We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Golo Hilltop was a great stay. We we're originally going to stay at the Bayview Gardens but they were fully booked.

They arranged pickup from the airport for 30,000RP for us too.

Our room was their cheapest at 250,000RP and was on the same level as reception/dining room. It is quite steep compared to the rest of Indonesia but has a fantastic view over the bay and you get a lot for your money. Our room was perfect except the fan is on the wrong wall and doesn't swing round to the bed which really effected our sleep quality. The cold water shower isn't cold cold. The room was exceptionally clean.

The room rate included all taxes and a free breakfast and Golo has free Wi-Fi and an amazing swimming pool. You could laze around it all day no problem.

The staff were great and the food good.

My biggest gripe I suppose is the location. 10 minutes down a dodgy hill road to the edge of town and a further 10 - 15 minutes to get to the restaurants/bars. You could Bemo it after the ropey hill road though. If you are going to come back after dark, take a torch. It is pitch black in places.

Paradise Bar is 5 minutes away has live music every night and a fantastic buffet every Wednesday, with a discount if you stay at Golo.

A very good place to stay, there are many hotels and guesthouses in town if you don't like the sound of this.

I'd go back though (and may try an aircon room)

:)

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 have Wi-Fi in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    109
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
53
171
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here twice in December and in early January. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The views are fantastic. Food is excellent. The owners replied very quickly.
They can also help with arranging pick up from/to the airport. We enjoyed our staying at Golo Hilltop and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Golo Hilltop Hotel on Flores after a 3 day 2 night trip to Komodo. The bungalows are clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. What makes this hotel special is the amazing ocean views as it is situated on the hilltop over looking the ocean. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean comfortable place to stay with breathtaking views.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed in Flores 4 days and found then hotel to be excellent staying in one of the newer chalet rooms at the top of the property. Clean AC and fantastic views of the bay. The pool has a stunning view.
The hotel manager arranged a tour of Rinca and Komodo for us for 2 days - the price was extremely reasonable with cabins and 4 crew and all meals etc. The price was lower that those offered in the town & port

I have to disagree with the review below in that the staff & owners were extremely helpful & couldn't do enough for us - they have no control of the airport! Nor own the public road!

The hotel itself is away from the town & away from the noise & the hustle & bustle.

The food is tasty - beer cool

I would totally recommend this hotel and cannot praise the owners & staff enough - thank you

Room Tip: Take the newer superior rooms at the top of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, a saving grace, in a 'challenging' town. The room was clean and the a/c was slow to work, but it worked eventually. The staff were very nice and helped to arrange a tour to Komodo and Rinca. The hotel and tour were a bit overpriced, but that is the case with Labuanbajo in general. The pool is beautiful! The restaurant was good. I did get sick from the food, but that could happen anywhere. The staff should be trained to be a little more helpful, though: I booked a taxi to take me to the airport an hour before my flight, and when I got there I found out I couldn't even check in until fifteen minutes before my flight. I think the staff could have told me that I would be sitting on the floor of the airport (there are no chairs in the check-in area) for a while. Also, they put me in a room that was more than the one I had booked. It was fine and I paid it, but in the future I would double-check which room and price I was in. Someone (the owners?) should pay to pave the road to the hotel--man, it's bad! But overall, the hotel and pool are a respite in the town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

When I booked my room on Agoda, it said every room has a/c - well that's technically true, but for the standard room you can't turn it on... There's a wall fan, but it's located behind and to the side of the bed so it is not as effective as it could be.

The room was clean but quite basic. Bed was comfortable with a mosquito net. Bathroom was clean, cold water only but shampoo and body wash provided in wall dispensers.

The hotel is up a hill a short walk from town - not too challenging, though the road condition is terrible. It's an excellent location - just far enough away from town to be secluded, without being too far away like some of the newer places south of town. Halfway up the hill is the Paradise bar, apparently the only late night pub in town.

I ate at both Paradise and the hotel, and both had decent food at a reasonable price.

The best feature of the hotel is the new pool, set beside the restaurant with great views. If it wasn't for the pool I would say my room was over-priced, but I doubt you will find a place with a pool for less, and the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 and for whatever reason our initial review of this place seems not to have been published. Never mind, a New Year with new opportunities so here our findings. It is a fantastic place to spend your time when in Labuan Bajo. Very friendly owners/operators and very friendly and helpful staff. Several accommodation options and they all seem very adequate. Good value for money as well. Breakfast is complimentary and served in the restaurant from where you have great views. We didn't dine there in the evening but have heard from other people that it's very good. There seems to be plans to add a swimming pool (to be built this year) which would be a great asset. Lady owner very knowledgeable about what to do when in the area. And don't forget to check out Divine Diving, also owned/operated by a Dutch woman.
Happy New Year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.