We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in spite of change of ownership” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolserau Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dolserau Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Dolserau Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dollgellau | Gwynedd, Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Keighley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quality in spite of change of ownership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After several previous stays we were concerned as the hotel had been sold to HF Holidays having been in private ownership. The personal attention could well have disappeared being now run by a large organisation. However, we were immediately reassured by finding the previous manager still in charge. Whilst odd facilities like complimentary afternoon tea had become a chargeable item all other valued aspects were still there. Dolserau Hall has an extremely hard-working and friendly staff only too keen to make guests welcome. The standard of food and service is excellent and bedrooms have everything that one could expect. Because many bookings are now aimed at activity groups individual visitors may find available dates restricted. In spite of this the hotel is still an excellent choice. Just hope that the leaky cafetiere has been replaced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
22
82
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group. We have been to a number of HF places and they are all good value. This was exceptional. A warm, friendly and welcoming house. Great staff. Clean rooms. And like other reviewers I can't praise the food too highly. Well cooked and presented and with an excellent choice. Breakfast would put many bigger hotels to shame. Three different fruit salads; a big cooked breakfast; and a cold selection as well. For the money it is amazing value. The walking nearby is good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Dolserau Hall for almost 15 years. Having seen recent feedback on tripadvisor we were a little apprehensive about returning to Dolserau.
We had booked a three night break in room 1 and had asked for breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. All of the food was superb both in terms of quality and choice. Afternoon tea included a very yummy selection of homamade scones, cakes and biscuits. There was an exceptional selection of vegetarian food. John Charnley cerainly knows how to put a menu together!
Breakfast is generally served until 9.00 am but guests can have a later breakfast if they wish to do so.
We had no problem making the booking. We telephoned Dolserau direct. Mags took a note of our requirements and telephoned us back later that day to confirm the booking.
HF holidays have made some changes - every business has to make changes in order to survive However the standard at Dolserau remains exceptionally high.
Lou, John and the rest of the team adopt an attitude of "you tell us what you want and if it's humanly possible, we will provide it!" . Rest assured they certainly deliver the goods. Our advice to fellow guests is please be specific about what you require. They aren't mind readers!
A big thank you to Lou, John and the team for excellent hospitality, wonderful food and great value for money. You not only met our expectations, you exceeded them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a week with a walking group and Dolserau Hall had all that we needed for a great stay.
The breakfasts were very good with an enormous selection of fruit, fresh figs, sweet blackberries as well as all the fresh and prepared fruit you could ever expect to be offered. Cooked breakfasts were also very good, with meaty bacon without too much fat. For the lunch stop we had a sandwich prepared to our choice and plenty of other titbits to add to our break. Our room had a bath and walk in shower, and a hot bath after a long walk was always very welcome. Evening meals were three courses (ordered in the morning) and never failed to please us, various lamb dishes were always a favourite.
Staff were attentive and always obliging. I'm sure the manager (Louise?) could sort out any booking problems directly as I understand the hotel takes normal guests as well as those coming via HF Holidays. A local walk towards Barmouth is well worth the effort and not too hilly! One small point - there was no sherry in the room - apparently this has now been discontinued - but then, I never did like sherry particularly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having been to Dolserau on a couple of previous occasions we tried to book for October 2013.
The hotel is now owned by HF Holidays whose phone was engaged when I tried (6 times). So we tried the hotel direct because we wanted to confirm a room with walk-in shower, which could not be done on any of the booking web sites.
The hotel said that HF had marked all rooms as booked on the hotels system so that booking had to be made through HF, who they would arrange to call us.
HF did call but they did not know what facilities each room had and we gave up trying to book when HF said "we do not run this as a hotel" .. "it is really for our group bookings".

Room Tip: HF Holidays central booking can't tell what facilities rooms have.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at Dolserau Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I have shared your feedback with our Reservations Manager to provide training to our staff and ensure that information is and can be provided about what facilities are available to customers wishing to stay at Dolserau Hall. We do hope that we can welcome you both later this year.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Before you read my comments, I'd like to say this hotel is generally quite good and I might be a little unfair in giving it only 3 marks. However, having loved it under the previous ownership, we found that some of the many little touches we liked have disappeared. We found that it's been taken over by HF Holidays (a non-profit co-operative) and gives the impression of now being mainly geared to catering for organised groups and societies. Our room was very clean and spacious, and we had a very comfortable bed. However, we just felt that we expected more for the price. Evening meal was reasonably good, but again we thought perhaps a tad pricey.
Breakfast was very good indeed.........but only it's only served until 9am! In fact it's the only hotel we've encountered in this price range which doesn't serve until 10am. On the plus side, the setting is fabulous, the car park is vast, and the staff are friendly. At a cheaper price it would be great, but it's the value-for-money thing which stopped us from giving it a higher rating. Also; just so's you know.....it seems that bookings are non-refundable if you need to cancel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a stay at the Hall to treat our relatives from South Africa as we had stayed there on previous occasions before it was taken over by H.F. We had two rooms, both of which were large, airy and most comfortable with Moulton Brown bath products, a decanter of sherry and large flat screen television. We had booked dinner and with it came afternoon tea - on previous visits this had consisted of home made cakes and scones - this time it was a pot of tea with a plastic packet of biscuits. I felt that the standard of the meals had deteriorated - my eggs benedict at breakfast was disappointing and the toast was soggy - although there was the remembered wonderful assortment of fruit. The dinner was only average with a more limited choice menu. I make comment on the food as the hotel does not come cheap and on previous visits we had been delighted with everything - sadly on this occasion we were a little disappointed. However the staff were friendly and obliging and the hotel is in a most picturesque location with easy access to the delights of the Welsh countryside and coast.

Room Tip: Room 4 was a beautiful big room with a big comfy bed, armchairs and a fantastic view across the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Address: Dollgellau | Gwynedd, Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolserau Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.