We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A family retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is an adventure getting to Telunas Beach Resort and that is part of the charm of this little island. Over the school holidays we travelled to Telunas for the second time. This time we also travelled with our friends from Melbourne who loved this island and the staff. It is a very relaxing and family orientated place - no TV but lots of games and exploring the beach and jungle. See Silly Willits (she is our friend) turned to me on the second day and said how happy she was. It is not 5 star but it is perfect for the budget conscious family who are looking for a "Villa over the water" Maldives type experience! Eian was great as was Elsa -

Room Tip: Drink plenty of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for trusting us with a second "adventure" to Telunas Beach. We're pleased to hear that you just can't keep Telunas a secret. We're also glad that you and your friends agree that the experience is a great value for an over water island getaway. Thanks for your encouragement to future guests to stay hydrated in this tropical climate. (Our staff who regularly included this in a welcome greeting will be pleased.) We hope your next visit is not far off and includes even more friends.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My biggest wish right now is that I was still at Telunas laying on the beach watching the kids play and enjoying the hospitality and food that Telunas provides. We went for a 3 night stay with some friends who live in Singapore and I was impressed from the moment Eian (?) met us at the ferry. The boat ride to the island was 1.5 hours of beautiful views and our arrival was greeted by a welcome party of towels and drinks. What a first impression. Whilst everyone on trip advisor was right that it is not 5 star, it is very clean, comfortable and safe. I have a very serious medical condition that lowers my immunity and I found the food and facilities where no problem for me. (I had packed alternative food for myself but needed none of it). We happily were one of only a few groups and this added to the tranquility, yet at dinner time we all got along famously. The resort catered so well for our groups childdren (10, 10,8) that they were happy all day long jumping off the pier, ropes course, swimming, canoeing and playing with the staff. The ten foot jump was a big big hit!
The staff are amazing and have the right mix of being available for your every need but leaving you to rest as well. We mainly had Dion as our staff member and I wanted to take him home with me! At the bonfire night we had a very funny night teaching him Australian slang and comparing notes with the Americans at the resort. The next night he hung out with us all playing board games (by invitation) and learning new dance moves. He is so clever and funny! On our last morning my daughter was very sad to leave and he made the effort to entertain the kids so we could enjoy a rest before we left. Elsa was also with us on the first night and it is obvious she enjoys her job and the guests. Lovely.
All in all it was a perfect trip and again I wish I was still there. Big kudos to all the staff (the cooks, the local helpers (Harry was so smiley)) for enhancing this little bit of heaven.
PS The cinnmon scrolls were amazing!

Room Tip: The showers leaked slightly in the deluxe family rooms, would love to stay in either chalet 3 or 5 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that your family had a stand-out getaway from the friendly staff to engaging activities. Our team gets energy from welcoming new friends (like your family) into the extended Telunas family and then, hopefully, having the pleasure of welcoming you back before long for another rejuvenating escape. Sampai jumpa!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family of 5 (my wife and I plus three kids aged 3, 8, 11) visited Telunas in June 2013. For those of you who love short reviews, you can stop reading and just go. It was one of the best vacations we’ve had.

Our trip started with a ferry ride from Harbourfront to Sekupang where we were greeted by Elsa at immigration. Elsa was the Telunas staff assigned to our family for the entire trip. Following a short walk to the local jetty, we took one of Telunas’ private boats and were on our way. The total journey from Singapore takes around 3.5 hours, but the change of ferry in Sekupang helps to break the journey. You get some nice views of the islands and small villages along the ride from Sekupang to Telunas.

Upon arrival, we were given cold towels and welcome drinks. The drink was some concoction of pineapple and orange and it was amazing. Don’t miss this. After a short briefing, we were shown our chalet. We stayed in C5 Timor. Built on stilts, the chalet came equipped with a balcony, a hammock, a private shower, 2 bunk beds, a queen-sized bed and a mattress on the floor. The place was clean, comfortable and breezy. It is not a 5 star hotel room. You give up air-conditioning, big screen TV, internet, bath tub and soft carpeting. What you get in return is a rustic chalet made with and surrounded by natural elements.

While we were there, students from a Singapore Polytechnic were also having their camp. We did not find the place to be overly noisy nor crowded as we were given a separate eating area.

