We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a blast at Telunas Beach Resort. Again, I went there for a school trip but, my god, I have never had so much fun in my life! The waterfall trek was so much fun and the beach is amazing. Make sure you jump of the high tower, which was the highlight of my trip. A tip would be that you go with a group. It was a perfect beach and the water was so clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're thrilled that you fully enjoyed your Telunas stay. Thanks for sharing the tip on bringing friends. While Telunas is great for a visit as a couple or family, it's even more fun when you bring along more friends for tower jumping, board games, and beach time. See you soon.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    36
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you love the serenity of the Ocean and like to take a vacation, without thinking of any necessities, this is the place to be. The lovely rhythmic sound of the ocean, along with the flora around us, this is truly a blissful experience. I and my girlfriend stayed here for 3D2N and we had an amazing experience. The Staff - whatever compliment you give them, it feels less, they were the most amazing people in the resort, always around to help you and answer any queries you have. We took a Private cottage and we could see the ocean below through our floor (don't get worried, all the construction is done with wooden planks). The rains seems more than amazing here and it's a perfect getaway for anyone (Business/Couples/Family/Friends/Solo - it doesn't matter).
They serve you food (thrice a day - included in the cost) which is amazing (you must have read a lot about the Banana Crepes in many reviews before mine, believe me, no one is lying - They are simply amazing. They serve local dishes, which is Kudos to the Chef there). We also had a romantic candlelight dinner ordered for us, and it was amazing. They served us rendang and Black Rice Pudding Cake.
They have Board games, for the family to spend quality time with each other, and also badminton court, volleyball court, table tennis, Football (Soccer - for american friends), hammocks and chairs in the beach.
It's a great place to be, very close to Singapore and yet you don't feel like that. It Peace and Tranquility at it's best. Do visit this place, make new friends, and build an awesome memory for life.

Room Tip: Prefer an Private Chalet, it gives you more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for your rave review on your recent Telunas holiday. You point out a unique experience that not many guests have commented on. The pitter-patter of water descending upon on the leaf roofs during a rainstorm is a sublime experience. It calls for a cup of coffee or hopping back into bed. We're also glad that the dining, activities, location, and personable service suited your fancy. Please don't stay away long!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is everything you could ask for in a soothing, revitalising and carefree vacation.

I was here for a 3D2N stay with my girlfriend as part of my birthday surprise, and I am very pleasantly pleased with what this place (so close to Singapore) has to offer. Fresh air, uncrowded beach, great accommodation facilities, homely (and extremely tasty) meals, and simple carefree entertainment such as fishing, table-tennis, sunbathing, coffee by the balcony, etc.

An additional highlight in this trip is the huge homemade chocolate cake that the kitchen provided(on the house) to my surprise!

Special mention goes to the staff that left a significant impression on my stay here: Deon and Elsa (sorry if I spelled wrongly). I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're thrilled that your girlfriend was savvy enough to find Telunas and pull off the surprise. You got Elsa and Deon's names correct. Elsa was just telling me this evening how much fun they had surprising you. We hope you don't forget about us and visit again soon at our simply soothing escape.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about the Telunas Resort is spectacular! The staff is friendly and accommodating, the food is suburb, the accommodations are simple but clean and inviting. This private resort is the perfect getaway for a family or school or church group. It is isolated but there is plenty to do at the resort itself: beach volleyball, pier jumping, swimming, and star gazing at night. The staff can arrange hikes and visits to local islands and organize service projects. We took a group of 51 high school seniors for four days and they loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your "spectacular" review. While Telunas is remote, we're passionate about this environment facilitating human connectedness. Connectedness at Telunas is about enjoying those you came with and, for those adventurous enough to set out into a village, engaging the surrounding community. Your review will inspire our team to continue providing such experiences for future guests.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is an adventure getting to Telunas Beach Resort and that is part of the charm of this little island. Over the school holidays we travelled to Telunas for the second time. This time we also travelled with our friends from Melbourne who loved this island and the staff. It is a very relaxing and family orientated place - no TV but lots of games and exploring the beach and jungle. See Silly Willits (she is our friend) turned to me on the second day and said how happy she was. It is not 5 star but it is perfect for the budget conscious family who are looking for a "Villa over the water" Maldives type experience! Eian was great as was Elsa -

Room Tip: Drink plenty of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for trusting us with a second "adventure" to Telunas Beach. We're pleased to hear that you just can't keep Telunas a secret. We're also glad that you and your friends agree that the experience is a great value for an over water island getaway. Thanks for your encouragement to future guests to stay hydrated in this tropical climate. (Our staff who regularly included this in a welcome greeting will be pleased.) We hope your next visit is not far off and includes even more friends.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My biggest wish right now is that I was still at Telunas laying on the beach watching the kids play and enjoying the hospitality and food that Telunas provides. We went for a 3 night stay with some friends who live in Singapore and I was impressed from the moment Eian (?) met us at the ferry. The boat ride to the island was 1.5 hours of beautiful views and our arrival was greeted by a welcome party of towels and drinks. What a first impression. Whilst everyone on trip advisor was right that it is not 5 star, it is very clean, comfortable and safe. I have a very serious medical condition that lowers my immunity and I found the food and facilities where no problem for me. (I had packed alternative food for myself but needed none of it). We happily were one of only a few groups and this added to the tranquility, yet at dinner time we all got along famously. The resort catered so well for our groups childdren (10, 10,8) that they were happy all day long jumping off the pier, ropes course, swimming, canoeing and playing with the staff. The ten foot jump was a big big hit!
The staff are amazing and have the right mix of being available for your every need but leaving you to rest as well. We mainly had Dion as our staff member and I wanted to take him home with me! At the bonfire night we had a very funny night teaching him Australian slang and comparing notes with the Americans at the resort. The next night he hung out with us all playing board games (by invitation) and learning new dance moves. He is so clever and funny! On our last morning my daughter was very sad to leave and he made the effort to entertain the kids so we could enjoy a rest before we left. Elsa was also with us on the first night and it is obvious she enjoys her job and the guests. Lovely.
All in all it was a perfect trip and again I wish I was still there. Big kudos to all the staff (the cooks, the local helpers (Harry was so smiley)) for enhancing this little bit of heaven.
PS The cinnmon scrolls were amazing!

