We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Foxes Bar & Grill

Cross Foxes Bar & Grill
Dolgellau | Snowdonia National Park, Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
01341 421 001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brithdir
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Room very nice with lovely
Toiletries. Great shower everything clean and modern. Towels were washed out and ready for replacing but not detrimental! Restreraunt clean and food very nice. Good cooked breakfast and
staff very attentive. Could have done with some background music in the evening but otherwise
a good meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    85
    46
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Its reopened! ! It really shouldn't of!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Cant belive this place has reopened!! It looked amazing ! Omg, then there's the food and service. :S . Why spend all that money on doing a gd job renovating the place and not get a gd team together!! What a waist of money

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“CROSS FOXES DOLGELLAU”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We attended the Cross Foxes for a coffee half way through a long journey. On entering the bar area I noticed a young lady behind the bar. She was on the telephone. As I approached the bar to be served she continued her conversation which sounded casual and did not acknowledge us at all. It took her approximately 5 minutes to end her call and to actually serve us. On returning to the bar quite some time later to order a couple more coffees there was no one there. Eight minutes passed before someone came out of the kitchen area to serve us. This time it was a young man. I did make a comment and asked him if they were short staffed to which he replied NO. I can only concur that The Cross Foxes do not need the business. I would suggest that if the bar area is not going to be manned that maybe a bell be in situ. I couldn't see one. I would add though that the surroundings inside and outside these premises were very nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bar lunch and evening hog roast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited here for the first time on saturday , very pleasant surroundings and friendly atmosphere. We ordered 4 lunchtime sandwiches, 3 arrived , well presented and tasty. 4th sandwich didnt arrive , reminded staff twice about the order, which then was only being prepared when everyone else had eaten and ready to go home. So my hubby didnt get his lunch and we were a little disapointed, but decided to return for the fireworks and hogroast later that evening. The fireworks were good, we enjoyed the pianist, however found the hogroast just ok, on the cold side.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food....shame about the service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch. Main course was fabulous........didn't have pudding as we gave up waiting!! The very good is for the food but if I was rating the service it would be a POOR!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Foxes Bar & Grill also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cross Foxes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Foxes Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.