We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total rest & relax, but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy 2014 Pricing Now!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A total rest & relax, but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited this place for five days with classmates aiming for a total rest and relax, but turned out we got bored on the second night already.

They don't provide TV, they don't have internet access, they don't have much thing to entertain you.You need to be well-prepared before coming here, especially if you get bored easily just like us.

Food OK, but some meals are too spicy. Worse come to worst because they do not have menus. You eat what they serve. At some meal times, the crew were too busied up with their own meals rather than serving us (yes! they eat what the guests eat AND at the same time), they didn't even bother to check and replace the dish trays, so if you are late for meal, you'll end up eating leftovers - even if it means broth.

The jewel of this place is its refreshingly natural setting. It is a total nature refreshment and treat, but again, five days doing nothing are really boring. In general, this place is great for enjoying nature but I don't think I'll come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're truly disappointed that our resort and team did not live up to your expectations. Some things you mention in your review make it seem that your group did not truly understand the Telunas experience prior to arrival (no TVs & Internet). Could you send us an email at stay@telunasbeach.com to help us understand how we could have communicated this better throughout the booking process? We want to provide an experience that aligns with what we promote. What you mention in regard to food is an anomaly in regard to feedback we typically receive from guests. Spicy sauces are typically separated and guests can make special requests if they have dietary constraints or specific preferences. What you mention about staff eating your food has been reviewed by our team. We deeply apologize for this as there should have been ample food. Sometimes we do have groups at the resort and because of the nature of our unique interaction with these groups, the staff will mix with the guests and join them during meal time. This should be separate from the dining for guests like yourself and there should never be a shortage of food. The staff should have been at your service. Once again, if you have specific ideas on the type of activities that we could have added or offered to make your stay engaging or other feedback, please send to stay@telunasbeach.com.

Thanks for the compliments on the beauty of the natural surroundings. It even looks like you captured some fine photos!

Best regards,
Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    48
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
89
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a blast at Telunas Beach Resort. Again, I went there for a school trip but, my god, I have never had so much fun in my life! The waterfall trek was so much fun and the beach is amazing. Make sure you jump of the high tower, which was the highlight of my trip. A tip would be that you go with a group. It was a perfect beach and the water was so clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're thrilled that you fully enjoyed your Telunas stay. Thanks for sharing the tip on bringing friends. While Telunas is great for a visit as a couple or family, it's even more fun when you bring along more friends for tower jumping, board games, and beach time. See you soon.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you love the serenity of the Ocean and like to take a vacation, without thinking of any necessities, this is the place to be. The lovely rhythmic sound of the ocean, along with the flora around us, this is truly a blissful experience. I and my girlfriend stayed here for 3D2N and we had an amazing experience. The Staff - whatever compliment you give them, it feels less, they were the most amazing people in the resort, always around to help you and answer any queries you have. We took a Private cottage and we could see the ocean below through our floor (don't get worried, all the construction is done with wooden planks). The rains seems more than amazing here and it's a perfect getaway for anyone (Business/Couples/Family/Friends/Solo - it doesn't matter).
They serve you food (thrice a day - included in the cost) which is amazing (you must have read a lot about the Banana Crepes in many reviews before mine, believe me, no one is lying - They are simply amazing. They serve local dishes, which is Kudos to the Chef there). We also had a romantic candlelight dinner ordered for us, and it was amazing. They served us rendang and Black Rice Pudding Cake.
They have Board games, for the family to spend quality time with each other, and also badminton court, volleyball court, table tennis, Football (Soccer - for american friends), hammocks and chairs in the beach.
It's a great place to be, very close to Singapore and yet you don't feel like that. It Peace and Tranquility at it's best. Do visit this place, make new friends, and build an awesome memory for life.

Room Tip: Prefer an Private Chalet, it gives you more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for your rave review on your recent Telunas holiday. You point out a unique experience that not many guests have commented on. The pitter-patter of water descending upon on the leaf roofs during a rainstorm is a sublime experience. It calls for a cup of coffee or hopping back into bed. We're also glad that the dining, activities, location, and personable service suited your fancy. Please don't stay away long!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is everything you could ask for in a soothing, revitalising and carefree vacation.

