We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with the WOW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Pavilions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mona Pavilions to your Saves list
Mona Pavilions
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Main Rd, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rooms with the WOW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Is this a hotel or a selection of self-contained pavilions? Either way that view and setting is just OUT OF CONTROL good.

We stayed in the Sidney room that features original art work from Sidney Nolan. The rooms are well put together and the view... From the sunken bath you can sit and watch the boats float by for hours. The Aesop products are delicious.

If you took the view away the rooms are OK for what you are paying. Spacious and well put together but the view makes it and it seems well priced for what you get. The throw on the lounge is good I'm trying to buy one.

Included in the price of the room is free wine tours, wine & beer tasting. Walks around the MONA guided (on Tuesdays) and breakfast in the source restaurant. Take advantage of all of these extra treats as they are well worth it.

Words of advice- hardly anything is open on Tuesday in Hobart, the onsite restaurant is closed Sunday - Wednesday but they do offer room service. We had the room service on the Monday, the meal was staged and was utterly delicious. The breakfast at the Source was brilliant and the view is exceptional over a coffee and cooked breakfast.

The staff are attentive and really helped organise our stay, great work team MONA.

There are a few niggles in the hotel- the entertainment system is great but the remote has to be attached to work as the rechargeable batteries have died. There is no moisturiser in the bathroom, you have to ask separately for it at reception so make sure you do. They have amazing baths but no bubble bath products to go in it- we mentioned this at reception and they said they were looking into products, that’s great but they should have something now to use as the bath is huge and needs using.

Room Tip: The original 4 rooms have the sunken baths. Just get the best that you can afford, you wont be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
101
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visiting and staying at MONA is one of the coolest trips anyone can do.

We wouldn't ever have considered visiting Tasmania if it wasn't the vision of remarkable man David Walsh. Now about the Mona Pavilions: this is the place to stay. You would stay in a a detached bungalow with an awesome sea view, great living room and bedroom. Crisp and on-trend interior design with impeccable taste with amenities: kitchenette, refrigerator, wine cabinet and even washer/dryer. Beautifully done and clearly subsidised as you wouldn't find anything remotely similar in quality in Australia at this price level.

Room Service is available until 8 pm and menu is limited however it's good if not a bit too complicated for its own good so some dishes are better than others. If this doesn't work eat out in Hobart (do not order the pizza from take away menu they give you at reception - ghastly). Breakfast is great, cooked with local produce (never had better jams in my life).

Gym Room, pool, sauna are all very good. There is a cool thing you should look out for when walking towards this area - tongue-in-cheek, no spoilers. Excellent staff who seem very happy and going out of the way to help with anything.

We extended our stay to explore Tasmania and really we fell in love with its haunting beauty.

Summer is of course the best period to come and not the least for the mouth watering churrascaria that's set up there every day on the beautiful lawn.

If it seems I'm raving too much it's because it really is that cool. It's very far for me but hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had fallen in love with MONA at first site. All my hopes for this outstanding art gallery were realised in our first visit. Ferry rides there and back with nibbles and sparkling, and on arrival the best damn art experience I have had anywhere in the world. So when my birthday came , I knew exactly what I wanted...to stay at MONA. Not just visit , but to imagine for two nights we lived there.The Sidney Room with its breathe taking views was magnificent, as was the care and attention of Rowan an the team. The room recently refurbished was a delight. So why stay at a Mona ? Because for us it meant we could come and go as we needed. MONA is not for the faint hearted, it demands all of you, and gives back in return. So when we needed a breather, we had our own sanctuary ready for us. We will return for some more Monamism.

Room Tip: We loved the classic rooms, though if we were going with friends we would book a two bedroom space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed one night in the Brett Whitley Pavilion. The view of the river was awesome and the architecture of the pavilion excellent. It really felt like I was treating myself. The indoor pool also has a fantastic view and was a wonderful place to have a swim. While the weather was cold, without a wind sitting outside in the sunshine was very pleasant. I liked the fact that the pavilion was self catering and I could have a nice simple meal while enjoying the view. Breakfast was cooked for you from a menu and very nice. The art gallery MONA was very interesting and the live music was a nice touch. I also enjoyed the lunch at the museum cafe.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed in Charles - two couples and the set up worked well, with two levels, each with its own bedroom, bathroom and balcony. Staying on site at MONA is definitely worth it as it gave us a chance to enjoy the art in several sessions. Still arguing about whether to stay one or two nights - my vote is for two, not that we would have spent more time in the gallery, just more time enjoying the facilities and the ambience. The only let down was a very ordinary eat-in dinner - the restaurant was closed for a private function and so our only real option was to have room service, but the menu was not appropriate for this; the servings were tiny and the food was too cold by the time it got to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If Hobart is on your places to visit you simply MUST book a night or so in one of the Pavillion's at MONA (which is connected to one of the world's most interesting art galleries). The Pavillions sit on a cliff overlooking the water, ours had a substantial patio - perfect to watch the sun rise and set and the Mona ferry come and go throughout the day. We stayed in a two bedroom Pavillion with another couple and found it to be spacious and well appointed. Sadly we were only able to book one night and moved to the Henry Jones hotel in Hobart which was disappointing after our incredible stay at MONA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. Next time we would make it 3.
Our pavilion (Sidney) was one of the older ones - it predates MONA - and has been superbly refurbished. The view over the water was fantastic in sunshine, mist, and sunrise. Although we have not seen the other/newer pavilions, we will request Sidney next time.
We had plenty of room to spread out and relax.
Too cold to spend much time on our balcony, but in warmer weather it would be a treat.
The big - really big - advantage of staying at MONA is that we could rest/relax in our pavilion between walks around the museum.
(Last time there we stayed at the Henry Jones Hotel in Hobart, and could manage only 3 hours at MONA - it is physically and emotionally a confronting place).
Some hopefully helpful titbits:
* Unlimited entry is included in the room fee.
* Breakfast (delicious) is also included.
* The restaurant is closed on Sunday & Monday (the 2 nights we were there). A room service menu is offered on those 2 nights, and it was just fine by us.
* Wifi is good, and complimentary.
* Wine-tasting is offered to house guests - again, complimentary.
* The quantity and range of wines available in-room is a trap! (We fell)
* It was spooky in a nice way to feel as though we had MONA grounds to ourselves in the morning and evening. Some nice walking to be done.
Staff culture is brilliant. Stacey and Rohan were great welcomers and guides, and Michelle and Myra are warmly professional wherever and whenever you bump into them.
All in all, this is fantastic experience in its own right, AND one that significantly enhances the MONA museum experience.
It's now marked in as an annual treat for us.

Room Tip: The Sidney Pavilion is older but we loved it. I'm hoping all pavilions face the water - it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mona Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mona Pavilions

Address: 655 Main Rd, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mona Pavilions 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONA Pavilions. The eight MONA pavilions overlook the Derwent River and feature artwork from the MONA collection. Four are named for architects who have influenced Australia's architectural landscape: Roy (Grounds), Robin (Boyd), Esmond (Dorney) and Walter (Burley Griffin). The original four pavilions: Arthur (Boyd), Brett (Whiteley), Charles (Blackman) and Sidney (Nolan), have been completely refurbished. All have access to the heated infinity lap pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mona - the gallery and all site facilities are closed on Tuesdays. The Pavilions are open with breakfast still served and in room food and beverage option available for house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mona Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Pavilions Hotel Berriedale
Mona Pavilions Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.