Room Tip: The showers leaked slightly in the deluxe family rooms, would love to stay in either chalet 3 or 5 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that your family had a stand-out getaway from the friendly staff to engaging activities. Our team gets energy from welcoming new friends (like your family) into the extended Telunas family and then, hopefully, having the pleasure of welcoming you back before long for another rejuvenating escape. Sampai jumpa!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family of 5 (my wife and I plus three kids aged 3, 8, 11) visited Telunas in June 2013. For those of you who love short reviews, you can stop reading and just go. It was one of the best vacations we’ve had.

Our trip started with a ferry ride from Harbourfront to Sekupang where we were greeted by Elsa at immigration. Elsa was the Telunas staff assigned to our family for the entire trip. Following a short walk to the local jetty, we took one of Telunas’ private boats and were on our way. The total journey from Singapore takes around 3.5 hours, but the change of ferry in Sekupang helps to break the journey. You get some nice views of the islands and small villages along the ride from Sekupang to Telunas.

Upon arrival, we were given cold towels and welcome drinks. The drink was some concoction of pineapple and orange and it was amazing. Don’t miss this. After a short briefing, we were shown our chalet. We stayed in C5 Timor. Built on stilts, the chalet came equipped with a balcony, a hammock, a private shower, 2 bunk beds, a queen-sized bed and a mattress on the floor. The place was clean, comfortable and breezy. It is not a 5 star hotel room. You give up air-conditioning, big screen TV, internet, bath tub and soft carpeting. What you get in return is a rustic chalet made with and surrounded by natural elements.

While we were there, students from a Singapore Polytechnic were also having their camp. We did not find the place to be overly noisy nor crowded as we were given a separate eating area.

The beach in Telunas is private, has very soft sand and is clean. The staff take the effort to clean the beach daily. If you walk to the far fringes of the beach, you will see some rubbish, but this is expected as the tides bring rubbish thrown from other islands. The water visibility was around 1.5 metres when we were there. Overall, it is a nice beach with some sea life. The kids loved the activities like swimming, catching crabs, fishing, hermit crab races, building sand castles etc.

Besides the beach, we also went kayaking and did the low rope course. Both were lots of fun, but do load up on mosquito repellent if you go into the jungle. On the beach and at the chalet, mosquitos are not an issue.

The food in Telunas is good and is served in abundance. My kids can be picky at times but we didn’t have any issues in Telunas. Our favorite was the sesame chicken and fish soup. I was looking forward to the famous banana crepes and on request, they made it on the last night. It was so-so but this is probably because the bananas weren’t in season or ripe enough. So I think it’s best to leave it to the cooks to decide what to cook.

Service in Telunas is excellent. Elsa was great with the kids, and on several occasions, swam with my youngest daughter for hours. She also recommended that we take our coffee with a type of spice and it tasted great (I forgot the name of the spice already). My daughters loved the fish soup and on request, the staff cooked it for us so we had the soup for a few days. Harry was always smiling as he served us during meal hours. During our kayaking trip, the current took us out so we were away for a while. Worried for our safety, they sent a boat out to look for us.

This was a surprise trip for my family in the sense that they knew we were going somewhere, but not knowing where exactly. Weeks before the trip, my kids kept asking me for clues and I had to give them a clue every day. Some of the conversations went something like this:

Children: “Are we taking an aeroplane?”
Dad: “No”
Children: “Har, I know lah, we are going to Malaysia.”
Children: “Is there a bathtub in the room?”
Dad: “No, no bathtub.”
Children: “Har, no bathtub?!! How about swimming pool?”
Dad: “No swimming pool”
Children: “Aiyo, so lousy. Is there an aircond in the room?”
Dad: “No, no aircond. But there’s a fan. And no TV too.”
Children: “Oh my God! This is a zero star hotel!”

At the end of the trip, Telunas was upgraded from zero stars to 5 stars.

For me, what is beautiful about the place is that it takes you away from the daily grind; work, emails, internet, phone calls, and lets you concentrate on spending time with family, surrounded by great service in a beautiful natural environment. We miss the place.

Room Tip: Chalets C1, C3, C5 faces the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Wow, what an amazingly thorough review of your family's getaway at Telunas! I won't add much more here as you covered so many elements of the Telunas experience. We're glad that your whole family enjoyed the stay and we hope it's the first of many visits to come.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas provides "rustic elegance" for individuals and groups seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Leave stress behind and savor three included, local/internationally-influenced buffet meals. Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas’ stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: six private chalets, four deluxe rooms, one multi-family suite, five dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.