The beach in Telunas is private, has very soft sand and is clean. The staff take the effort to clean the beach daily. If you walk to the far fringes of the beach, you will see some rubbish, but this is expected as the tides bring rubbish thrown from other islands. The water visibility was around 1.5 metres when we were there. Overall, it is a nice beach with some sea life. The kids loved the activities like swimming, catching crabs, fishing, hermit crab races, building sand castles etc.

Besides the beach, we also went kayaking and did the low rope course. Both were lots of fun, but do load up on mosquito repellent if you go into the jungle. On the beach and at the chalet, mosquitos are not an issue.

The food in Telunas is good and is served in abundance. My kids can be picky at times but we didn’t have any issues in Telunas. Our favorite was the sesame chicken and fish soup. I was looking forward to the famous banana crepes and on request, they made it on the last night. It was so-so but this is probably because the bananas weren’t in season or ripe enough. So I think it’s best to leave it to the cooks to decide what to cook.

Service in Telunas is excellent. Elsa was great with the kids, and on several occasions, swam with my youngest daughter for hours. She also recommended that we take our coffee with a type of spice and it tasted great (I forgot the name of the spice already). My daughters loved the fish soup and on request, the staff cooked it for us so we had the soup for a few days. Harry was always smiling as he served us during meal hours. During our kayaking trip, the current took us out so we were away for a while. Worried for our safety, they sent a boat out to look for us.

This was a surprise trip for my family in the sense that they knew we were going somewhere, but not knowing where exactly. Weeks before the trip, my kids kept asking me for clues and I had to give them a clue every day. Some of the conversations went something like this:

Children: “Are we taking an aeroplane?”
Dad: “No”
Children: “Har, I know lah, we are going to Malaysia.”
Children: “Is there a bathtub in the room?”
Dad: “No, no bathtub.”
Children: “Har, no bathtub?!! How about swimming pool?”
Dad: “No swimming pool”
Children: “Aiyo, so lousy. Is there an aircond in the room?”
Dad: “No, no aircond. But there’s a fan. And no TV too.”
Children: “Oh my God! This is a zero star hotel!”

At the end of the trip, Telunas was upgraded from zero stars to 5 stars.

For me, what is beautiful about the place is that it takes you away from the daily grind; work, emails, internet, phone calls, and lets you concentrate on spending time with family, surrounded by great service in a beautiful natural environment. We miss the place.

Room Tip: Chalets C1, C3, C5 faces the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Wow, what an amazingly thorough review of your family's getaway at Telunas! I won't add much more here as you covered so many elements of the Telunas experience. We're glad that your whole family enjoyed the stay and we hope it's the first of many visits to come.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstebro, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

To be fair - we should have given Telunas 4 stars but i have instinctively given it 3. However this rating is probably more due to us selecting the wrong type of resort rather than something that the staff at Telunas could do different.

The setting is absolutely beautiful, secluded, peaceful.... and where we should probably have done some meditation, read a few more books, we were yearning for more knowledge of the locals, their communites, culture, nature (so the local village tour were perfect for us!). Also we would have loved higher expertise on local fauna (but we came just from Borneo which set the bar kinda high for the local guides)

They made sure we were really good taken care of - a guide were there just for us and the tone between staff, guests and guide were super close and friendly. And what we needed as this point on our travel were probably a bit of anonymity.

So all in all. They deserve 4 stars - we gave it 3 as it were not really the right pick for us.

Some ideas for Telunas:

- Make a cooking class once a week - bring people to the market and let them prepare their own local dishes.
- Bring some nature specialist for a hike once or twice a week - maybe even a nightly jungle tour with headlamps. The nature is really great to look at - but even more interesting when you have someone really knowledgeable explaining about it.
- Also some really nice juices made from local tropical fruits would be appropriate in the bar instead of just water and canned soda - this would really support the trocial remote island feel

