in their restaurant and the food was divine. Highly recommend this sanctuary, you'll love it! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at The Tops for two nights on our way south for the skiing. The retreat is pretty rural and there is a stretch of road which is unsealed and pretty bumpy and that was in a 4x4. However, once at the retreat you can relax, there are plenty of walking trails through the bush and into the high country. The bird life is amazing. It was pretty cold when we arrived and the cabins were unheated. However, once we got a fire going and also turned on the additional heaters we were very cosy. We had one of the loft cabins which had its own kitchenette, but we ate in the restaurant. Food was fine and the breakfasts were amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just back from 5 nights at The Tops Organic Retreat. Our hosts were excellent, John, Sharini and their staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. It really is a get away from it all experience, beautiful scenery, lots of walks, playing by the creek, petting animals; the Retreat is well equipped with a tennis court, pool and trampoline for the children. Our 10 and 7 year old had a super time. Evenings were spent round the fire with games, books, organic juice for the children, and good wine and a cold beer for the grown ups. The dinners are magnificent, a real highlight of the trip, the children's meals were just right and the Sri Lankan curries were superb. The focus on fresh, quality ingredients is clear. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family had a wonderful 5 day trip to Barrington Tops Organic Retreat. We started unwinding from stress as we drove through the beautiful countryside and mountains towards the Retreat. Once we parked the car we were able to completely relax by the convenience of going for walks on trails starting outside our cabin. Our 12 and 14 year old kids also loved the unstructured, help yourself activities available to entertain themselves: tennis (one of the best court locations surrounded by a serene countryside setting), mountain bikes, pool table in the dining room, outside pool, feeding the farm animals and DVD borrowing all at no extra cost. We were welcomed with warm, friendly staff and a glass of complimentary organic wine. We enjoyed some of the best organic dinners and breakfasts cooked by Sharini. We are still talking about her great curries! We highly recommend Tops Organic Retreat for families to relax and "retreat" from city/suburban stress. We returned back home feeling recharged and reconnected, craving to do it again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrington Tops Organic Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrington Tops Organic Retreat

Address: 384 Jems Creek Rd | Barrington Tops via Gloucester, Cobark, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cobark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Cobark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barrington Tops Organic Retreat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tops Organic Retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barrington Tops Organic Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrington Tops Organic Retreat Australia/Cobark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrington Tops Organic Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.