We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleet at Twyning

The Fleet at Twyning
Fleet Lane, Twyning GL20 6FL, England
+44 1684 274020
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fleet at Twyning is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Twyning
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dear Guests welcome to the Fleet Twyning. We are a beautiful riverside pub on the edge of the river Avon. We pride ourselves on home cooked fresh food along with our traditional Wadworth Ales. We get extremely busy in the summer time as we are a very popular destination pub and wait time on food can vary from 10 minutes to 1 hour, so we ask you to be very patient with us as we cook all your food to order from fresh produce. In the winter it is advisable to book in advance as our tables get booked early on for weekends and early evenings.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visit regularly and always receive great food and service. It's in a great location and particularly good on a sunny day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    86
    39
    29
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Met at The Fleet with friends of ours, wanting a pub meal sat on the river bank.
Although busy, staff were brilliant.
The food was very good and great value.
Certainly recommend a visit.
Thank you George and staff, much appreciated.
Nigel M

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food let down by poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ordered bread starter and sea bass, but sea bass arrived 70 minutes after ordering in spite of several enquiries! So frustrating when people around us got their food quickly. No real explanation for the delay and no real sense that anyone cared much. Service spoilt a good meal.
Steve B

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Significantly improved ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I haven't eaten here for a couple of years, but did so this week and was pleasantly surprised. Good food, no-one unhappy with what they had. No problems with waiting for food, which has been a common recent complaint, but it was quite quiet. Will come again - a wonderful spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Poor Service"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked a table for 9 on Saturday night @ 6.30pm. It was a special birthday so went down early afternoon to decorate the table, the member of staff was very helpful and answered any questions we had. We are a true village family having lived there for many many years and have lots of special memories of the Fleet Inn so we were all looking forward to our evening. All started well but the evening was spoilt by the service!! A Saturday night in the height of summer and the restaurant lacked staff!! We had to wait a long time for our meals and even had to ask the staff to clear the table after our mains so that we could order a sweet, this again took a long time. We arranged our own cake but because of the poor service we decided to pay up and go, very disappointing end to our evening. I will say that the meals were lovely, no complaint there. May be a while before we go back which is such a shame as we truely believe in supporting our local businesses. Please, Please consider your staffing issues!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fleet at Twyning also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Birlingham, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Fleet at Twyning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleet at Twyning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.