We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again - in a cottage this time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swallowtail Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowtail Hill Farm
Save
You added Swallowtail Hill Farm to your Saves list
Hobbs Lane, Beckley TN31 6TT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Back again - in a cottage this time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Having had a fantastic stay in one of the tents at Swallowtail Hill, we went back and stayed in the Meadow Keeper's Cottage. Despite the torrential rain, my husband and I had a wonderful time. The cottage was very warm and cosy, thanks to a highly efficient logburning stove, and had everything we needed to relax and get away from it all. There was something rather magical about snuggling down with a good book whilst the rain lashed the windows and the wind howled a gale outside.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a visit to one of the new cottages - either the Meadow Keeper's or the Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a fab time here, a lovely spot in the middle of fields overlooking a pond with your own boat. Great fire kit for cooking and sitting around as the night draws in, very comfy bed and the shower was fun. Sarah and Christopher are very generous with their wood, supplying a good load and let you forage for more, although you can buy more up at the farm shop. We wish we'd stayed another night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Two weeks ago I spent a glorious weekend at Meadow Keeper's Cottage with my husband and two sons.
We were very lucky with the weather and had sunshine everyday, so we were able to cook meals on the campfire and sit out very late watching the stars.
The Cottage itself is beautifully designed and well laid out. It is cosy and has everything you need. The little cooker is brilliant - it even has a grill, the wood-burning stove is so efficient, we barely needed our duvets, and the beds are very comfortable. It is situated 2 fields away from the two tipis and three from the farm house, so it feels very private and you don't hear or see any other people. The shower is brilliant! It was so nice to be camping, but still have a comfy bed and a hot shower every day.
We spent our days exploring Rye, walking in the surrounding countryside, rowing around the pond and helping Christopher collect and press apples to make cider. Both our children loved helping Sarah feed the animals every morning and evening. It was really nice to spend so much time outdoors and surrounded by nature.
They really have thought of everything, from the arrival box of goodies (including fresh eggs from their own hens) right through to the natural shampoo and conditioner in the shower. It is a very well organised, high-end form of camping, but you still feel that you are out in the wild. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Loved everything about our stay, everything is there set up for you from pots & pans to your first meal. My son normally wants me to be a horse when I carry him on my back & today he asked me to be a pig like Hilary & Smiler as he loved feeding the animals.
Ace tour around the farm with Chris, learned a lot and saw some amazing plants & biodiversity. Definitely plan on coming back :-)

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

As someone who gave up camping with the Guides, I approached a weekend under canvas with some trepidation, especially with a four year old and a two year old in tow, but I now wonder why we waited so long to give it a try.
Our weekend at Swallowtail Hill was fantastic, and although it wasn't camping in its purest form, it was in a tent - just a luxurious and extremely comfortable bell tent!
The kids loved the wildlife walk and the feeding of the farm animals. The tractor rides went down a treat too.
I would definitely recommend a spot of 'glamping' at Swallowtail Hill as a perfect antidote to a hectic family life.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallowtail Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowtail Hill Farm

Address: Hobbs Lane, Beckley TN31 6TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallowtail Hill is close to the ancient fortified hill-top seaport of Rye in a picturesque corner of East Sussex. The farm is managed entirely for bio-diversity and conservation. Stylish eco camping is available in two cosy wood cabins and two quirky cottages-on-wheels. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallowtail Hill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.