We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Island Caravan Parks

Treasure Island Caravan Parks
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berriedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Caravan Parks
Save
You added Treasure Island Caravan Parks to your Saves list
1 Alcorso Drive, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The managers or owners (not sure) were excellent. The gentleman even noticed that I did not have a lighter and was using the car cigarette lighter and brought me a box of matches. Howz that for device with a smile.
I have read the other reviews and yes it may be not 5 star but given that we were previously staying at a b&b that cost more per night which had dirty sheets - no view - dirty bathrooms - we were very happy to stay here. Yes, it may be in need of a bit of TLC but overall I can say my bed had clean sheets, the pillows had pillow protectors ( obviously they must read these reviews) - the bed was a little soft for my liking but the toilet,shower and basin were clean and we had a lovely location.
I would go back again, and again.
And if you don't like duck poo - don't stay where there are ducks!!!!
Thanks again to both of you.
Tina and Marlon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked a cabin at Treasure Island for four nights and, although the setting was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly, the cabin itself left a lot to be desired. It was old and very dated. Dirt in window ledges, scum around plug hole in basin, no heater to speak of only a very small portable heater, tv that had an indoor ariel and the picture was grainy to say the least. The pillows were almost non existent - luckily there were another two on the bunk beds that we could use, although none of the pillows had pillow protectors (another no no in my opinion). The bed was hard and not comfortable at all. We were thinking of moving but were only in Hobart, on our first trip, for four nights and not in the cabin much during the day, decided to stay. I'd like to ask the owners/managers to spend a couple of nights in the cabin to see if they thought it was worth the $100 per night we were charged.
On the plus side there is a shuttle bus that you can catch to Salamanca Market on Saturday morning for a cost of $18 return for two.

Room Tip: Check on line to see actual photographs of places you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've stayed at Treasure Island Caravan Park a number of times over the past 3 months while we travel around Tasmania. We have found this caravan park to be the best value for money out of all the caravan parks in and around Hobart. During the off-season they will offer you 7 nights for the price of 6 for a powered site. The sites are a generous size, and the amenities are always clean. Granted, they are a bit out-dated and could probably do with some renovations, but they are clean. The staff are very friendly and are always up for a chat. There is a bus within walking distance which will take you into Hobart, and MONA is right next door. While we travel around Tasmania, we will keep coming back to Hobart and will continue to stay at Treasure Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst exploring Hobart and we will definitely be back again. The facilities were close by, hot water always available and they were exceptionally clean... We heard music at MONA and decided to take the short walk over for an afternoon picnic... Beautiful location with views of the Derwent river ... If you are looking for a place to camp near Hobart you will not regret choosing this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

the setting of this caravan park is beautiful. we had a view over a little inlet. very pretty. however the place could do with a good renovation. the toilets and showers were clean and spacious, but were very old to look at. the camp kitchen was small and very basic. the location itself is not near anything decent to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We based ourselves here for 3 nights to see Hobart. It was a great location (MONA is literally next door) and the city is 20 minutes down the road. The Cadbury chocolate factory is also close by. It also borders the Derwent River. The service is sensational, we stayed in a powered Ensuite site and had no problems with noise where we were situated. It's also lovely to feed the ducks in the morning so be sure to buy some food from the office. The place is a little run down but the staff are so friendly you can overlook it and you can see that they are catching up on some much needed maintenance. Highly recommend you stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was price that brought us here, and we were doubly delighted to find we could have a week for the price of six days - a bonus. However there is something rather tired - even shabby about the park. It is in the most beautiful spot, Mt Wellington dominating the view to the south west, the Derwent River all about us. But the clothes line collapsed beneath my washing which was very annoying. Small repairs would brighten the place up - it has wonderful potential. But then the price might go up and that would rather defeat the purpose, wouldn't it?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Island Caravan Parks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Caravan Parks

Address: 1 Alcorso Drive, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Berriedale
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Caravan Parks Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Island Caravan Parks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.