Thanks for all the smiles, the good food and your efforts :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your honest review. Though we think Telunas is a special spot and we aim to delight every guest, Telunas may not be the right vacation getaway for everyone. You have done a good job at pointing out some distinctions that may be helpful for potential guests to be aware of.
It's good for us to see that some of the suggestions you raise are things that we are already discussing or working on.
Cooking classes: This is an idea that we are looking to integrate into our new site that is being developed at Telunas Island.
Nature specialist(s): You have correctly noted that our guest services staff have a very basic scientific knowledge of local flora and fauna. While we have done base level training on this and have further professional development in progress, most of our team members are from a variety of different non-scientific backgrounds as they must be able to handle a wide variety of guest needs (not simply scientific knowledge). We will take your idea of bringing and outside person in under consideration as we have done this for specific larger groups.
Juices: These are the kinds of tropical touches that we will be rolling out at our new resort early next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Probably the most memorable experiences in Telunas are the stars at night and that special welcome drink you get after the ~2 hour ride from Batam to the resort.
The 10 meter high Jetty jump is a must try while there, giving you an adrenaline you would not find otherwise on the relaxing trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, be they bunks or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at Telunas from welcome drink to exhilarating deck jumping. We are truly thrilled to hear that our guests continue to enjoy the unique mix of relaxation and remarkable activities. We hope you'll be back soon for another escape.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner. To be switched off from 'the real world' for a few days was amazing. We were collected in Batam by Aan and taken to the local boat to transfer to telunas. Was a very interesting ride, but part of the whole experience! It was just us and a group of uni students from singapore on the island and we hardly saw them the whole time. It was like we had the whole place to ourselves! We had pizza on the beach and a bonfire the first night which was great and we had the 'romantic dinner' on the second night which is a must!

We basically spent our time walking on the beach and stepping in the hammocks. It was total bliss. We also spent time fishing off the deck which was great even though we didn't catch anything. We received such great service the whole time,it really was the most relaxing experience I've ever had.

The only downside was the rubbish that was on the beach further down from the resort. This obviously washes up from the sea but we were quite shocked at how much there was. Not a fault if the resort at all!

We were also surprised to be taken to a different island on the way back to catch the connection to batam. I didn't enjoy this part at all and felt quite unsafe after our telunas host left us. So be aware do that bit.

Would go back in a heartbeat and will recommend this place to everyone!

Thank you Aan and staff for looking after us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Lloydser. Thanks for taking time to put your Telunas experience out for others to read. We're glad the tranquility and service suited you.

As you may have heard from our staff or noted in last year's reviews around this time, we have four wind seasons here. June-August brings more constant winds from the South and since our beach is South-facing, this sometimes brings in additional rubbish. While this is a problem that we attempt to manage on our portion of the beach, this is a larger problem in Indonesia where waste disposal is a true issue. Telunas seeks to recycled and find other environmentally friendly solutions here at the resort but we would also like to be a part of bringing solutions to the broader community. If you are any readers have experience or ideas on how we could bring trash disposal solutions to the surrounding islands, we would be glad to partner with you.

You bring up a good point about the public ferry. I'm sorry this was unpleasant for you. For potential guests reading this, please only select this transportation option if you are comfortable with third-world bus-like conditions including smoke, tight seating, and crowded conditions. This is particularly true during holidays and school vacations. If at all possible, we highly recommend selecting our private wooden longboat.

Aan sends greetings along with our staff team.

Relax,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked for a 2 night stay over first week of June 2013. The email communications from the management (Lilis) was very responsive and helpful, providing proactive tips on routes, timings and such. We were received at the ferry terminal and transported to the resort without a worry by a 90 minute long boat journey. Welcome drinks and cold towels on arrival are much appreciated.

The resort itself is secluded, peaceful and quiet. Only 3 families (plus a school group) when we were there. No hustle and bustle. the only dilemma was when and how long to be at the beach. Quite a tranquil place. Nice strip of beach, pleasant in the afternoon. Nothing to do, except to relax. Heavenly! Have some sports by the beach like table tennis, volleyball, a surf board, can rent kayaks, footballs etc. We also had a bonfire and pizza by the beach for a bit extra.

Food was good. Nothing fancy, but satisfying. Rooms are clean and well maintained with clean bathrooms. Dining area has a nice view and good to hangout after food.

Special mention to our hosts Elsa & Dior for always being there with a smile. They make the difference!

It was a pleasurable visit overall and we do plan to be back...with friends.

Room Tip: Some tips for prospective travellers: - Check that they do not have any big school groups to coin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Arun,

It was great to meet you this past week and it's a pleasure to see your quick write up of your Telunas experience. It's always a great encouragement to our team to see their names mentioned and read the specific things that guests enjoyed. We hope the memories of beachside relaxation keep you fueled for a while and that it's not long before we can meet your friends and see you again!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas provides "rustic elegance" for individuals and groups seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Leave stress behind and savor three included, local/internationally-influenced buffet meals. Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas’ stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: six private chalets, four deluxe rooms, one multi-family suite, five dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.