We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub is OK, but food is crap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Union to your Saves list
Hotel Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin des Croisettes 2, Epalinges 1066, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Epalinges
Froideville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pub is OK, but food is crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice atmosphere in the pub, considering it's on the suburb of Lausanne and not that busy. But the food doesn't deserve to be tried, and service is a disaster. Most of the pizzas where not what we ordered, so they had to re-shuffle and prepare some new one, so we didn't eat at the same time. And they were not cooked enough.
Burger fans had to wait 10' for the ketchup and mayo, so as well cold food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
4
7
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trencin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I went to Lausanne for business trip with my college. I was hot weather and we were thirsty, so we went to hotel bar and asked for a big glass of beer. We saw, that man sitting there has got large glass of beer on the table, therefore we thought that they are serve big size of beer. How shocked we were when waiter brought small 2 dcl glass of beer. We felt discriminated. We got small beer, because we are woman. So we run a way from hotel bar.

It was around 4.00 p.m. We had just small snack in the airplane, therefore we decided to go to the regular restaurant. We went to nearest restaurant and we asked for a menu. We were shocked again. Waitres said, that they cood after 5.30 p.m. because a chef is comming to work at 5.00 p.m., first he will cook a dinner for restaurant staff and then for customers. I was unbeliveable. We were discriminated twice during one day. It is really strange for me, because I am from the country, where you can eat any time during the day and dring same size of beer as man drink. Due to the fact, that we did not know where any other restaurant is, we were waiting and after 5.30 p.m. same waitris brought requested menu and finally we got a dinner.

We slept in a small twin room of Hotel Union, which was basic, but fine for us. Another surprise was in breakfast room. I have never seen such a small buffet. Just one white yoghurt and one with strawberries. 2 different kinds of chees and salami. That´s was it. Nothing else.

I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epalinges hotels

Poole
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Rooms were clean and tidy and the staff spoke English and were helpful. Easy access to the underground as it's right outside the door and this takes you straight down to the town or the lake, so from that point of view it's very good.

However, breakfast was a shambles with guests having to help each other get coffee etc. Didn't eat there for dinner but another guest had pizza, which looked good. I thought it was very expensive for what we actually got compared to the other hotels we had stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stay , more than 30 members from hotel schools around the world at this hotel.. terrible. Internet was not working. The staff had no service mind or attitude. The hotel supposed to be 3 star.. minus three is a better suitable rating.

Room Tip: change it to a hotel downtown Lausanne. The floor is wild... What ever happens at the hotel during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Me and my collegues are staying here for the winter programme held by a local university and the company arranged us to stay in this hotel.

The hotel is rated 3 star officially. But the service and facilities is just average. Maybe it is the normal situation in this city.

The hotel room was clean, tidy. It provides in-room safe, cable TV and WIFI. Unfortunately there was very limited English Channel in TV and others are in French, basically it already stop me from watching TV. The WIFI is poor. I am not quite sure other guests experience this or not, but me and my colleagues all have this problem. The signal is good but there was no data transferred even if I tried to open a Swiss based website like 'Google.ch'. Unacceptable thing is the Guest Service have no idea about what happened and couldn't help us. NO TV and NO Internet plus quiet in the neighbour area really make it boring for your leisure time.

The hotel reception works from 7am to 10:30pm on business days and 8am to 8pm on the weekend. Basically the Receptionist will take in charge all the enquiries from the guests. So you need to pray you don't have any problems when they are off. Hotel serves breakfast on a daily basis. Selections are limited but still delicious.

All in all, the hotel is fare in service and facilities. But definitely there is a big space for it to improve.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

I didn t like the service, the breakfast was ok but I personally didn t like it. Otherweise it wuite good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Friendly helpful welcome very efficient check in. Rooms clean and simply decorated warm.good strong shower and lots of choice on TV.I found room a bit warm at night and had to keep window open so traffic noise was a problem for me I'm a country boy and not used to traffic.The hotel doesn't provide a metro pass so costs a little to go into town metro just through underpass and very efficient we thought it fun that all stations have a different sound very useful. Breakfast good fresh squeezed orange juice and warm croissants good joice of coffee teas and conserves service friendly and unobtrusive. Only complaint I had was when ordering second pint of Swiss beer got it in a guiness glass!!!OMG. So not really a problem.
Not a lot to do in this area but handy access to main road.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union

Address: Chemin des Croisettes 2, Epalinges 1066, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Epalinges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Epalinges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Union 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.