We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Budget Vacation Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telunas Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Telunas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Telunas Beach Resort
Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Budget Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Gorgeous place, basic but super clean, excellent service, really good value for money, what more can one ask for? I stayed at Telunas with my husband & 3 kids (5-10 yrs) for 5 days & 4 nights. The total cost of the trip including the ferry to & from Singapore was SGD 2000. They were thoughtful enough to cater to my husband's vegetarian meals & Nick, our host, was brilliant with the kids. All of us loved it & plan to go back regularly :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    42
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
87
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I went to Singapore to visit my daughter and then went to Telunas beach for the new year. We couldn't have been more pleased. We were greeted by Hannah in Batam and then taken to the island. The staff was so welcoming and genuinely made you feel they were happy you were there. The entire staff was very attentive and and always had a smile. The meals were outstanding and the chalets were so fun to stay in. The hike up to the waterfall was a great experience. It rained some but that just added to the adventure. Thank you to all the amazing staff at Telunas Beach for making our stay a time we will all treasure.

Room Tip: If you can afford a chalet and are able to get one I highly recommend it especially if you are a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently spent a few days at Telunas Beach Resort as part of our honeymoon and thought the venue was wonderful. Being somewhat isolated meant we had to relax, sleep, eat.....and then do it all again the next day. Ah-An (our host) was very attentive and met our every need with a smile and efficiency that was typical of all the staff at this tropical paradise.
The weather was warm and humid (as you might expect) with a couple of tropical storms thrown in just to add a bit of excitement, but the water was great to swim in and the over water chalets were magical at night.
Whilst there did not initially seem like much to do, (we are used to more active holidays), we found the kyaking, hiking and swimming enough to balance out all the sleeping and eating we seemed to do. At least enough not to feel guilty.
Overall a great destination if you are looking for something a little different and totally relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have now traveled to Telunas Beach 3 times. The first was with a school retreat and the second and third were with the family. Their facilities and activities are fantastic. It is easy to get to via Singapore, and is an excellent trip for families of any age. No complaints here. None. You should definetely go if you're in the SE Asia area.

Room Tip: Deluxe Chalets have hot water, no AC, but not necessary due to very high powered fans. Family suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you are looking for some serious time out from the hustle and bustle of life, then this is a place well worth considering. Telunas Beach Resort is a place to take a few good books and a desire not to do a lot. We did the walk to the waterfall, which was well worth it (boat ride to the track) and also paddled 2 km to the closest (non-inhabited) island. You won't need a lot of money to spend as there are no shops, save for a small one at the resort (there is limited alcohol available so if you have a favourite spirit then you might want to bring a bottle). The boat trip from Singapore to Sekupang (Indonesia) is only 50 minutes. You then add another 1.5 hours from Sekupang to the resort. The staff - Aan, Wati and Naila - are all lovely and tend to all your every need. The villa's have all you need (shower, toilet) and there is a generator that runs electricity. There is no TV or air con. Just a breeze off the water with a fan overhead. I took my Samsung Galaxy Note and watched a few movies!! In terms of clothing, take the bare essentials. The weather is very similar to Singapore. If you have a family then this is a good place as the kids can play and swim all day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our second visit to Telunas, the first having been in July of this year. Interestingly it appeared completely different as the waves were approaching from a different direction and the sea was almost perfectly calm. We were also able to watch, and photograph, the fantastic storms in the distance. The hosts are great. A visit there is more like a big family gathering!

Don't go there if you expect a spa resort, cable television in your room and an a la carte restaurant.. Go there if you like total rest, relaxation, nature and friendly, genuine people.

We love Telunas as a perfect long weekend away from Singapore. We're already wondering when to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

You reach quiet natural site in 3+ hours from Singapore. It is certainly great idea to spend weekend with kids over there! For reasonable price you enjoy private beach, jungle hiking, jumps from 6 meters into the sea, night shrimping and much more. If you look for snorkeling, go to Malaysia. But if you wish to relax in nature, go to Telunas Beach. Very nice people, regular indonesian food. Perfect to spend 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in private chalet C6 (the most distant, nobody is passing by).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Anggrek Luar #23 | Baloi Persero, Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Telunas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telunas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.