We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, warm hospitality, decent rooms, scary stairs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Labuan Bajo
illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great view, warm hospitality, decent rooms, scary stairs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed just two nights, on either end of a little dive trip. We booked directly through the hotel website, and the owners were very quick and responsive with email. They provided a free pickup from the airport, which we very much appreciated, and the vibe was casual, warm and welcoming. The restaurant/reception area is full of personal picture albums and educational info about the area, and it's obvious the owners are there because they appreciate the island. I thought before I arrived that I might end up wishing I had planned more time on Flores, and after our stay up there, I definitely wish we would have.

The rooms are spare but attractive, and the views from the balconies are awesome. Plenty of space inside and out. In addition to their included breakfast, which starts early in the morning, they also leave a carafe of hot water with some tea and instant coffee on the terrace table. A nice touch.

Now for the less-than-great part--the stairs! I had somehow imagined the "Hilltop" part of the name related more to the march up the road than the march up the property stairs. The walk up the hill from town to the hotel isn't actually bad at all, and it puts you in a much more peaceful place than anywhere we saw in town. But the stairs at the hotel are killer, especially if you are, like we were, carrying some 60 lbs. each of bulky, awkward dive gear, or if one of your party is prone to sore knees. Up is hard, down is just plain scary! Some of the stairs are steep, others are shallow, and there's not always a place to put a steadying hand. Fortunately, there's always someone, be it staff or bemo driver's kid, who's willing to lend a hand. We had the highest rooms. If I were bringing that kind of luggage again, I'd ask for a lower room--the climb to those isn't bad at all.

Given that, I think this would still be my top pick for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    87
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
123
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We booked the hotel through www.itravelindonesia.com. We paid USD 32 for Superior Double. The hotel is basic facilities but enough. The restaurant have a good serve for seafood cooky and serving was ok.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is an excellent place to stay when you visit Labuanbajo. Lots of positives, and just a couple of negatives.

Positives include the rooms, which are well cooled, clean, and have great sunset views. The newer rooms are higher, beautifully finished, and have hot water, although it must be said that the cold water in the older rooms is really lukewarm, being stored in a holding tank in full sunlight.

Other positives are the welcome and service you get here, the quality and price of the food, and the ability of the hotel to organise your trips out to Komodo and Rinca (we chose Rinca and are really pleased that we did so). They also arranged our transport from Maumere through the interior of Flores.

Clues to the negatives are in the name of the hotel. It's on a small hill at the edge of town. The walk down into town is fine; it takes around 10 minutes to get to the main road where the Bemos run past. The walk back up takes longer, particularly at hot times of the day, at night, or after rain. You can sometimes get Bemos to go up the hill from town, at a cost of only Rp30k, but not always.

The second negative related to the hilltop site is that there is unfortunately no room for a pool.

Overall I wouldn't recommend the Golo Hilltop to anyone with mobility problems, and for that matter neither would I recommend Flores! But for other travellers I think it's a really good value option. We greatly enjoyed the 5 nights we spent there.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Perfect hotel in Labuan Bajo, not in the centre, but doesn't really matter as the "city" itself is a dump. Book the new rooms. Good value for the price and the hotel has a perfect & very cheap restaurant. The hotel is run but two Dutch friends and made it into a good location to stay for a few days and visit Rinca (forget about Komodo - Rinca is far better) and excellent !! diving.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I have stayed at Golo hilltop mant times over the last five years, but have also tried many other hotels in Labuanbajo.
Golo is outstanding for many reasons.
It is quiet! Labuan can be very noisy with motor bikes and mosque music, but Golo, being a short walk from town avoids that.
The renovated top rooms are very luxurious and still not expensive.
The food is to die for, especially the fish buffets and the home -made bread.
The staff are very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is my home away from home.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

The Golo Hilltop offers a safe haven if you have been travelling around the islands for a while on a tight budget.
It`s basic,but clean and effective,the food is good for vesterns,and the view of the bay is exellent from the restaurant.
We had a great bed,even better than on Bali.No hot water,but aircon.
The place far exeeded my expectations.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The dirt road up the hill
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Golo Hilltop hotel was a good place to stay in and use as a base for trips to Komodo National Park and elsewhere. It had a great view of the sea. The cottages were clean and simple with all basic amenities that worked. The owners and staff were very friendly, considerate and flexible. The restaurant was excellent and had lots of vegetarian dishes. The overall atmosphere was cosy and homely. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Liked — homely and clean
  • Disliked — the mattresses in one room sagged
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.