We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxed stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fronoleu Country Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tabor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fronoleu Country Hotel
Save
You added Fronoleu Country Hotel to your Saves list
Tabor, Snowdonia National Park LL40 2PS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tabor B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely relaxed stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here recently on a 2 night deal with dinner and we were very happy. The owner was friendly and so were the staff. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable and although the decor is somewhat dated that all adds to the character of the place. The weather was lovely, sunny and warm so the fire wasn't lit but I'm sure would be really cosy on a cool day. As others have reviewed the food is delicious and plentiful and smaller portions wouldn't go amiss, as it is such a shame to waste food that had been freshly prepared and cooked. Having read some of the other reviews we do wonder what people expect for the money they paid, it isn't luxury but it is comfortable and friendly and we would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
13
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location but the hotel needs a serious facelift. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Food was good although as in other reviews, the portion sizes were too large. We didn't stay for the second night as we felt we'd rather be back in our own clean bedroom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My Wife and I stayed for 2 nights 18/19 June on a KGB Deal 2 night stay for £99 B&B & evening meal on 1st night.we were in "Flat 12" 2 bedrooms 1 with double bed 1 with double & single.We used this bed on 1st night and it was a terrible bed, on the second night we used the other double which was better. The fire alarm activated in the early hours of the morning on the 1st night (3 times in an hour) there appeared to be no reason for this!! The room was in need of a good clean
& the wash basin in the bathroom was not fastened to the wall!! All in all the hotel wants closing and given a good overhaul. The food was good with over generous portions of vegetables on the evening meal and the standard breakfast was very good. Maggie the proprietor is a lovely lady but needs to ensure the hotel is improved . A lot of dogs are around and are allowed in rooms with guests. I cant recommend this hotel not even at KGB deals price!! See review by Paulus 799

Room Tip: Ask if it is possible to see the room 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First off...the Fronoleu is not the Ritz, doesn't try to be and so shouldn't be judged as such. What it is though, is possibly the most friendly, welcoming and relaxing place we've ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the door, Maggie is there to greet you, and we have to say every single member of staff went out of their way to be extra friendly. The rooms are big, all ensuite, and clean. As someone else has said, it's a 600 year old farmhouse in the country, of course you'll find some cobwebs! Then there is the food......immense is probably the most accurate word for it. Every meal is huge, well cooked and comes with brilliant service. The meals are almost too big at times, although i'm sure smaller portions would be offered if asked. Seriously, have the full breakfast and you won't need any lunch! Theres also a good variety on the menu, all the basics really.
If you wanted to find fault I'm sure you could....maybe some redecoration wouldn't go amiss, maybe the carpets in the hall need updating (seriously?!.....someone thought so) and maybe there could be more outside seating, but thats about it. This place is a real gem, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a KGB deal,clean sheets and towels ,comfy pillows.
The hotel allows dogs to stay and there were a lot there when we went , it's just over a mile downhill to town but it seems a lot further going back.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We only ate in the once ,the portions were huge and I don't like to waste ,there are plenty of places to eat in town and if you go after 6pm parking is free.
This is a beautiful area and on a KGB deal fantastic value for money.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The exterior of the hotel is shabby cigarette ends everywhere and no attempt at gardening . The room we had was poor and again shabby none to clean either . We later were moved to another equally shabby and dirty room as they had given my wife and I the wrong one At least the TV worked in this room though the bath side panel badly cracked and shaving mirror so low I could only use it if I on my knees.. Dinner though slow in arriving was very good but the portions far to big and therefore wasteful . The staff when there friendly and helpful . Go here if you want to but do not expect what I feel are normal standards. We where on a two day deal with KGB we only stayed for one.

Room Tip: Take your own cleaning equipment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I wonder I we stayed at the same place - yes some of the hotel needs updating - but everything else is really good The food is all freshly cooked and very good quality, the portions are very big. We like many people had the first nights meal free, but the food was so good we eat at the hotel the other nights. Maggie and her staff are all so friendly and polite, nothing is a problem The hotel is set in a mile from the town i the lovely countryside - so peaceful and lovey walks are on the doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fronoleu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fronoleu Country Hotel

Address: Tabor, Snowdonia National Park LL40 2PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tabor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tabor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secretly secluded, surrounded by wild Welsh beauty and overlooking the magnificent Mawddach estuary, this unique country hotel emanates a warm and friendly atmosphere, and is deeply embedded in local history and culture. Fronoleu is a perfect base from which to explore the mountain landscapes & the coast. Fronoleu is situated in the Snowdonia National Park in North Wales, near Dolgellau and close to the mountain Cader Idris, a wonderful area for mountain walks, mountain biking, fishing & horse riding. Day rooms include a cosy bar and lounge, both with log fires. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fronoleu Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.