We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic Greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Selini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Selini to your Saves list
Casa Selini
Jl Soekarno Hatta 7, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Prince Edward Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I didn't stay here but came for dinner. The owner is a Greek Expat who will meet you with a glass of wine in hand ready to prepare an authentic Greek feast for the whole table. The food was fresh from the local market and amazing. The mango juice was freshly blended from the tree in the courtyard (a mango actually narrowly missed falling on my head during dinner). It was the best food I had during my time in Indonesia and pretty cheap. Sometimes you just need a break from nasi goreng! The service was slow but we had a large group (9 people). They had to wash the plates in between courses as they didn't have enough! There was no toilet for the restaurant but one was accessible through one of the guest bedrooms which was a bit weird! It was disorganized but charming if you have time to appreciate the bizarreness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I arrived here 3 days before I needed accommodation and booked 2 nights with the owner for when I would need the room. When I arrived to check in the owner was no where to be seen and her employees had no idea about our reservation. They spoke very little english and eventually we realized our room had been given away. We were very disappointed as we had specifically made a booking because we thought it looked to be a very nice place to stay. The owner eventually arrived and was very unpleasant towards us. She said it was not her fault as she was away all day and her staff gave our room away

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mama7-12, Owner at Casa Selini, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
i admit that the booking wasnt honored and u have right to be angry but i dont thing we deserve a terible quotation !first u didnt give us time to short the things out u started shouting when i arrived and no time to act i could have given you the room in the back or find another room for you !anyhow now we have a better system and we dont have any problems any more 1if u come back you and your frend can stay for free in our hotel!sorry again for the inconvinience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant before heading off on a diving liveaboard and needed somewhere to stay on our return three days later and after having read the positive reviews here we spoke to the lady owner and booked a double room for two nights.
When we arrived to check in the girl at reception had no idea of our booking and when the lady owner arrived I asked her about our reservation. She replied our room had been given away, she was really unhelpful and made it clear that she really didn't care. We were left after sunset on Labuan bajo with nowhere to stay, she did not apologise or offer to help with somewhere else. I have since heard similar stories from other travellers, very disappointed in her attitude and service and would avoid as you can not rely on a booking here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Even if it is on the main street with some trafic, this small guesthouse has charme and atmosphere, nice furniture (in Labuanbajo!) and a small but delicious selection of Greek food.
Mind the muezzin praying voice from the loud speaker in the street at 5 in the morning, but that is quite common in Indonesia. Enjoy the sometimes moody but usually very nice and helpful owner.
Labuanbajo tourism is growing very fast, so book in advance if it is not the low season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The standard of the hotels in Labuan bajo, at least if you stay in the village centre close to the harbour, is very low. This small place is like an oasis in the desert. A very practical Greek lady will probably welcome you at the door of what apparently looks more like a restaurant/shop than a hotel. Be aware that there are only 3 rooms and the price for a double bedroom, for one night, is 350.000 IDR, expensive for this type of accomodation in Indonesia, cheap for Labuan bajo, where the lack of offer brings the prices up, even for super basic cheap dirty accomodations -especially during the peak season.
Room was basic but nice, clean, a little bit dark in my opinion, with AC and a small bathroom with a shower. The curtains are not that thick, but we didn't bother too much. When we got up at 5.00 am, for our early flight, there was no water but someone in the hall, probably the owner, immediately fixed the problem, without even being asked. I read that the meals here are very good, unfortunately we wanted to try something different and I now regret it, because it would have been certainly nice to experience the greek flavour in an area where you can only find warungs or Italian restaurants.
You can also have massages or pedicure/manicure, if you like, but we didn't have time to try them.
Be aware that, if you decide to sleep in this area, you will be woken up in the middle of the night by the muezzin...I think there are something like 4 mosques in the village :)
So....perfect in you want to stay in the centre close to the harbour - if you look for a little bit more of luxury and confort, better if you go to the hotels along the beach, 5/10 minutes from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Greek influenced Casa Selini in the middle of the town is the nicest place you can find in the centre. Rooms are clean and spacious and the food is outstanding. From breakfast throughout dinner you get some nicely prepared Greek dishes and local ingredients. A pleasure to stay here in this home like operated space. Needs a bit hands on here and there but it's all within easiness.
Marilena will help you out with all sorts of things in and around Labuan Bajo......you will meet and recognise her instantly. A pleasure itself!
Only downside is the closeness of the mosque and the lovely sounds of the speakers at prayer time. But hey.....it's Indonesia after all.
Enjoy your stay :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are big and facilities are well maintained. Maybe its pricy a bit for Flores... but Marilena takes care of her guests and she cook herself. When you are traveling SEA for months it is nice to be reminded what Mediterranean cuisine taste like...
You need to take into account that Casa is quite near the mosque and in Ramadan you'll hear them a lot, but it is very common for Indonesia

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Selini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Selini

Address: Jl Soekarno Hatta 7, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Selini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Selini Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Selini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.