We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value and Stay in Labuan Bajo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Value and Stay in Labuan Bajo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Golo is a nice oasis in Labuan Bajo and was by far the best value place to stay. We stayed for one night before a 3 day liveaboard and loved it. We would have stayed on the back-end of the diving trip but unfortunately it was booked. Golo is situated up a hill about a 5 minute drive from town and it is nice to have a gorgeous view and a nice and quite place. The pool is fabulous and you can get food and drinks served right there. The whole property is extremely well taken care of and is beautiful. Each room has a little porch which is great to sit out on and read / enjoy the view. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with taxis, etc. The room was clean and the bathroom was as well - also AC which is a must! The wifi worked well when we were there so I believe they have resolved any previous issues. The food was good enough too that you didn't have to head into town unless you wanted to. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    109
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
53
171
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our experience from booking until departing Golo was excellent. We had confidence from the beginning that everything would be great, and it was. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with amazing views. It was great to have a pool, not many places do in Labuan.
The walk into town was only about 10mins and enjoyed the walk back after dinner each evening.
Judith and Ingrid arranged a 2day boat trip for us which was fantastic, the crew were excellent and they dropped us off at Kanawa Island for a 3day away from it all experience.
Thank you to all the staff, if we go back to Labuan we would love to stay with you again.

Room Tip: Book a room high up as views were amazing, they are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haute savoie
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the most beautiful settings for a hotel that I have seen. The sunsets from the patio were amazing. The welcome most friendly, and helpful as our booking had not been made as asked. They managed to give us an extra day when they had a cancellation. The food was a bit basic, but there are plenty of good restaurants in the town, about 15 mins walk away.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, beautiful location, nice garden, and a pool. What a nice place to stay. Ut's a bit pricy for SE Asia but normal for Indo. The owners were more that happy to help us book a boat trip to Rinca and Komodo islands. The walk into town takes about 15 mins.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just a 10-15 min walk uphill from the town centre, but worth staying in this nice and quiet place. The view over the bay is stunning and the nice pool setting is a big bonus. Rooms equiped with fan, good working airco and coffee & tea. Spacious bathrooms ensuite with even hot water. Management and personal is very friendly and willing to help you with whatever you need. The price is realy fair compared to most other places in town. The older rooms need some work, but according tot the management this is planned. We allready booked for 2014!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and loved the view and the pool, the rooms are very nice.

The welcome was disappointing. Basically, the staff showed us our room and dropped our luggage there, but that was all. Quite a shock compared to all other places we have stayed at in Indonesia, with very warm welcome and advise on what to do. When we asked the staff, the advice was rather poor. After 2 days we finally managed to meet the hosts and they are very friendly and helpful, so this made up for the rest a bit.

The ambience with other guests was not too great neither. Many people stay for only one day and there is little interaction between different guests.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location is super, providing a very memorable view from the rooms, restaurant and the pool. It is a simple walk downhill into town of about 10 minutes, and a quick motorbike taxi back for 20 thousand rupiah. Don't let the location interfere with your choice. It's not a big deal. The staff was very friendly and helpful during my stay and beforehand via email.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.