We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing - Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner. To be switched off from 'the real world' for a few days was amazing. We were collected in Batam by Aan and taken to the local boat to transfer to telunas. Was a very interesting ride, but part of the whole experience! It was just us and a group of uni students from singapore on the island and we hardly saw them the whole time. It was like we had the whole place to ourselves! We had pizza on the beach and a bonfire the first night which was great and we had the 'romantic dinner' on the second night which is a must!

We basically spent our time walking on the beach and stepping in the hammocks. It was total bliss. We also spent time fishing off the deck which was great even though we didn't catch anything. We received such great service the whole time,it really was the most relaxing experience I've ever had.

The only downside was the rubbish that was on the beach further down from the resort. This obviously washes up from the sea but we were quite shocked at how much there was. Not a fault if the resort at all!

We were also surprised to be taken to a different island on the way back to catch the connection to batam. I didn't enjoy this part at all and felt quite unsafe after our telunas host left us. So be aware do that bit.

Would go back in a heartbeat and will recommend this place to everyone!

Thank you Aan and staff for looking after us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Lloydser. Thanks for taking time to put your Telunas experience out for others to read. We're glad the tranquility and service suited you.

As you may have heard from our staff or noted in last year's reviews around this time, we have four wind seasons here. June-August brings more constant winds from the South and since our beach is South-facing, this sometimes brings in additional rubbish. While this is a problem that we attempt to manage on our portion of the beach, this is a larger problem in Indonesia where waste disposal is a true issue. Telunas seeks to recycled and find other environmentally friendly solutions here at the resort but we would also like to be a part of bringing solutions to the broader community. If you are any readers have experience or ideas on how we could bring trash disposal solutions to the surrounding islands, we would be glad to partner with you.

You bring up a good point about the public ferry. I'm sorry this was unpleasant for you. For potential guests reading this, please only select this transportation option if you are comfortable with third-world bus-like conditions including smoke, tight seating, and crowded conditions. This is particularly true during holidays and school vacations. If at all possible, we highly recommend selecting our private wooden longboat.

Aan sends greetings along with our staff team.

Relax,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
90
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked for a 2 night stay over first week of June 2013. The email communications from the management (Lilis) was very responsive and helpful, providing proactive tips on routes, timings and such. We were received at the ferry terminal and transported to the resort without a worry by a 90 minute long boat journey. Welcome drinks and cold towels on arrival are much appreciated.

The resort itself is secluded, peaceful and quiet. Only 3 families (plus a school group) when we were there. No hustle and bustle. the only dilemma was when and how long to be at the beach. Quite a tranquil place. Nice strip of beach, pleasant in the afternoon. Nothing to do, except to relax. Heavenly! Have some sports by the beach like table tennis, volleyball, a surf board, can rent kayaks, footballs etc. We also had a bonfire and pizza by the beach for a bit extra.

Food was good. Nothing fancy, but satisfying. Rooms are clean and well maintained with clean bathrooms. Dining area has a nice view and good to hangout after food.

Special mention to our hosts Elsa & Dior for always being there with a smile. They make the difference!

It was a pleasurable visit overall and we do plan to be back...with friends.

Room Tip: Some tips for prospective travellers: - Check that they do not have any big school groups to coin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Arun,

It was great to meet you this past week and it's a pleasure to see your quick write up of your Telunas experience. It's always a great encouragement to our team to see their names mentioned and read the specific things that guests enjoyed. We hope the memories of beachside relaxation keep you fueled for a while and that it's not long before we can meet your friends and see you again!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our fourth visit there within 3 years. What more can we said? Staff, rustic setup, food were excellent. We managed to catch total of 18 fishes in 2 days and had them for our meal. If you have not been, you are missing something.

Room Tip: Private room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for your faithful visits and sharing the news about Telunas with the world. It sounds like you had a prolific catch this time. We're looking forward to your fifth visit!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is very different.....simple yet special in its own ways. I hope it stays this way....quiet!!! yet profitable for all its people:-)

The people are the best, its nature, environment, the rooms, the activities are very interesting.

The staff are friendly and always going the extra mile....helpful and sincere. Thank you Agus!:-). We hope to meet you again!!

On the down side, was disappointed with the water and the beach. Not the best for swimming. The sand was a bit disappointing but we will definitely go again !!

Indra, Audrey & Rolf

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Indra, Audrey, and Rolf:

Thanks for your recent stay and taking the time to review our overwater establishment.

