We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancombe Country Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maiden Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancombe Country Cottages
Save
You added Lancombe Country Cottages to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Higher Chilfrome, Maiden Newton DT2 0HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here last week in Wey Lodge as a family of four. Would thoroughly recommend it. There were a few small things missing or broken on arrival but on reporting them they were acknowledged/recitified. The lodge was spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of coming with bedding, towels and all those annoying little things you usually end up taking with you when self catering.

The on site swimming pool was a real bonus and the kids loved it. Most days we were the only ones in it.

The only slight disadvantage is the location - whilst very peaceful it does take a while to get anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with a family of 4 at Wet lodge, lodge was clean and spacious and well decorated, facilities are excellent, nice pool, WiFi in the lodge etc. View is fantastic and the area is quiet, you will need a car as the lodges are in the middle of nowhere but would definitely recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapcote, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks summer fun staying at Asker Lodge. The accomodation was perfect. When we arrived at the cottage we were greeted with tea, coffee biscuits and milk, and the dog had its own bowl with treats and poo bags. They had thought of everything. A laundry room where they provided wash powder and softner along with the washing machine for £1 a wash, an assortment of board games for the kids and a DVD library, a perfect pool with a sauna and shower room. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves.
There was even a woodland walk in the grounds which the dog loved. If you fancied a BBQ you could take a disposable one or the coals to use on the built in BBQ's in the garden from the laundry room again for a £1.
About 12 miles away was weymouth beach. The ideal place for the kids and the dog to play.
When we were there the weather was exceptional and the sea warm.
We would also recommend the Fox and Hound at Cattistock. Exceptional food, good beer and very dog friendly all within a 5minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Axe Lodge in November 2012 for 3 nights, booked online via Cottages4You. Perfect size for a couple, with surprisingly spacious living/kitchen area. Everything was clean and fresh. The kitchen was well equipped, although we ate out there was all that you need to cook properly. We stayed here for one of the wettest weekends of the year but did not take away our enjoyment as it was just nice to get away from it all. Quite remote location but nice places to visit, local pubs and towns with nice cafes and shops. We would have liked to explore the footpaths etc but the weather did not permit. We are planning to return in 2013 as we liked it so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed as small family (2 adults and one baby) in Axe Lodge. The owners were very helpful and accommodating during the booking process. The lodge itself was excellent - cosy, well equipped and finished to a high standard. We had lovely views across fields and our lodge was private and quiet. The site itself had excellent facilities - swimming pool and sauna (both quiet and well-maintained) and washing machines and dryers.

In the area there is so much to do (much of it included in the information packs in the lodge). We took a walk in the immediate countryside and also headed to the coast and nearby towns for museums and attractions.

A fantastic base for a beautiful area; we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in Axe Lodge which is a two person log cabin which allows you to take dogs. So far so good. On arrival we were immediately impressed by the spacious grounds around the lodges and a feeling of having your own space. The lodge was really well laid out and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We usually avoid eating in a lot as it is a holiday. However because we had left it late for the break 6th October we knew eating out in pub gardens would be out, and with two dogs we would have to self-cater most of the time. A goody packed big supermarket delivery booked for our first night took care of that. We found that Lancombe Cottages had all the faciltiies we needed, a pool, a sauna, exercise area for the dogs, a library of dvds and books, games and a laundry. Because it was quiet it was like having a private pool and no one was ever in there when we used it so really felt exclusive.

In the area there is a lot to do, loads of beaches and at that time of year no dog restrictions on any. We went to West Bay and found a really nice fishmongers and bought some freshly caught fish and sea food. There are good dog walks at Frampton, near Cattistock and Hooke through woodlands. Bags of attractions if you have a family - we did go to Monkey World and this was fabulous and really enjoyable.

For non-home cooked food we got chinese take away from Dorchester, and although a 10 mile trip back still had hot food by the time we got it on the table. There is a fish and chip shop in Maiden Newton which is nice. The Pub in Cattistock is good and dog friendly. Local shops for the basic cupboard items are in Maiden Newton but both Tesco and Sainsbury deliver so if you feel inclined put in an order so you get a good selection delivered to the lodge or cottage. There are supermarkets within 10 miles though, if you do not want home delivery.

The weather was pretty poor but because the lodges were cozy, you could have a swim, sauna and go out and about during a clear spell and this was fine for us. If you are looking to be in the middle of a very busy area this is not for you. If you want to recharge the battery and find some tranquility then it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow, essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Lydden Cottage which is a 2 bedroom cottage. A lovely place - we had a "welcome tray" on arrival with tea, coffee, sugar, and biscuits and milk in the fridge which was great.
The owners had left little towels as well as our "big towels" for our baby which was a lovely touch. It was equipped with everything you could need plus the on site swimming pool was lovely! It was a great base for exploring dorset and we were so lucky with the weather!!
We would definately stay here again next time we come to dorset!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancombe Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancombe Country Cottages

Address: Higher Chilfrome, Maiden Newton DT2 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Maiden Newton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Maiden Newton
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancombe Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancombe Country Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.