We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Panama!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagullcove Lodge

Save Saved
You added Seagullcove Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagullcove Lodge
Road to Boca Chica, Boca Chica 00507, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Boca Chica B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury in Panama!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My g/f and I spent 2 nights with Pilar and Flavio in Boca Chica, they have build an amazing property on the Pacific Ocean. They used to own the Boquete Garden inn and have learned from their experiences.

We landed in David and took a taxi for $40 to Boca Chica, if I was to do it again I would have rented a car in David and drove to Boca Chica.

Upon arriving you are greeted with warm hospitality behind their private gate. There are only 5 private villas that are available so you will have the place to yourself. We stayed in Frigate, the closest villa to the ocean.

This was by far the best food we had in Panama, Flavio is an amazing chef and prepared us some wonderful meals. The filet with peppercorn sauce was fantastic with a fresh Mojito.

Tips:
*They give a cash discount
* If your are debating between Gone Fishing or Boca Brava (STAY HERE) it is by far the nicest place we stayed at in Panama
* Try and get a 4x4 cab from David (The road is bumpy once your turn off the hwy)
* For $20 they will do your laundry, best $20 we spent on the trip since we were living out of backpacks.

  • Liked — The food and wonderful views – breathtaking!
  • Disliked — Overall there isn’t a ton of outside activities, I think I may have gotten bored after 3-4 days.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed here from in early Jan. for 2 nights and had a wonderful time.

The bungalows are wonerfully appointed with simple yet stylish decor, quiet and VERY functional A/C, and small TV's with satelitte TV connection (which we never used). All of them have wondeful views of the bay and and are a few steps from the beach at the bottom of the stairs.

Beyond the rooms, the owner of the lodge (Pilar) is absolutely wonderful and really goes out of her way to ensure you have a great time on your stay. Her cooking is delightful (and relatively cheap, though not as cheap as across the way at Frank's), but it's SO much better. She was super-hospitable and even went out of her way to change my flight reservation for me while I went out snorkeling one day.

In terms of things to do from the lodge, Pilar can organize day trips snorkeling, fishing trips, and also rents out sea kayak's although your best bets for trips may be out of Frank's place on Boca Brava across the way ($1 boat ride and about 1 minute).

I would HIGHLY recommend this place for people looking for a honeymoon/romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Amazing views, the relaxation of it all, and the kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — somewhat difficult to get to
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in dec 2008 as part of our honeymoon in Panama. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

The hotel itself is gorgeous with really comfortable rooms, a small private beach and beautifully landscaped gardens with excellent views over the sea.

The owners, Flavio and Pilar, are both really friendly and the service was the best we received anywhere in Panama and Costa Rica. The food was really good with the fresh fruit being a particular highlight.

We had a fantastic time and I couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough if you are looking for a relaxing break.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed at Seagull Cove Lodge September 28-30. Our stay at this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to Panama.

Pilar and Flavio, the owners, were warm and friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We cannot say enough about their hospitality.

The cabins, situated upon the hillside, had a spectacular view of the bay. The cabins were beautifully decorated and hot water was plentiful. Overall, there is a very romantic ambiance.

The pool also has a great view of the bay. Staff will be more than happy to provide pool-side service. In fact, they provided us with water, without us even having to ask.

We ate all of our meals at the hotel and could not get enough of Flavio's cooking! The food was excellent! There is a fixed menu of options from which guests may select each day.

This was definitely one of the best places we stayed during our trip to Panama. It's simply gorgeous and the owners provided THE BEST service!

We'd love to return!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

The Seagull Cove was a beautiful small lodge with wonderful food and hosts. The overall experience of humpback whale watching, snorkeling, and great food made for a perfect stay. The rooms were comfortable and private with hot showers and A/C if required. The owners really care and are willing to help you in anyway possible and the food is outstanding!

  • Liked — comfort and food and views
  • Disliked — lack of walks around area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We had such a relaxing stay at the SeaGull Cove Lodge. It is such a unique place to stay. When you enter through the front door you are automatically pulled to the balcony where you can observe the amazing water views. Each cabin is perched on the hill side with a private porch to enjoy the views. The rooms are immaculate. Super clean & comfortable. Great choice of linens & bath towels. The Restaurant is beautiful at night, there was a wonderful breeze as we sipped our wine & experienced a delicious meal. The owner is also the host. She makes you feel like you are so welcome & right at home, yet she gives you your privacy. We had a great stay! I would definately reccomend this place to others.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

The Seagull Cove Lodge is comprised of 5 bungalows overlooking a quiet anchorage in a remote but remarkably beautiful place. The cornerstone of the property is an open air restaurant operated by the proprietors, Flavio & Pilar. Flavio is Italian. His wife is Spanish. They live on the premises and treat patrons as personal guests. The continental menu is sparked by a delightful collection of predominately European wines. The food is to die for. The Panamanian staff is eager to please--and they do.

This really isn't a "beach place". The cove is well protected from the open waters of Chiriqui Gulf by barrier islands so the waters are calm for those who want to swim but if feels more like a lake than ocean frontage. The Gulf of Chiriqui boasts an internationally recognized national marine park and some of the best deep sea fishing on the Pacific Coast. Charters are available from the nearby village of Boca Chica for excursions, diving or fishing.

The Inn is about 1 hour 45 minutes Southeast of the mountain resort/expat haven of Boquete. During our stay, car loads of American expatriots made the 3 hour round trip from Boquete for dinner. The food is THAT good!

The Inn is approximately 20km south of the Pan American Highway via a dirt/gravel road. The road was being paved during our stay in February 2008. Its a shame in a way. What will become of the cowboys when the trail becomes a street?

  • Liked — Proprietors & Staff, casual & friendly but responsive; views.
  • Disliked — My only regret is that we didn't reserve more time here.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seagullcove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagullcove Lodge

Address: Road to Boca Chica, Boca Chica 00507, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagullcove Lodge is a small and intimate boutique hotel with our own private beach on the unspoiled water of the Chiriqui gulf. With only five oceanfront bungalows discreetly nestled among swaying palms and tropical gardens, this first-class yet casual, European style resort is tranquility and brilliance personified. Dine on first-class cuisine from an ever-evolving menu featuring fresh seafood and quality meat year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seagullcove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagullcove Hotel Boca Chica
Seagullcove Hotel Chiriqui
Seagullcove Resort Chiriqui
Seagullcove Lodge Panama/Boca Chica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagullcove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.