We do pride ourselves on creating an experience that is quite unlike the common mass beach resort. Our hope is that this is uniquely refreshing and we are pleased when we hear such feedback.

Our white-sand beach provides an ideal setting for sunbathing, lounging with a book, playing with the kids on the beach, or frolicking in the shallow waters. For those seeking world-class diving or snorkeling, the outer islands of Indonesia are more suitable. From late May to mid August breezes from the South bring rolling waves and less clear waters. With access by an easy boat transfer from Singapore, most guests discover utter relaxation and beachside fun.

Agus sends greetings and we all hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After 3 days and 2 nights at Telunas, all 19 of us made it back safely home and are busy back at work and school, nursing our tired bodies, minor cuts and bruises. But more importantly, every father and son had a most enjoyable and meaningful time together both personally together and in all the team activities. All these would not have been possible without Lilis and the staff of Telunas who helped to ensure the suites were well maintained with clean beds, the meeting room spacious and adequately equipped and yes, the good food (with the sambal chilli separated!) that we enjoyed over the last 3 days. There were also wonderful moments which was only made possible by Telunas such as the free birthday cakes for 3 of our fathers. The kids’ special moment for many had been the jetty jumps with their fathers (and those with their friends of course!)

Most of all, all the Telunas staff have been most attentive to our needs and responded well and truly, we want to thank them for a most wonderful time. We look forward to returning again with another group of fathers and sons in the near future. Thank you and God bless!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks Boh for your great review of the Father-Son stay at Telunas. We're thrilled that everyone enjoyed their stay and that such great bonding and memories were created. Several of our team members have commented on how much they enjoyed your group. We hope work and school is not too shocking and look forward to seeing you again in the coming months.

Regards,
Brad Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We - a family of threee - went to Telunas in March 2013 and enjoyed our stay tremendously.

The experience started at the Sekupang Ferry Terminal just after arrival from Singapore where our host Lilis picked us up and guided us to the local ferry to continue our journey to the resort. Admitedly, one has to be a bit adventurous when looking at the local ferry but we took it as an experience. The ferry took us to Moro Island from where Telunas' own long boat picked us up and took us to the resort.

The complete resort is built in local style (on stilts) and while it meets all basic needs it is not as luxurious as one may know it from other Indonesian locations such as Bali. This resort is the only one on the island means that it offers complete tranquility and relaxation.

We booked a water chalet which comes with a queen size bed and a bunk bed, a private balcony and a private bathroom/toilet, big enough to accomodate four persons.

In absence of any outside restaurants/eateries the resort provide three meals a day, all very tasty and deliciously cooked. You may hear/read about the banana crepes, these are indeed fabulous and certainly the signature dish!

Snacks, drinks and souveniers are sold at affordable prices from their own little convenience shop.

Landscape-wise the beach is stunning, big enough that no one is disturbed in his/her privacy. Though I am not into watersports, I believe some equipment can be rented from the resort if desired.

The whole staff is extremely polite, friendly and helpful and kids are very welcome which makes it a perfect place for families.

I understand that the owners is currently constructing a second resort on the island adjacent to Telunas Beach which will be more tailored to individual travelers and families while Telunas Beach is more for groups (indeed the place got very lively when a school class arrived on our last evening).

Given that there're so many beautiful places to explore in Southeast Asia we might not be back in teh immediate future but we will be back one day for sure (maybe when the new place is ready?).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review that points out many specific aspects of the Telunas experience which should be helpful to future guests. As you note, apart from simply relaxing on the fine beach there are further ways to enjoy your stay such as renting a kayak and exploring the cove or taking a trek to a nearby waterfall. Telunas Beach Resort is built on stilts above the sea to mimic the local architecture. We've aimed to make the buildings simple and eco-friendly so the resort blurs into the environment. We've sought to then bring in surprising little comforts for a rustic resort so that guests truly enjoy their stay. We're glad you liked the place and we hope that your journeys bring you back to Telunas more quickly than anticipated. As you note, we do have a project in the works on Telunas island that we hope will delight our favorite families and couples even more fully. Sign up for our newsletter for future updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited Telunas with a group of friends and lots of kids between us. We had a fantastic stay and loved every minute. The kids had lots of fun on the low ropes with Gideon and just loved jumping from the jetty into the sea. Its so free and easy there. The staff loved the kids and made a huge fuss of them at all times. The food was lovely and the kitchen very accommodating to our needs. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your visit and kind review. We're glad your whole family had a blast. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Resorts - Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.