I was here for a 3D2N stay with my girlfriend as part of my birthday surprise, and I am very pleasantly pleased with what this place (so close to Singapore) has to offer. Fresh air, uncrowded beach, great accommodation facilities, homely (and extremely tasty) meals, and simple carefree entertainment such as fishing, table-tennis, sunbathing, coffee by the balcony, etc.

An additional highlight in this trip is the huge homemade chocolate cake that the kitchen provided(on the house) to my surprise!

Special mention goes to the staff that left a significant impression on my stay here: Deon and Elsa (sorry if I spelled wrongly). I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're thrilled that your girlfriend was savvy enough to find Telunas and pull off the surprise. You got Elsa and Deon's names correct. Elsa was just telling me this evening how much fun they had surprising you. We hope you don't forget about us and visit again soon at our simply soothing escape.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about the Telunas Resort is spectacular! The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food is suburb, the accommodations are simple but clean and inviting. This private resort is the perfect getaway for a family or school or church group. It is isolated but there is plenty to do at the resort itself: beach volleyball, pier jumping, swimming, and star gazing at night. The staff can arrange hikes and visits to local islands and organize service projects. We took a group of 51 high school seniors for four days and they loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your "spectacular" review. While Telunas is remote, we're passionate about this environment facilitating human connectedness. Connectedness at Telunas is about enjoying those you came with and, for those adventurous enough to set out into a village, engaging the surrounding community. Your review will inspire our team to continue providing such experiences for future guests.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is an adventure getting to Telunas Beach Resort and that is part of the charm of this little island. Over the school holidays we travelled to Telunas for the second time. This time we also travelled with our friends from Melbourne who loved this island and the staff. It is a very relaxing and family orientated place - no TV but lots of games and exploring the beach and jungle. See Silly Willits (she is our friend) turned to me on the second day and said how happy she was. It is not 5 star but it is perfect for the budget conscious family who are looking for a "Villa over the water" Maldives type experience! Eian was great as was Elsa -

Room Tip: Drink plenty of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for trusting us with a second "adventure" to Telunas Beach. We're pleased to hear that you just can't keep Telunas a secret. We're also glad that you and your friends agree that the experience is a great value for an over water island getaway. Thanks for your encouragement to future guests to stay hydrated in this tropical climate. (Our staff who regularly included this in a welcome greeting will be pleased.) We hope your next visit is not far off and includes even more friends.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My biggest wish right now is that I was still at Telunas laying on the beach watching the kids play and enjoying the hospitality and food that Telunas provides. We went for a 3 night stay with some friends who live in Singapore and I was impressed from the moment Eian (?) met us at the ferry. The boat ride to the island was 1.5 hours of beautiful views and our arrival was greeted by a welcome party of towels and drinks. What a first impression. Whilst everyone on trip advisor was right that it is not 5 star, it is very clean, comfortable and safe. I have a very serious medical condition that lowers my immunity and I found the food and facilities where no problem for me. (I had packed alternative food for myself but needed none of it). We happily were one of only a few groups and this added to the tranquility, yet at dinner time we all got along famously. The resort catered so well for our groups childdren (10, 10,8) that they were happy all day long jumping off the pier, ropes course, swimming, canoeing and playing with the staff. The ten foot jump was a big big hit!
The staff are amazing and have the right mix of being available for your every need but leaving you to rest as well. We mainly had Dion as our staff member and I wanted to take him home with me! At the bonfire night we had a very funny night teaching him Australian slang and comparing notes with the Americans at the resort. The next night he hung out with us all playing board games (by invitation) and learning new dance moves. He is so clever and funny! On our last morning my daughter was very sad to leave and he made the effort to entertain the kids so we could enjoy a rest before we left. Elsa was also with us on the first night and it is obvious she enjoys her job and the guests. Lovely.
All in all it was a perfect trip and again I wish I was still there. Big kudos to all the staff (the cooks, the local helpers (Harry was so smiley)) for enhancing this little bit of heaven.
PS The cinnmon scrolls were amazing!

Room Tip: The showers leaked slightly in the deluxe family rooms, would love to stay in either chalet 3 or 5 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that your family had a stand-out getaway from the friendly staff to engaging activities. Our team gets energy from welcoming new friends (like your family) into the extended Telunas family and then, hopefully, having the pleasure of welcoming you back before long for another rejuvenating escape. Sampai jumpa!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.