We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our family of 4, 2 adults & 2 teens have recently returned from our first holiday to Telunas Beach. From the very beginning with correspondence with Lilis to our warm welcome with Elsa at the ferry terminal I cannot write how impressed we have been. The accommodation is great, the staff very friendly we especially loved Heriyanto with his gorgeous smile and singing and Elsa with her help to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is amazing we all loved meal times. It is just a lovely place to lay in one of the hammocks in your own cabana reading a book, sipping a cool drink, swimming, playing one of the many beach games. The hike to the waterfall is great. It is truly a magical place and only wished we could have stayed longer. Until we meet again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Donna1824,

This is the kind of review that makes me want to get out of the office and mingle with the resort guests (or grab a book and find an empty villa myself)! It's incredibly motivating to our entire team to know that our team's efforts to create a genuinely unique and refreshing guest experience are paying off. It was truly our pleasure to host you and we hope it was the first of many repeat visits to one of the region's most beautiful beaches and best kept secrets. Shhh.... don't tell anyone. I guess it's too late.

Sampai jumpa (see you again),

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Telunas embodies Indonesian "life on the water" in this unique resort which over delivers on expectations. We visited in October 2013 as a family of four.

The resort is a breath of fresh air (literally) as you enjoy Indonesian home-style comfort elevated over clear ocean water.

Built out from a a stunning white sand beach, the rooms enjoy an ocean breeze, views to die for, and a relaxed ambience which leaves your hectic life behind. You can even see the aqua water through your floorboards!

Welcoming hospitality; generous and yummy Indonesian food; clean and comfortable accommodation; free from pesky mozzies; family friendly from babies to teens....

Telunas may be described as "rustic", but it's far from tired or daggy. It's great value and well worth a visit (or two).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Chillabubba,

Thanks for your review. We too think Telunas Beach and the surrounding views are incredibly stunning and it's our pleasure to share the spot with those lucky enough to discover Telunas. We're glad that the "Indonesian-home style" comfort in the overwater setting is just what your family needed.

Taking a spin off your title, we like to think that a visit to Telunas is like leaving busy-ness behind and embracing your alter-island life.

We're looking forward to seeing you family again soon.

Sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is a good place to relax. You have a nice place to swim in the sea. You have loads of activities to entertain yourself. Like kayaking, volleyball, soccer, pingpong, jumping from the high deck, fishing, walking, catching squid in the evening, bonfire and more.
There are some books and toys for kids in the main hall. I did not use it, because I had enoug stuff to do outside. The staff was taking good care of me and made sure I was always safe. I liked the food and there was always enough food for everyone. I really liked how they have made the houses and everything out of wood.

Floor (9 years)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
HI 4-in-Singapore,

Thanks for taking time to share your Telunas experience with the community. We're glad that you had a good beachside holiday with the right mix of activity and relaxation. It's also nice to see that in the eyes of a certain type of traveller, Telunas offers quite a variety of outdoor options for a great holiday.

I'm not certain what your last comment intended to communicate but it may be related to the age of our property. Telunas Beach Resort opened in 2004, so that makes us 9 years young! The resort is built almost entirely out of wood and renewable thatched coconut and sagu leaf (atap) roofs. While 9 years is beginning to age for an Asian property, we take pride in continual maintenance and overhauls when necessary. In fact, we routinely replace roofs every 3-4 years and we are currently remodeling the Multi-family Suite.

Thanks again and sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Panjang, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The scenery is so beautiful that i'd take your breath away and never want to return home. Especially at night when there is no pollution of light like in the city, you could see the endless starlight sky that stretches beyond the horizon.

Besides that, the food was splendid with a taste of Indonesian delicacy. What i missed was the homecooked-styled fried fish they made. It's so soft you could swallow in less than 2 bites! And the service was excellent, staff are always smiling as well as hospitable and there's security guards during the night so there's nothing to worry about.

The best way to enjoy this resort is stuff away your techno gadgets and just jump down that jetty jump. There are 2 levels, if you cant swim, you can use level one which provides you with enough thrills. And for those natural thrill seekers can take the 2nd level. You'd have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the far end, which is overlooking the sea because it will be a view you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with our team and the TripAdvisor community. We completely agree that the scenery and natural beauty of Telunas (day and night) take your breath away in a way that is fantastically refreshing. The beauty of the cove and white-sand beach is what immediately lured our founders to build the resort in this spot. Your tip to pack away (or leave behind) the gadgets is right in line with our motto - simplify, clarify, connect. Telunas is the perfect setting for connecting by disconnecting (from technology and stress). We hope the memories of scrumptious meals and deck jumping bring you back to Telunas soon.

Sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Found Telunas on the internet after considering other options for a couple of days away during our stay in Singapore with family. Very good pre-arrival communication via email, we were met at Batam by a member of staff who escorted us via a local ferry and then by a Telunas small boat to the resort. Only 4 people staying so it was very very quiet but just right for us. Good basic food and facilities, don't expect luxurious extras! After having very european food for several meals we asked for local and it was excellent! We went to Moro island in one of Telunas boats, what a great excursion! Took pillion seats on motorbikes up to a temple, lovely views, the town was very friendly and interesting. Thoroughly recommend it, it doesn't seem to be on their normal itinerary but well worth going.

The only down side was that the beach was somewhat untidy, games equipment left around, towels left on the beach for a couple of days, perhaps the staff were having a bit of a break between two large groups!

We took a Telunas small boat all the way back to Batam on the way back to Singapore which was great fun (included getting wet!), much more enjoyable than the enclosed local ferry.

All in all a very relaxing time, would recommend it if you enjoy the simple quiet life. Not sure it would be quite as enjoyable if they had a full house!!

Room Tip: Go for one of the largest rooms which have wonderful views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for stopping by our little resort during your visit to Singapore. We're certainly glad you found us and had a good stay. I have brought the beach tidiness up with our team as this certainly does not meet our standards and should not happen again. I'm glad you got to explore Moro as the surrounding villages are very interesting and a bit part of why we chose to locate in the region. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Telunas has all the ingredients right for a getaway from the everyday grind.
From the home cooked hearty food to the homey chalets to a quiet beautiful beach to the very personable staff, I would highly recommend this to couples, families, friends wanting an easy weekend away from the city.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for visiting Telunas in September and sharing your island experience with the TripAdvisor community. Island time is waiting for your next break from city life.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The perfect family get away is what Telunas has to offer. Think camping gone civilized with immaculate accomodations, a helpful personable staff and great family style meals cooked by someone else. I cannot think of any one that wouldn't enjoy this resort. It is large enough to be private and romantic yet the family style meals and out door activities can lend themselves to meeting other visitors and socializing. The beach was a favorite for our boys (16,14,11,7, and 5). They chased crabs, body surfed and built sandcastles when we weren't participating in one or another perfectly orchestrated family activities. The dinner on the beach is a MUST DO as is diving off the high platform. Lilas and Elsa were instrumental in providing a perfect get away weekend to help us celebrate our sons 11th birthday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're incredibly pleased to read your review about your perfect family getaway. Your description of Telunas as "camping gone civilized with immaculate accommodations" gave us a good laugh because of it's creativity and accuracy. Lilis and Elsa mentioned to me what a great time they had hosting your family and say hello.

We hope that your next visit is not too far off.

Sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas provides "rustic elegance" for individuals and groups seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Leave stress behind and savor three included, local/internationally-influenced buffet meals. Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas’ stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: six private chalets, four deluxe rooms, one multi-family suite, five dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.