We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and food in lovely country pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perch and Pike

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Stoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perch and Pike
Save
You added Perch and Pike to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | South Stoke, South Stoke RG8 0JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Stoke
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and food in lovely country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Made to feel very welcome in this beautiful village location. It was nice even in torrential rain. A little noise from the railway didn't detract from the overall experience. Food was great and all staff friendly and helpful when we were trying to sort out next stop on our route. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stuck for something to do & see, we stopped off here for a quick drink & ended up staying for lunch. We couldn't find fault with anything. The service was quick, attentive & pleasant. There were several places to eat throughout & the restaurant itself is large, clean, bright & airy; it’s nicely sectioned for privacy & comfort.
We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food & presentation which also arrived very quickly. The waitress, owner & chef paid good attention to detail & asked several times if everything was OK. The food was reasonably priced.
It is a lovely Inn to eat, drink or stay in (we can’t comment on the accommodation). It has a large car park & plenty of tables out side to enjoy the sun & scenery.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Went for a meal to celebrate our son's 18th birthday. Got a warm and hearty welcome from the landlord. The pub area was lovely, clean and with a big open fireplace, with real fire blazing, particularly welcome on a freezing cold Thursday in December! The dining area was modern and well-laid out. The food was delicious. We all had something different and there were no complaints at all, even from a fussy, picky 16 year old lad who had spicy duck noodles. The service was spot-on, not too intrusive and not too remote. Great family night out and wholeheartedly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our room at the Perch & Pike was beautiful - everything was perfectly clean and the bathroom was lovely.

The restaurant was very busy both nights we stayed, and the food was excellent; really innovative and tasty!

We walked part of the Thames path and some other trails on our stay - the hotel is perfectly situated for walking holidays, and there's a lovely beer garden for a pint in the sun when you return in the evening.

We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts, and we will definitely be back! I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The room with the glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for a stop out for work for 4 nights.

Food is lovely and the breakfast is superb, rooms are very basic and the walls are very thin and can hear everything from the kitchen below and other rooms.

Also freeview is advertised In the advert but not no freeview in our room.

Lack of wi-fi was dissapointing for £100 a night I would expect more

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Good Quality rooms, very spacious accommodation of olde worlde styling. My only criticism of the room was insufficient power sockets, but otherwise very well appointed room.

Public House section of the property was a really enjoyable experience and the food choice was fantastic value for money.

Landlord & Landlady were really friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay with them.

Would certainly stay here again and would recommend this B&B highly

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perchandpike, Owner at Perch and Pike, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you found our Inn to your satisfaction.
Best regards, Neil, Val & Joan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Having stayed numerous times at the Perch and Pike I am happy to recommend it to anyone. As the rooms are upstairs then disabled access is not good from an accommodation viewpoint BUT downstairs they have all the expected facilities.
I find the rooms to be generally very clean, perhaps they have sacked the previous cleaner judging by other review comments?
Food is priced at average for the area and portions are very good. The real ale is kept well and there are often guest ales such as Hobgoblin to augment the Brakesphere standard ales. Overall a nice quiet venue.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perch and Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perch and Pike

Address: The Street | South Stoke, South Stoke RG8 0JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > South Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Stoke
Hotel Class:3 star — Perch and Pike 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perch and Pike is a stylish English country pub situated in the picturesque village of South Stoke, Oxfordshire.This flintstone inn and converted barn is home to a cosy traditional bar complete with log fires, offering a range of local ales, quality lagers and a varied and interesting wine list. Our chefs use only the finest seasonal produce, locally sourced where possible, to create the perfect dining experience, whether you want to eat in the relaxed atmosphere of the bar, in our pretty barn restaurant or al fresco on our terrace or in our garden.We want your stay with us to be something very special too, so we've created four beautfully styled ensuite bedrooms complete with all the little luxuries we think you deserve for a well earned break or romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perch and Pike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.