We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Frontenac Provincial Park

Frontenac Provincial Park
6700 Salmon Lake Road, Verona, Ontario, Canada
613-376-3489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Verona
Type: National Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Camping, Canoeing, Hiking
Attraction details
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst experience of my life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There were no fish caught, and we were persistently harassed by the park warden. He interrogated us for two periods of over one hour because he suspected that we had placed a tent outside the 14x14 square on our campsite, without any proof what-so-ever. He rummaged through our equipment and garbage bags even though we asked him not to. He was rude and condescending, and eventually fined us a total of $250 for drinking a beer outside of our very small designated campsite. We were out fishing when he came to our campsite, and since we weren't there at 2 pm, he called my wife at home (with our baby daughter) and told her that I was lost and could not be found, making her incredibly worried. He was racist, describing Eastern Europeans as filthy and rude people that he does not want in his park. I have never felt so insulted in my life and I would not go through that degrading experience if you paid me $10000.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kingston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A reasonable drive thru some beautiful country leads to a magical place to walk, hike and camp. A great place to go for a BBQ, lunch or dinner. And, you can even canoe or kayak.
The photo opps are numerous and there are many trails to choose from - easy, medium and hard. Bring good shoes

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hike, camp and canoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's a great place to hike, camp and even canoe, either for a day or weekend or few days. The trails are well kept and it also helps if you have the right footwear as the trails on the terrain can get difficult. If you are going to camp then it's a good idea to reserve online. There are some cottagers at the edge of the park, forget which area exactly and I find that takes a little out of the experience. You think your fine and next thing you know it you're on another person's property. Overall, it's a nice place and should you need a canoe or kayak then stop by Frontenac Outfitters, it's on the way

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a beautiful place to go to camp, canoe, hike, cross-country ski, be at one with nature. If you love to be outdoors then this is one place you should make a point to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Popular with locals as well as visitors to the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A "threshold" wilderness park, good place to hone camping, portaging and paddling skills before heading to more isolated places. Cluster tent sites are primitive. Trail centre with maps, info, rest rooms. Trails of varying degree of difficulty for hiking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Skill programs year-round. A canoe trip in this park requires a lot of portaging between lakes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontenac Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Frontenac Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontenac Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.