We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Orchard Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lachen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Orchard Resort
Save
You added Apple Orchard Resort to your Saves list
North Sikkim, Lachen 737120, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lachen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

All the positive reviews for the place on this site makes me assume that what we went through was a bad day at the office for these folks. However, when you are pay through the nose for a place and don`t get basic services, it does leave a bad taste in the mouth, especially since this happened to be something that both my wife and me were really looking forward to during our North Sikkim trip.

To start with, when we arrived, we were really exhausted and hungry after the long journey and really looking forward to a good dinner. Imagine our dismay, when we were offered dinner with no second servings of the chicken (with just 4 bony pieces served during the first serving), with the head staff at the restaurant saying that they had run out of the dish. We decided to let this go by as a minor blip on the radar, and retired to our rooms for a good night`s sleep, since we had an early morning (4:00 AM) start for our Gurudongmar lake trip.

What really got us irritated was what transpired after that. The lights in our rooms started flickering due to a voltage fluctuation, and completely went out after a while. This, while the other lights on the property and other rooms were functioning perfectly. Repeated calls to the reception went unanswered. We had to blunder around in the darkness before we hit our beds, hoping the situation would improve the next morning, which did not happen. So, we had to contend with the light of my mobile phone to finish our daily ablutions. The head staff appeared after a while with a candle which he offered to us, by which time we had given up on apple orchard, mentally cursing our luck. What got me very upset was that we were not even offered another room despite the fact that, us and another couple were the only ones on the property.

Now, for the positives. What redeemed my impression slightly was what happened after coming back from the lake. I could not have lunch here because of an ailing stomach as a result of too many meals on the road(not due to the food at apple orchard). The staff was very prompt in preparing a concoction of ginger in hot water which helped to an extent. The hospitality here seemed genuine in contrast to the experience of the night before. The rooms were good too, with a nice view of the valley.

As I said, apple orchard might be a great place to stay in Lachen for many, but it did leave two travellers from Bangalore with a not so satisfied experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room B, which is where we had all our problems. Or enquire about the power situation before mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The best place and I just am in love with Apple orchard! What a beautiful property with excellent service and food is awesome-feels like home cooked! Also they serve a lot of variety which is brilliant indeed at that remote cornet of the country with practically no roads at 80% places leading to Lachen. The Manager Mr. Kumar was a great man, very informative and friendly! Devi who's the chef plus attendant plus helper...a 'man Friday' for that hotel- a great person with an ever smiling face!
Apple orchard has a beautiful location and most of its rooms are strategically built for some view of the awesome valley. we had two huge windows and a balcony that made our view n stay absolutely perfect!! We had a splendid experience and if its ever Lachen again-its got to be none other than Apple Orchard! [though we missed the apples in bloom ] That happens around Jan to March.

Room Tip: All rooms. ours was room no B in the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of the best hotels to stay in such a difficult terrain. Offers everything you need or look for at 10000 ft above sea level. Wooden floored rooms are warm , big and conformable. View from rooms is very good as if you are into snow clad mountains. Food is normal, but if compared with
the area and weather it is the best you get around. The resort is used mainly as a stop over on the way to Gurudongmar Lake, but it is worth staying in this hotel for a few days exploring surrounding. Owner of the resort and staff are very nice and they try to make your stay comfortable. Has a good revisit value attached.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Me, wife and 9 year old son visited Lachen during 21-23 May 12 and stayed at Apple Orchard. It cost us around 8k per night including all meals. The property was nice and rooms were spacious and neat. Good service. They gave us packed breakfast at 4 am when we started for Gurudongmar lake. The restaurant was small compared to the hotel capacity. No TV in the rooms. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We came here in June end last year. This place is really far from Gangtok, so it took us a lot of time for us to reach Lachen. After about six-seven hours, when it was raining heavily, we reached our destination. We were shivering! It was dark (it was late evening and the electricity was gone!) so we couldn't really see around properly. We were offered a cherry brandy, a heater was placed near us and and after a few minutes, the dinner was ready. It was lip-smacking! I and my husband were wondering how can in a small village like Lachen master-chef quality dishes be made? But it was true! When I reached my room, electricity was on again thanks to the generator! The room was amazingly clean... and the next morning was the most beautiful mornings of my life! When I opened my room windows, I saw snow mountains... The village is damn tiny... It was so silent! And the next four days... we had the best service of the world! We got a few books from the library.. the tree house at the top of the resort is beautiful! The cafe rocks! There's a jungle above the resort, where you can go for trekking. And none of the menus at the kitchen repeated in my 4 days stay. Don't miss coming to this resort... I will keep coming here again and again. The way to Lachen was beautiful. Just one sad part: Don't take asthama patient or really, really old family members along with you. They will find it a little difficult..that's the only thing you should be concerned about.

Room Tip: If you're with a group, don't matter this one. For a single family, ask for the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Knowing Lachen being a secluded place, I visited this place with very low expectations. However this resort provides you facilities much better than many of your big town hotels. Their staff and owners will treat you in their best possible way.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. It is on the slope and hence provides a very good view of snow covered moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had a very nice stay in Apple Orchards, we stayed for two full days and never got bored. The staff is very warm, friendly and helpful. Though there were electricity problems and the hotel lacked a full capacity generator, we never felt the problem. Food was OK, nothing great but no complaints as we would have got worse food at other places. The resort is nicely designed with large rooms with extra large windows for a great view of the snow capped peaks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Orchard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Resort

Address: North Sikkim, Lachen 737120, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Lachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Orchard Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.